We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean SERVICE WITH A Caribbean SMILE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccament Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buccament Bay Resort to your Saves list
Buccament Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Buccament Bay, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Watford England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Caribbean SERVICE WITH A Caribbean SMILE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Buccament Bay is a beach resort, offering wide range of sporting activities and catering particularly well for families. Stays are on an "All-inclusive" basis, with not only all drinks but also such delights as "free" ice cream on the beach. We stayed a week, celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary, and were almost the oldest guests. But this was not a problem and from the moment we were met at the airport we experienced a very high level of attention and service. Rooms (individual bungalow suites with a private terrace and plunge pool) were very comfortable - the only problem being a very haphazard degree of "housekeeping" . Sometimes towels were replaced, sometimes not; sometimes we had a sheet and a duvet cover, sometimes no sheet; tea bags and coffee sachets were seldom replenished despite many requests. The resort has a number of restaurants, but it is necessary to reserve a table early if you want a specific booking at a peak time. The food was good, with some of the best steaks I have had this side of Argentina. The house wines were also very acceptable - I particularly enjoyed the Oregon Pinot Noir. Service was a bit slow at times but not to the extent that we needed to complain. All the hotel staff were extremely polite and courteous, friendly rather than submissive. Invariably they would greet us with a warm smile whenever we met. Lounging on the beach was very relaxing, watching Frigate birds, and Brown Boobies overhead with Egrets and Herons in the grounds. Several excursions are possible, although many guests seemed to stay on site for their whole stay, making use of the many facilities included in the package. The complimentary " sunset cruise" was particularly enjoyable - lots of rum punches, good sightings of pilot whales and spotted dolphins, and a good sunset to boot. I walked around the nearby village and was greeted with smiles by all the local people. We took a taxi into Kingstown on market day and despite seeing no other tourists we never felt in any way unsafe or threatened. We do not drink much, and are too old for some of the rugger coaching(!) so probably did not get as good value from the all-inclusive tariff as did some of the other guests. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort - especially if some of the service issues can be resolved

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the beach - others are a short walk away, but all facilities are accessible within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    197
    53
    24
    23
See reviews for
211
387
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My new husband and I stayed here in April 2013 for our honeymoon. Our flights from Gatwick to Barbados with Virgin Airlines were good but we were then held up waiting for our connecting flight to St Vincent which was around 2 hours delayed. When we finally got to St Vincent, we were taken to resort and greeted with a cocktail and taken to our villa. A member of staff showed us around and explained how everything worked including making reservations for restaurants etc. Our villa was large and spacious with huge bed, plunge pool and lovely bathroom. Breakfast was good each morning and was just a short wall across the bridge. We used the coffee shop for smoothies and snacks each day and staff here were friendly and helpful. Lunch was great - lots of choice and the sushi bar was amazing. When we went there weren't very many restaurants open but we enjoyed dinner, particularly at the grill/ steak restaurant. Bar area was good but one thing very lacking at this hotel is night time entertainment. Although we didn't choose to watch, there were a movie on a couple of nights (though if there were only a couple of adults, the movie was changed to a kids one which isn't very fair on those adults expecting to watch the film.) We went on the sunset catamaran trip which was great. We also went to Mustique and Bequia through hotel and trip was good. The staff at this hotel are great and really made the trip. On our way home our bags did not travel with us and did not arrive in Barbados in time for our connecting flight to Gatwick so they were eventually delivered to us in Glasgow a weefter we got home! Overall we really enjoyed our honeymoon and would return to St Vincent. It is a lovely island albeit very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here with a group of Saga guests doing the Islands of the Caribbean tour. I liked this place and the villa. All for myself! Magic. Lots of room just for me in the villa. It was a hard job to find the villa when I first found it. It is dark in the villas as there were shutters to all the windows. The bedding was not clean though. Stains on the sheets! Couldn't go far out side the resort. Looked a bit un safe to me. Food was not bad. Bad to wait ages for the food. The worst wait was at the last meal, the SAGA dinner. We had to wait 2 hours for our main course. I like to eat early and I was getting angry to say the least. I never waited for the dessert or coffee or what ever. Got that in the HQ cafe. I spoke to the sister of the manager of this place about the length of time we had to wait for the food. I don't know what the out Combe will be. On the whole though I would recommend this place. Beware of the flies on the food in The Bay restruant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I booked this trip for my 40th birthday celebration and as a treat for myself and my partner. While the resort layout works well enough, the rooms with private balcony and plunge pool are wonderful and the staff were generally good the management and maintenance of the hotel was very poor. We had a cold shower for the entire stay, could not book a single treatment in the spa or beauty salon - which my partner wanted to arrange for me for my birthday, and could not make any of the trips we wanted to because they only run once a week. Some of the staff were absolute stars - Venice, Brad, Kim and Sam but on some days at the bar/restaurant the staff seemed very disaorganised and didn't have assigned tables meaning you could wait almost an hour for service. We had to request stock ups of the mini bar and pick up water for our room each day from HQ which you don't expect for a resort with this many stars. Overall this was not the standard I expected or paid for. It could be an amazing place but management have really let the staff down.

Room Tip: I'd recommend not stumping up for the beach front rooms as your pool and balcony are on the publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I have just returned after 10 nights at Buccament bay.
Reception
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful, we were greeted with a rum punch and taken to our villa 3038 which was large and clean, beds very comfy, no issues with towels they were replaced every day.
The seats in the dining area needed to be replaced, and some of the decking on the verandah needed replacing.
The maid service was one of the best we have ever received so a big thank you to carmina our maid. The only down side to the room was that the mini bar was never stocked even when you asked.

