We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buccament Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Buccament Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccament Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Buccament Bay, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Myself and my wife visited in April 2013. Really nice resort and surprisingly easy to get to via BGI.
We booked direct and the hotel arranged our transfers and flights from BGI including lounge access whilst we waited for our liat flight. The biggest plus was the food, jacks restaurant was excellent( great fillet steaks) our room was lovely and we could walk straight out onto the beach past our plunge pool . Customer service was excellent and we left feeling we had spent our money well , snorkelling off the beach is really good recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your wife had a good time whilst staying with us.

Thank you for choosing our resort and we hope you will return.

Kind regards
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    119
    31
    16
    21
See reviews for
181
257
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
OHIO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The management are very hands on at this resort they are visible throughout the day and are constantly asking for feed back which is so refreshing to see they really care.The service in this place is also top notch. Every employee is extremely friendly and happy to help with any thing you might need. The Villa our very nice and clean.The food was above the norm. The resort is showing it's wear and needed's to watch the little things. It was hard to find towels at pool and was mostly out and the unbella's were broken and some had mold. Only had bath towels in our room 3 out of 7 days of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are delighted that you had a good time staying with us. Thank you for your review, we appreciate your constructive feedback and we will act on your points where appropriate.

Thank you for choosing our resort and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Summary
They are a relatively new resort with building works still being completed, but not in a way that would disturb your stay. The staff will go out of their way to make sure your visit is enjoyable, and will do everything they can to cater to your needs and requests. If you are looking for a place off the beaten path with good service,good amenities and activities for the whole family, you will be happy here.
If you go here with the expectations of a 4 star resort, you won't be disappointed. I would point out, that this is not a 5 star resort in terms of finishings, f&b or exclusivity - however it is the best you will find on the main island.

Pros
-Good for family holidays as they have a well thought-out range of activities to keep everyone in the family busy, and they have a particularly good offering for children.
-They have a nice welcome service on arrival, with towels and drinks
-The breakfast at Bamboo is good, with lots of choices and delicious fresh smoothies.
-The Dive Shop is particularly good and the staff very knowledgeable and helpful
-The management are excellent and willing to listen to any issues you have and take action
-The Lifestyle coach will try and accommodate you as much as possible, going out of their way to fulfill special requests
-Excellent housekeeping (Ivy) who will keep your room lizard free if you disclose your fear of lizards...
-The Spa is beautiful and very relaxing

Cons
-The food at the Bay is average at best, and the sushi and other ethnic dishes are not up to standard.
-If you want authentic Vincentian food, you won't be able to find it here except for a few dishes on Caribbean night
-The pool area is tiny compared to the number of guests they can accommodate at full occupancy
-It is difficult to book appointments at the spa at times that will work if you have a full schedule. -The spa also closes relatively early at around 5 or 6pm.
-Difficult to get a booking into Jacks, which is one of the main restaurants
-The resort is not on the 'right' side of town, so something to consider if you want easy accessibility to town. Not a problem if you plan on mainly staying at the resort and using the tours the hotel provides. It should be said that the resort has a very good driver to navigate the questionable roads.
-Availability of the tours offered were not satisfactory, as minimum numbers for tours were either not fulfilled (meaning tours were cancelled) or overbooked (meaning you can't get a place)

A

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have to admit I'd been slightly concerned in the weeks leading up to our holiday to Buccament Bay, because, like you are doing right now I'd been reading the reviews on trip advisor and I'd begun to focus on the apparent problems at the resort. The reality is that after having been home a week, I need not have worried, as we had a truly fantastic holiday which not only met but exceeded all our expectations. As many of the recent reviewers have mentioned, the employees at Buccament Bay really are very special – the most friendly and professional team anyone could want to meet that genuinely care about their guest’s experience. However, what really made our holiday brilliant, the icing on the cake if you like, was all the amazing families we had the pleasure of spending a fortnight with – you know who you are and thank you! As soon as we had arrived, all the guests we encountered were kind and extremely helpful – giving us those really useful tips that aren’t in the literature in the villa which helped us immediately get the best out of our holiday. In fact our stay felt like holidaying with a huge, extended family (that you get along with!)

I also will not repeat much of the content of the recent reviews but simply add the following (in no particular order):

• BB is brilliant for active/sporty adults, teens and kids but if you are a couple looking for peace and an active nightlife it's probably not for you (in August anyway). We were usually in bed by 9.30pm but up and about by 7.30am.

