We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown Away by Buccament Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccament Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Buccament Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buccament Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Buccament Bay, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Blown Away by Buccament Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've travelled a lot and stayed in some amazing places, but Buccament Bay has got to be best for service. It was low season, so not very full, but within a day all the staff knew you by name and and what your likes and preferences are for seating/drinks etc. Everyone says hello and nothing is too much trouble.

I won't cover what other reviews have other than to say that the food truly was excellent, with the food at Jacks being outstanding - the best steak I have ever had (and that's saying something!). Safran did a good spicy curry too in a nice setting amongst the gardens.

We made the most of the activities on offer and went to Rob's fitness classes each morning - we were always the only ones there! The fitness centre is also well equipped for those wanting to do their own thing and work off some of those extra calories!

We really enjoyed the trips we did too: the hike up La Soufriere volcano with David, the extremely knowledgable guide. This is a strenuous hike though and not for the faint-hearted, but well worth it. The Tobago Cays catamaran trip was a good day out - be prepared to get wet (if you sit outside) and sunburned! The resort will pack a lunch for you on day trips. We also did a snorkel kayak tour with Kian from Indigo Dive. He took us through the bat cave - amazing experience - and round to another bay where the ruins of an Eco lodge still exist. There is good snorkelling right off Buccament Bay beach too.

We like to be active on holiday, and there are lots of opportunities for this (tennis, football, yoga, diving, snorkelling, fitness classes, gym, trips), however some people chose to never leave their sunbed, and it's a great place for that too - with a constant and attentive supply of drinks and food and great views to feast your eyes on. The spa is also excellent, for those essential holiday treatments ;-)

Would we go again? Already planning when we can return!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are delighted that you had such a good time whilst staying on resort and we appreciate all your comments and compliments.

We’re glad that you got to experience some of the great activities and amenities we have available on site and got to explore the beautiful island.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your return!

Regards

Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    123
    33
    16
    21
See reviews for
187
260
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive at the Airport to the moment you leave you are made to feel special by the resort staff and management. As you arrive you are greeted with cold towels at one side of the bridge which are collected at the other end and followed by a cool cocktail. You are then whisked off to your villa to be checked in and shown around. We were there in May to get married which was arranged by Sharon and Gennine both these girls could not have done anything more to make our day any more special . Every detail was taken care of by both of them and also Yasmin in the UK who arranged everything through the resort leading up to the wedding , have peace of mind before you go everything will be fine when you get there. There are three restaurants open at present and also another for breakfast.The restaurants were excellent although we were slightly disappointed by Bamboo the Indian with not a lot of choice although we are no experts on Indian cuisine, Jacks was our favourite although you need to book in advance which is not a problem if you know before you go. The villas use UK plugs which is a helpful tip before you go. Our highlights off the staff were Brod, Lionel and Carlson as well as Sharon and Gennine Our luggage did get left in St Vincent by Liat on our return which is quite normal although mentioned on other reviews this is outwith the control of the resort . The week flew in far too quickly and we will return , ENJOY !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate all of your compliments and comments, especially regarding the staff.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see back again soon.

Regards
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from Buccament Bay and had an amazing time.

As mentioned in pretty much every review the staff are truly amazing, friendly and attentive and are a real asset to the resort.

I suppose the resort is more of a faff to get to due to the need for a connecting flight from either St Lucia or Barbados international airports but that is not the hotels fault and cant see why people complain about this on here as this is surely transparent at time of booking.

I understand St Vincent is in the process of constructing an international airport which should reduce journey times but I would not let that stop me returning before then.

We were greeted at St Vincent airport by a driver in a private 4x4 for our transfer to the resort and were offered a much needed chilled bottle of water for the journey and the driver pointed out various sites while on route which was a nice touch, the transfer was about 45 minutes and it was dark by this time the roads are steep in places with sheer drops off the side of the mountain in places not the most pleasant of journeys if you don't like heights like me (make sure you sit on the right side of the car if you don't like heights I made the mistake of sitting on the left)

The Villas are spacious, well appointed and the housekeepers do a Stirling job keeping them clean. The plug sockets are UK style so no need to bother with adapters (if travelling from UK)

As others have mentioned we did have a problem with Mosquitos in the room so make sure you pack some Deet and maybe some knock down spray (It would be helpful if the resort provided this in the rooms) the resort does fogging in the evenings but due to the layout of the resort it doesn't seem to get into all the areas particularly around the lakes/swamps.

The food was always great and operates mainly as an a la carte system (with the exception of breakfast buffet) they sometimes had salad bar and live cooking stations to supplement the a la carte menu too at the Bay Beach Club . The sushi bar and Jacks restaurant in particular were exceptional the streak was great!

The cocktails were amazing the best Pina Colada's I've ever had.

It was low season so there were plenty of sunbeds, which were very comfy and the pool boys were great at keeping your drinks topped up and just generally making sure you had everything you need.

Sadly our excursion to Tobago Cays was cancelled due to not enough bookings (we were advised of this possibility at time of booking) so bare this in mind when you are planning trips.

The resort has a few bikes available for guests use and is a great way of getting around the resort and also makes the journey back to the villa more interesting after a few cocktails!

