We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buccament Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Buccament Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccament Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Buccament Bay, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I visited Buccament Bay at the beginning of June for our Honeymoon. I chose this hotel because we love good food and wine along with good service. I wouldn't say I was disappointed as we were definitely made to feel special. Candle lit meal on the beach for our honeymoon and a huge cake to celebrate my birthday, but there would just be a couple of things I would change.

Lunch at The Bay got so boring, along with drinks in plastic glasses.... not really 5 star.
Nothing to do after evening meal made the nights a little dull. Definitely need more live music later on.

Food in jacks was lovely gorgeous big wine glasses. Bbq was yummy and complimentary sunset cruise was amazing .... especially seeing dolphins.

Not sure I would 're-visit until the airport is open as we indured long delays including lost luggage on the way home..... obviously no fault of the hotel.

All the staff were lovely and we tried to tip as much as we could. Unfortunately I can't remember the name of the young man around the pool who brought me fresh coconut water when I told him I was feeling unwell. Lovely guy.

Overall I loved my honeymoon but just a cotuple of tweaks need to remade to make it paradise x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    119
    31
    16
    21
See reviews for
181
256
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

As a international cricket team, we had the most smooth & efficient personalized check in. We were personally escorted by senior management to our respective rooms where we all were given thorough orientation about the room, facility and meal options.

Rooms were above our expectation, specially the bed & standing shower set up. We all had our private plunge pool. Wifi was so easily accessible and we didn't needed to ask any passwords or pay for wifi to get connected to our loved ones back home which we do encounter difficult in most of the hotels and resort set up these days.

As a Muslim it's hard to get halal food in caribbean but resort was very well prepared and over the top of our all food needs for fasting and non fasting crew. Beautiful local theme restaurant called bamboo where we dinned most of our meals. It was nice to find that we had few indian staffs working at the resort so communication was superb throughout our stay with resort team about our daily needs and expectation. Special thanks to Saroj, Pratap, Restaurant Manager Rajeev, Doctor and Ali for going above and beyond for making our stay as a wonderful stay at your resort.

We would like you to keep this resort as it is and maintain the beauty of the resort and hope when we visit we come back and stay at your resort during our touring in St. Vincent.

Sohail Tanveer
#3049

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We (my girlfriend and I, both 26, both active outdoor types) booked this resort via kuoni as an all inclusive holiday for 1 week with the aim of getting a fair bit of water sports in. On arrival we had an entire welcome party waiting for us at the gates. Drinks, cold flannels, etc.. We were quickly shown to our room which was one of the standard resort villas 1 row away from the beach. It was big, clean, comfortable, nicely furnished and had its own little plunge pool, in short we were very impressed. So far 5 star service that you couldn't fault. Our personal holiday planner Francisca booked us into a selection of the available restaurants for the week and provided us with a brochure on the available activities. On our first day we took advantage of complimentary tennis lessons with their coach James. These were excellent, he was and able to cater for beginners as well as seasoned players. The resort was pretty empty so we ended up with near enough private tuition.

On the second day the cracks started appearing. We had enquired about a snorkelling trip shown on the activities brochure, and were told that someone would find out some more information about it and get back to us. After 2 days this hadn't materialised so we had to chase this up. We were then told the boat used to take people on the snorkelling trip was out of service and therefore the trip wouldn't be available all week. I had booked myself in for some diving on arrival only to get a phone call 1 hour before my dive to say that it had been cancelled. The chap on the phone couldn't tell me why or when it would be available again. Then we realised that the hut with all the beach and water activities was shut, this meant no sailing, no kayaking, no beach tennis / volleyball / cricket and no snorkel equipment rental. We went to speak to Francisca to find out what was going on, at which point we were ushered into the managers office. He explained that the company contracted to provide the complimentary activities above as well as the diving had "pulled out". He promised to get on the case and by the evening we were told that everything had been sorted and I was booked to go diving the next morning.

On the third day I was met at the dive shop 5 minutes before my dive time by an apologetic Francisca saying diving was again cancelled until further notice. The beach hut was also still shut. On our way to see the manager again we ran into a family boarding a boat going on a snorkelling trip, the exact trip we had been told was unavailable 24h ago. Although no real explanation was offered for why we had been told we couldn't go snorkelling when it was obviously possible, it was explained to us that the reason the diving and other activities had been cancelled was because the dive company had failed to pay its liability insurance, and we were assured that everything would be back to normal tomorrow.

This promise indeed came true. My divemasters (Richie, Keon and Dale) made the diving a truly enjoyable experience. They even organised for a lion fish we had caught to make its way back to me at the pool as a delicious sushi platter. The resort organised the snorkelling tour we had wanted to do free of charge and in return for the inconvenience caused they offered us 2 complimentary dives and 2 spa treatments, and at dinner a bottle of champagne miraculously appeared.