• Jacks restaurant was fantastic - phenomenal service, wonderful singers and never ran out of fillet during our two weeks!

• Safran deserves to be housed in a proper restaurant setting. Thank you for organising a wonderful (off menu) birthday dinner for 12 of us with only 4 hours’ notice

• As the resort expands an a la carte Italian with proper pizza oven would be a sensible addition to the dining options

• Flying with Liat is not a pleasant experience and there are other slightly more costly transfer options which are worth asking about. My advice is just be prepared for the worst, chances are your expectations will be met but please don’t let it put you off.

• The resort is only a third to half finished. Did this spoil our holiday? No, the building work is all fenced off; just don't look at it but concentrate on the amazing view out to sea instead.

• I have never been to a resort, where (on the surface at least), five star luxury lives in such harmony with the local community. The image of three young English brothers intently watching and listening to a group of kids from the local village whilst they showed them how to fish with equipment made from whatever they could find will remain with me for a long time and I’m sure it was a highlight for the boys as well.

• James, the tennis coach, really can sing! BUT more importantly he needs a modest club house to improve the tennis experience. James is an amazing coach who helped me re-discover a long lost forehand whilst finding a non-existent backhand and volley. He is a tremendous asset to the resort but it is very hot by the tennis courts and he needs a better facility to allow him to take tennis to the next level.

• CRICKET - rarely gets mentioned in the reviews but it was one of the main reasons we considered the resort. As the mother of a 12 year old that plays cricket seriously the quality of the nets and coaching was absolutely excellent, no wonder a number of international cricket teams have stayed in recent months.

• The treatments in the spa were some of the best I have experienced anywhere in the world, bespoke if required and excellent value, thank you ladies

• I loved the fact the TV screens at the bar pretty much just showed wall to wall English sport so we could keep up the date with the Ashes and the start of the Premiership

And finally, one of the biggest draws of the resort for us as a family was the professional coaches. Ronnie Whelan was 'in the house' during our stay and if all the professional coaches have been as good as Ronnie then Buccament Bay really does have a winning formula. There were no airs and graces, just quality coaching resulting in happy, sweaty kids (and parents) and a gentleman happy to pass the time of day with anyone over a beer at the bar. I was also fortunate enough to have one tennis session with Pat Cash (thank you for doing the extra session after travelling for 48 hours); this was a fantastic experience for me that definitely wasn't some famous player just going through the motions.

Buccament Bay, thank you from the Young’s - keep doing what you are doing so well, continue to look after your employees, listen to what your current guests are saying and invest wisely in the future, if you do this, we will be back in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was there in June with a dive group. Could not have been a better choice of a place to go. The staff was just fantastic. They would be walking by our room, happened to be on the beach side, and they would notice us and ask if we needed anything and if we said yes, they would be nice enough to go and get it, no matter where they were heading in the first place. The chefs were fantastic in the cooking of the food and the different type of food. On the last night the chef had made chicken noodle soup for us/everyone because someone had mentioned that all the soups were of a cream base. The dive shop did an excellent job of picking out the nice dive sites