Would we return most definitely!

Room Tip: Make sure you try a Pina Colada!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your review. We strive to give our guests a truly five star Caribbean experience when staying with us, so to hear your feedback means a great deal.

It is good to hear that you liked the food at our restaurants and enjoyed using the free bicycles available to guests.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we’ll have the Pina Colada’s ready for your return!

Regards
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This resort fully deserves it's 5 star status. It is a purpose built resort with beaches ,2 infinity pools and 4 restaurants serving a huge choice of food---all of it delicious. The accommodation is in villas of varying sizes but basically consisting of a lounge area which opens out onto a deck with private plunge pool, a small kitchen area with 2 fridges and a very fancy coffee and tea maker and a bedroom off of which is a walk-in wardrobe and a really luxurious bathroom.
However it is the attention to detail by staff from the moment one arrives which makes this a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us on resort and we do hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 glorious nights for our honeymoon and it was thee best holiday we have ever shared together. From the minute we landed in St Vincent we were met by a driver who took our bags and packed them into the car. It was luxurious and comfortable making the 30min transfer to resort much better. We went through amazing villages and the island was lit up so bright in the night. Upon arriving at the resort we were met by staff with cold towels and cocktails music and very happy faces. Our bags were taken to our villa and so were we. The reception agent sat with us and talked us through our stay and our surroundings...amazing service. Then we were picked up by a buggy car and taken for dinner to the Bay Beach Club...wow...stunning menu's each night and staff very friendly hard working and caring. Jacks restaurant is 5* food highly recommended. Bamboo made every mornings breakfast just amazing from fresh fruit smoothies to cook breakfast buffet. All inclusive is the best way to book this resort as there are great extras included like Kayaking, tennis lessons, football with ex Liverpool stars at the academy, a singing academy, sunset cruises, snorkelling, meals and drinks as and when you wish. Also for small charges they have many different trips to other parts of St Vincent and also to the other Caribbean islands which are amazing. Being an avid Pirates of the Caribbean fan I had to visit walibou where they used the area as Port Royal in the movie...amazing trip! We loved our stay so much that when our plane had electrical problems before flight home we stayed 1more night as an invitation and compliments from management...now that is amazing service. This resort needs more publicity as its just beyond amazing! We will be going back again in the very near future...get yourself out to Buccament Bay Resort asap you won't regret it!!! Infact you might not want to go home!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuccamentBayResort, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for all the kind words and compliments! We’re truly delighted that you had a good time staying with us and we strive to give our guests a truly five star experience, so to hear your comments on our service means a great deal.

Thank you for choosing our resort and we look forward to taking care of you again.

Regards
Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We live in Trinidad and have visited quite a few Caribbean islands during our time in the region. We stayed at Buccament Bay Resort for 3 nights in May 2013 and very much enjoyed our time there. Here are the positives and negatives:

Positives

1. The service was (almost entirely) excellent. Staff really went out of their way to make us feel at home and looked after. After the second day, most of the staff members we saw on a regular basis knew our names and that of our 20-month-old son, which was really remarkable. In addition, the staff often gave my pregnant wife a ride on the ubiquitous golf carts, which she really appreciated. Overall, the service could not have been better.

2. The food was very good. I would rate it a 7.5 out of 10. The breakfast buffet is varied and includes a fruit/smoothie station and an omelette bar along with the standard muffins, bacon, etc. We ate the first night at Saffran, strangely located among the villas far from the beach (bring insect repellent as the restaurant overlooks a small lagoon and they leave the doors open to the dining room thus it's infested with mosquitoes) and were impressed. It was not the best Indian food we've ever had but for resort food it was surprisingly good. The second night we ate at Jack's, which is a lovely steakhouse near the beach. Service and food were both excellent. I did not expect good steak in the Caribbean but the ribeye was very good as were the sides. Without us asking, our waitress even brought a little dish of hummus and some bread sticks for our son (which he loves) so we got to enjoy a meal without having to worry about his dinner. We also hit up HQ several times for ice cream, teas, etc., and were always pleased with what we got. Overall, the excellent quality of the food made us feel our money had been well-spent and allowed us to relax during our trip.

3. The pools and beach/bay are very nice. The 2 hotel pools are parallel to each other and face the ocean, while the beach (covered in imported white sand) is impeccably clean and inviting. Conliffe at the pool took excellent care of us, quickly filling any orders and making sure we had towels and chairs within moments of arriving. I don't know how the pools cope when the resort is full, but when we were there plenty of chairs went unused so there was always space.
We also used the water sports equipment (snorkeling gear and paddle boards) several times and it was always in good order and the staff were helpful. The snorkeling was very nice as there are a lot of fish along the southern edge of the bay along with a wreck on the northern edge.

4. The included airport pick-up and drop-off were smooth. The driver of the van to the airport even stayed with the group to help load luggage on the scale at the LIAT counter, which was clearly above and beyond the call of duty. The smaller van they used to pick us up even had a car seat installed for our son.

5. The rooms are very nice and everything worked. The air conditioning worked very well, the bathroom was lovely (separate bathtub and shower were great for the little guy) and there was enough space for our things and a crib in the bedroom.