Beach was beautiful plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, did have difficulty on a few days getting a bed.

Beach bar very friendly but kept running out of beer, but this also happened at the bay bar too.

Jacks restaurant the food in here was nice when you could get it, they were always running out of food no matter if you went at the beginning of the night or later.

The Bay restaurant was a disappointment the breakfast was very limited, not alot of fresh fruit always running out of things no bread one morning for toast, food was left uncovered so always covered in flys.
The lunch time menu was very limited and even more so because they didn't have alot of the food on the menu. service was very slow waited 55 minutes one day for a bowl of soup. another day we waited over 1 hour for a pizza, waitress kept coming across saying 2 minutes we finally asked her again to be told that one of the waiters had taken it for someone else, so never did receive lunch. The bay restaurant is also the main bar which can cause seating problems as everyone is dining.

Entertainment was a man playing a steel drum a couple of nights a week, one night in jacks and one night in the bay.

The staff at buccament bay are very polite and friendly and make the most of a bad situation due to poor management, This resort has problems when people complained about the lack of food they were told a container was due which did arrive on the last day of our holiday. A resort like this should not be running out of food. I would suggest researching harlequin propertys and buccament bay

Room Tip: room 3038 get the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and compliments, particularly regarding our excellent staff.

At times of high occupancy, regretfully some very popular menu items can become unavailable, which is commonplace in any restaurant; however, there are always many other items available across our three a la carte menus, buffets, sushi and grills. We hope you enjoyed your alternative options.

Lunchtime is very varied with The Bay Beach Club a la carte menu and alternating grills and sushi, as well as the HQ café, which offers various ice creams, pastries and savoury snacks, but we regret that you felt the options were limited.

We apologise for the delay in receiving your dinner order in the instance you highlight. Please be assured that such occurrences are rare.

We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Regards,

Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Started with 3 days to get the cold shower fixed. Anything chosen in the menu ended up always being 2nd or 3rd choice as never enough food, even when one of first in. Also there are only two places to eat (location). Was my fiancées birthday celebration and we couldn't book anything as was all fully booked (spa, boat trips) and had been for a few weeks so what we we supposed to book on first full day of arriving?? If it wasn't for the dive team (indigo) and the very friendly staff I would have asked to go elsewhere. Great location, and accom but spoiled by the poor way it's run. Management need to take a serious look cause we would have considered getting married there but I doubt it now. Top tip, if you book to go, be sure to email any bookings well in advance to avoid disappointment. Highlight of the trip..... Indigo dive and Kim, who works in the HQ cafe!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

During high occupancy, some very popular menu items can become temporarily unavailable, as can be experienced in any restaurant in the world; however, numerous other options are always available. We regret that this was not to your satisfaction.

All activities are subject to availability and it was a very busy time on Resort, but we regret that we were not able to accommodate your request.

We hope you will return again soon.

Regards,

Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you are looking for a high quality beach holiday with a good quality tennis coaching option, especially in the middle of winter, it can be difficult to find. Luckily I came across an article mentioning Pat Cash’s Tennis Academy at the Buccament Bay in St Vincent.
I booked with Western and Oriental who were very helpful but do shop around before booking to get the right price. On that basis I was not disappointed.

It is a gorgeous spot, with great villas with beautiful gardens, a very nice spar facility, very friendly staff and good food on the whole, especially at Jack’s (the evening restaurant option) . I could have been delighted if not for few things that can be addressed. We were unlucky in the second half of the week in the main restaurant with fish options like sushi disappearing …We were told it was due to a top international congress that took place a week before contributing to running out supplies that come from Miami twice a week...

Two tennis courts are fabulous with a backdrop of beautiful mountains around. The group coaching included in the package (great advantage) was very professional and you could book courts to play anytime as well as hire a coach privately. In addition, a boot camp and yoga classes on the beach were also great !

The only serious drawback to this holiday at the moment is the waiting time in Barbados both ways but that is set to change with an opening of an international airport - supposedly at the end of the year. I hope this happens – I definitely would like to go back. A great place to relax but also with very good quality tennis /fitness activities.

Main tip: book spa treatments before travelling

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccament Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccament Bay Resort

Address: Buccament Bay, St. Vincent
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buccament Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning* Buccament Bay Resort is a luxury, all-inclusive hotel on the beautiful island of St Vincent: the pearl crowning 32 islands and cays called the “Jewels of the Caribbean". Cradled by lush mountains and vibrant rainforest - an inviting sample of the many riches on offer from this unspoilt treasure - the resort boasts stunning features, like a white sandy beach meeting the clear, warm turquoise sea, and stylish accommodations that typify the Harlequin Hotels & Resorts standards. Perfect for families, couples, singles or dream weddings and honeymoons, it boasts a unique range of top class activities and facilities - many associated with famous brands - that leave guests spoilt for choice, whilst warm, considerate staff deliver a truly Caribbean 5 star experience in a charming, village-style setting. There are several restaurants and bars offering a range of dining options, whilst the unique variety of top class activities cater for all the family. These include: Harlequin Soccer Academy; Pat Cash Tennis Club; diving and water sports; Harlequin Performing Arts Academy; The Spa with Treatments by ESPA; Harlequin Fitness Centre; Little Harlequin Kids Club; Club 61 for teenagers; not to mention a number of excursions, including the complimentary sunset cruise. Whether you seek relaxation or stimulation, discover Buccament Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Buccament Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccament Bay Hotel St. Vincent
Buccament Bay Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccament Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.