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having spent 2 weeks on the resort last Summer, and having a close connection with the island in general, we decided to revisit the resort during this year's expedition. We spent 2 separate weeks here during a 5 week Caribbean island hop, and we had another relaxing break thanks to the facilities on offer to our girls. We hardly saw them! The majority of the morning and lunch they spent time with their friends, most of which they had met last year, then they would catch a buggy up to the Performing Arts Academy for 2pm run by Phil and Netta, followed by tennis at 4pm with James! They would quickly pop back to the villa for a shower before meeting their friends for dinner! Needless to say that my husband and I ate numerous evening meals by ourselves! To be honest, if your kids are happy, then you are happy and as they are always nearby, you really have no worries at all. Our girls are 14 and 11 I should add, so this year was the first of such freedom.
There is also plenty for the grown ups to have a go at too! Kay's Dive Centre gives access to non motorised equipment at all times and with notice, can arrange for dives as well as other activities. Also, there is a fitness and nutrition facility run by Luke and Jo from Life is for Living. They can advise you on your diet and provide a fitness regime that is suitable and tailored to the individual. Rob, the resident Fitness Instructor, is also always available for one to one training or group sessions at the on-site gym also.
The service at the resort cannot be complained about at all, especially around the pool vicinity. People like Lionel, Vadol, Carlson, Wendall, Daynton and Conliffe go out of their way to ensure that you do not want for anything. And who could possibly forget those dulcet of tones Murphy on the BBQ! Several staff at breakfast/lunch are brilliant, some of which it was great to catch up with from last year. People like Shanella, Keisha, Brod and Ashanti who are great at their job. Not to forget the front desk staff who were very attentive and certain members of staff from behind the scenes who stand out like Trevor, Head of Laundry. He is a great guy and I look forward to our next dance Trevor!
The best food is at Jack's but bear in mind that it opens on an alternating basis with the Indian, but the main Beach Bar is always open for food, day and night. I would say that the Indian food is not outstanding and that a two menu alternation during the week within every restaurant would be a welcome addition.
This will be quite soon as we have booked a 3 week break at Buccament for Xmas and New Year which will officially be our 4th visit so that in itself is testimony to our satisfaction, all of which is thanks to great staff, a beautiful resort and picturesque surroundings. The natural beauty as well as the resort imposed views are second to none.
I am not claiming it to be prefect as realistically speaking, nowhere is, and although there are some things that could be improved upon, these issues are quite minor and have not at all given us any adverse reason not to rebook.
It is impossible to please everybody although I strongly believe from visiting on so many occasions, that some people are more expectant than others, which to a certain extent is understandable given the cost. We have however encountered several guests who should make moaning a profession. It is very true however that higher end resorts demand prices, which will consequently attract a caliber of guest that can be hard to please. Buccament is clearly aiming towards that market and therefore need to prepare and fulfil expectations a little better in some areas. We are not high maintenance kind of people but we do see the odd situation where they are currently falling short given that it is advertised as 5 star. Given time and feedback these things can, and probably will be corrected with ease.
Overall, Buccament Bay is a lovely resort with fantastic members of staff and we would highly recommend it to anyone. We are looking forward to 3 weeks there again in December and may choose to revisit next Summer if we stick to our usual yearly itinerary in and around the Caribbean. If you want a relaxing holiday where your children will be happy that is set in outstanding surroundings then we would most definitely say to give it a try.
Lee, Sarah, Aisha & Imogen Wootton.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We always try to book room 3021 as it is a lovely large 2 bedroom villa which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I choose Buccament Bay Resort because of the all-inclusiveness, the bungalow suites and the beautiful surrounding and they did not disappoint. The most enjoyable and relaxing vacation we have ever been on. Amazing service, food and crystal clear water to snorkel and lounge in. A variety of different restaurants on site and the most amazing hospitality!! We are planning our next trip back there ASAP!!! Can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccament Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccament Bay Resort

Address: Buccament Bay, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buccament Bay Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning* Buccament Bay Resort is a luxury, all-inclusive hotel on the beautiful island of St Vincent: the pearl crowning 32 islands and cays called the “Jewels of the Caribbean".Cradled by lush mountains and vibrant rainforest - an inviting sample of the many riches on offer from this unspoilt treasure - the resort boasts stunning features, like a white sandy beach meeting the clear, warm turquoise sea, and stylish accommodations that typify the Harlequin Hotels & Resorts standards.Perfect for families, couples, singles or dream weddings and honeymoons, it boasts a unique range of top class activities and facilities - many associated with famous brands - that leave guests spoilt for choice, whilst warm, considerate staff deliver a truly Caribbean 5 star experience in a charming, village-style setting.There are several restaurants and bars offering a range of dining options, whilst the unique variety of top class activities cater for all the family. These include: Liverpool FC Academy Soccer School; Pat Cash Tennis Club; Indigo Dive & Watersports (awarded 5 star status by PADI); Harlequin Performing Arts Academy; The Spa with Treatments by ESPA; Harlequin Fitness Centre; Little Harlequin Kids Club; and Club 61 for teenagers; not to mention a number of excursions, including the complimentary sunset cruise.Whether you seek relaxation or stimulation, discover Buccament Bay Resort.* In Autumn 2012 the resort was extremely proud to be awarded "Caribbean's Leading New Hotel" and "St Vincent & The Grenadines' Leading Spa Resort" by the Oscars of the travel industry, the World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Buccament Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccament Bay Hotel St. Vincent
Buccament Bay Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccament Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.