This brings me on to the food. The breakfast buffet was definitely 5* with a good selection and all manner of exotic fruit smoothies made to order. For dinner we alternated between Jacks (an upmarket steak house) and Safran (Indian cuisine). The food was reasonable but by the end of the week we had eaten our way through the limited menu in both. Murphy's lunchtime BBQ at the pool was always worth a visit, even if only to chat with the happiest man in the Caribbean. The pool staff Lionel and Carlson were very attentive and made sure we had all the food, drink and towels we required.

The gym had 3 cross trainers lined up side by side complete with 3 "out of order" that have been there for at least 2 weeks. Meeting Rob the resort's personal trainer was one of the positive aspects of our holiday. He was always approachable and happy to put together tailored exercise classes.

A couple of other little things caught my attention. The number of large and small towels in our bathroom after housekeeping had been seemed to come out of a random number generator. On one day we were left with 1 bath towel and no hand towels between the 2 of us. Our minibar ran on empty by day 3 and then got restocked largely with more of the stuff we hadn't touched. This is something I wouldn't expect from a 5 star luxury resort and was a bit disappointing.

This has the potential to be an amazing resort but just has too many flaws at present. The diving incident was an inconvenience but was largely out of management's control, and they were very apologetic. I was disappointed in the apparent lack of communication both between the tiers of management and between the management and guests. For example in the space of 90 minutes we were told there would be no diving or watersports for the foreseeable future to being promised everything would be restarted tomorrow (bear in mind we had already heard this once the day before and nothing had happened). I was also disappointed at how often we had to chase things up, when it had been promised that someone would get back to us by the end of the day.

So in summary a fairly enjoyable holiday in an absolutely stunning location with friendly staff who are trying hard. There were however just too many issues that came up that I would not expect to have to deal with in such an expensive, luxury resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the beach as possible, it can be quite a journey from the more inland vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga,Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A few weeks ago, a group of 6 of us from Canada and England were visiting St. Vincent for their carnival and decided to go to Buccament Bay for lunch and drinks because we had heard good things about it from other people who had gone and the reviews were also good. Prior to coming to St. Vincent we had inquired with the resort via email about day passes, as well we had read the information on the website and their Facebook page. Based on the information we received, and because our friend had gone two days before we went and had a great time, we decided to go. We wanted to go for lunch and drinks and if we had a good time we would return for a day pass. When we arrived at the resort there looked to be very few people at the resort. We let security know our intentions and were told to wait and Rajeev, a restaurant manager approached us. He let us know that we could not eat lunch at any restaurant either than the one at the immediate entrance. This restaurant did not have the atmosphere we were hoping for and furthermore only a buffet was available, of which the items were not to our desire.

We asked to have lunch at another restaurant where we could go to a bar after and get more drinks. Our friend had gone 2 days before and had no problems doing this. Rajeev struggled to effectively communicate and mumbled that it was not possible for us to go any further into the resort due to internal problems. We asked what the issue was but he would not say. What we did not understand was that clearly other guests were walking around the resort so why were we not able to cross the bridge to go to another restaurant. They told us only one restaurant was opened due to their internal issues. We were told the issue would not be resolved until 7pm and we could return then. We explained that we were visitors and could not easily come back as we were not staying close by. We explained we wanted to enjoy our day and see some of this glorious resort everyone had been talking about. We asked if we could purchase day passes and first was told that they were at capacity. We looked around at the evidently empty resort. We then were told it was too late to book a day pass. We asked what time we had to do it by but they could not give us a time. We then were told that day passes have to be arranged in advance even though this was not communicated to us in the email from the resort, on the website or on their Facebook page. We also spoke with Diana, the front desk manager and were given the same runabout answers. Both Rajeev and Diana looked very uncomfortable because there story kept changing and they could see that we were aware that they were struggling to make up excuses.

Needless to say we ended up leaving the resort. I currently am living in Antigua where there are a plethora of 5 stars and the service at BB was horrendous in comparison. BB should never underestimate customer service as we have all given bad reviews to locals and our families abroad. There are a lot of foreign workers doing simple jobs that could be given to locals to support and boost the local economy. I hope BB will make some serious changed to their customer service and not rely on the fact that they are a monopoly in terms of all inclusive resorts in St. Vincent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Vincent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I must say the service at Buccament Bay Resort was impeccable and everyone was so friendly.
At the reception we were greeted by Charles who has a personality beyond words and he was funny and friendly.
The staff at the bar were also exceptional and the food and drinks were in abundance. We truly had a lovely celebration of my fathers birthday. The spa staff also greeted us with utmost kindness and they were very professional.
I must say our entire day cannot be described in words so therefore what I would say is the entire staff and their excellent service made the day one that we will never forget. The surroundings at Buccament Bay Resort are so beautiful. The villa has all of our necessities and we are thankful for the upgrade to a larger villa which accommodated our family perfectly
As a family we look forward to celebrating at Buccament Bay Resort once again in the near future. The John family would like to thank each and everyone for making our day such a wonderful one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Buccament Bay is set in a gorgeous location without question. This is where the website begins and ends in its correctness of description of this resort.
Pros...John Barnes was coach at the soccer and this was excellent. As was the tennis coaching too.
The bar staff... Lionel and Carlson especially... Both exceptional individuals who do their utmost to help make your holiday special..
Villas very nice....

Cons...they advertise trader vics...this is not even built yet...
They advertise ginger and co sushi bar... We saw this once in nine days....
They advertise Safran as fine Indian cuisine... This is not fine cuisine at all... It can barely be described as Indian and is housed in a spare soulless villa next to a pond... You will be eaten alive by Mosquitos on an outside table!!!! In fact one night they ran out of Indian ingredients and changed it to a South American buffet... Numerous people walked out and were disgusted by what was on offer...
They advertise Jacks which is a steakhouse.... They ran out of steak three times in our nine day stay...people were ordering filet mignon on our last night and getting sirloin cut in half and stacked on top of each other... If you manage to get what you order however it is very nice...they advertise HQ which a nice coffee shop but repeatedly ran out of vanilla ice cream...not great for a resort full of children.
The bay beach club food is bland, repetitive and tasteless... Evening meals are served with plastic glasses...this restaurant is open every day... Jacks and Safran three days per week. Bamboo open once for breakfast. No Asian cuisine to be seen anywhere.
To sum up, management were awful and were seen partying whilst guests were unhappy and really didn't care if there any issues or not...
We were so disappointed with the quality we have checked out three days early and head office are refusing to refund us. However our experience was so bad we decided to try and salvage something good from from our summer break... We will be contacting head office on our return to England...we will post photos on TA shortly... Be warned, the website paints a great picture but all is not what it seems at BB. We will never return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and compliments. We are very proud of our team, many of them from the local area, so we appreciate their hard work being recognised.

As communicated to you during your stay, unfortunately there were temporary logistical issues outside of the resort’s control at that time due to the carnival season and management did everything possible to manage the situation, but we regret the issue and apologise for the detrimental affect it had on your experience with us. Please be assured that, as our many positive reviews show, such instances are very rare, even on a small island like St Vincent during one of the Caribbean’s biggest events.

To clarify your comment regarding Safran, the Latin evening was in fact planned by the chef to provide variety and not due to a lack of Indian cuisine. Please also be aware that Trader Vic’s is not advertised on our website and we take great pains to ensure the content is always up to date; however, it was erroneously advertised by the tour operator you used, so we contacted them and that has now been rectified.

Regarding your comment about management “partying”, please be assured that you are mistaken because the exceptional team you kindly commented on is only possible with an equally exceptional and professional management team, and they would never behave in such a way. Some other members of staff do their best to welcome and socialise with guests, which we believe is important and valuable for the customer experience, but our team prides itself on its excellent levels of service, so “partying” and disrespectful behaviour would never take place.

Head office awaits your communication and will respond promptly.

We hope you will consider us again.

Regards,

Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed at buccament bay in april this year,like all the other reviews stated this is a beautiful resort. The staff food villas everything about it makes it feel so special. But you should go and visit Bequia an idyllic and beautiful island so easy to do it yourself, local bus, ferry, then a open sided taxis on the island. my only disappiontment was the evening entertainment or lack of it,
would have be nice to have had some traditional music or acts occasionally

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are delighted that you had a good time on resort. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we will take on board your constructive feedback.

Thank you for choosing our resort and we hope you will consider us again.

Regards
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccament Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccament Bay Resort

Address: Buccament Bay, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buccament Bay Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning* Buccament Bay Resort is a luxury, all-inclusive hotel on the beautiful island of St Vincent: the pearl crowning 32 islands and cays called the “Jewels of the Caribbean".Cradled by lush mountains and vibrant rainforest - an inviting sample of the many riches on offer from this unspoilt treasure - the resort boasts stunning features, like a white sandy beach meeting the clear, warm turquoise sea, and stylish accommodations that typify the Harlequin Hotels & Resorts standards.Perfect for families, couples, singles or dream weddings and honeymoons, it boasts a unique range of top class activities and facilities - many associated with famous brands - that leave guests spoilt for choice, whilst warm, considerate staff deliver a truly Caribbean 5 star experience in a charming, village-style setting.There are several restaurants and bars offering a range of dining options, whilst the unique variety of top class activities cater for all the family. These include: Liverpool FC Academy Soccer School; Pat Cash Tennis Club; Indigo Dive & Watersports (awarded 5 star status by PADI); Harlequin Performing Arts Academy; The Spa with Treatments by ESPA; Harlequin Fitness Centre; Little Harlequin Kids Club; and Club 61 for teenagers; not to mention a number of excursions, including the complimentary sunset cruise.Whether you seek relaxation or stimulation, discover Buccament Bay Resort.* In Autumn 2012 the resort was extremely proud to be awarded "Caribbean's Leading New Hotel" and "St Vincent & The Grenadines' Leading Spa Resort" by the Oscars of the travel industry, the World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Buccament Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccament Bay Hotel St. Vincent
Buccament Bay Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccament Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.