6. There were bicycles around the resort for guests to use. This may seem silly but the sprawling layout of the grounds will make you appreciate any mechanical assistance you can find.

7. The included sunset cruise (on certain days) was very nice. The resort subcontracts this to Fantasea tours (which has a 60ft catamaran) and we saw a large group of dolphins following the boat and playing in between the hulls.

Negatives
1. The rooms and areas nearby are absolutely infested with mosquitoes. The first room they gave us (more below) was not a deluxe and thus not air-conditioned and the living area was full of mosquitoes. On the second night we were there, we returned to the room after dinner to find a hotel employee standing on our porch with the front door wide open. She said there had been a power issue and she needed to do something with the electrical system in the room, but that certainly didn't require her to let every mosquito in a 50 yard radius into our room. We spent the next 36 hours killing mosquitoes (I think we got 16) thanks to her little mistake.

It doesn't help that they have created small nesting areas with the stagnant ponds that serve as the pools in between the garden view rooms. They spray once a night (around 6pm so try to be on the beach at that time as the insecticide they use is very strong and smells awful) but it doesn't seem to help much. Overall, the design of the resort only exacerbated what was likely a problem before.

2. Night management seems a little confused. Our LIAT flight was 2 hours late (normal for that awful airline) and thus we got to the hotel at about 11:30pm. The staff put us in a non-deluxe room and when I pointed out the mistake they said that the night manager couldn't do anything without checking with the reservations department in London ! We stayed in the room that night and got everything sorted in the morning, but we never should have had to wait to correct such a simple error.

3. The pictures on the website are not entirely accurate. The photos for the deluxe garden view show a large dining/living room with TV and a sofa and chair but that's only for the 2 bedroom villas. The one bedroom villas have a small dining/living room area with no TV and only a small sofa. This was not a big problem as we spent the majority of our time out of the room but in my opinion it's unnecessarily unclear or borderline deceptive.

As the positives greatly outnumber the negatives we would definitely stay there again. If the service tech had not left our door open and we had been given the correct room from the start everything would have been nearly perfect.

Room Tip: The place is huge so ask reception to get you a room close to the beach if that's important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTSHIRE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this resort for a week in May and were extremely disappointed. At a push its almost 4* but nowhere near the 5* luxury resort it claims to be. We have been to many resorts in the Carribean and this is by far the worst we have been to.
We were kept waiting at least an hour and a half at the airport whilst customs painstakingly slow,processed everyone. Next a tortuous long drive to the hotel. Not the hotels fault but still an unpleasant experience after nearly 20 hours traveling.
The staff at all times were extremely friendly and helpful and provided drinks and cold towels on our arrival.
The rooms however are spacious but far from luxurious, my bathrobe had clearly been worn by the previous occupant and was stained and smelt. Towels also stained and tatty. Not a single Moulton and Brown product in sight, shower ran cold. Air con struggles and the overhead fan sounds like a helicopter in the room.
The rooms are gloomy as it is not possible to open the shutters as they are straight onto the main thoroughfare and lack any privacy.
Only three restaurants and only two open at a time, we were advised to book all our restaurants when we arrived, who wants to do that on holiday?, no flexibility either, we were only offered a 6.30 or 9.30 time for dinner .The Bay and Jacks restaurant has continuously booming Reggae so not at all relaxing. No Trader Vics as advertised.The menu at The Bay never changes and is very limited.The breakfast buffet was average and served in a gloomy, tired area.Lots of fruit on display but none prepared, one chef to do it for you but as smoothies are on offer these seem to take about 15 mins to prepare so a long wait ensues.
The place resembles a mini modern housing estate ,souless and completely lacks any atmosphere. The place is clearly struggling as large boarded areas hide partially finished but deserted accommodation falling apart. The abandoned half finished Apartment block covered in rusting scaffolding is a total eyesore .
The beach is tiny and unattractive and can be walked in about three minutes.
The whole hotel although relatively new is already showing signs of wear and many areas are very shabby and tatty.
The only plus is the friendly staff and the weather!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccament Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccament Bay Resort

Address: Buccament Bay, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buccament Bay Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning* Buccament Bay Resort is a luxury, all-inclusive hotel on the beautiful island of St Vincent: the pearl crowning 32 islands and cays called the “Jewels of the Caribbean".Cradled by lush mountains and vibrant rainforest - an inviting sample of the many riches on offer from this unspoilt treasure - the resort boasts stunning features, like a white sandy beach meeting the clear, warm turquoise sea, and stylish accommodations that typify the Harlequin Hotels & Resorts standards.Perfect for families, couples, singles or dream weddings and honeymoons, it boasts a unique range of top class activities and facilities - many associated with famous brands - that leave guests spoilt for choice, whilst warm, considerate staff deliver a truly Caribbean 5 star experience in a charming, village-style setting.There are several restaurants and bars offering a range of dining options, whilst the unique variety of top class activities cater for all the family. These include: Liverpool FC Academy Soccer School; Pat Cash Tennis Club; Indigo Dive & Watersports (awarded 5 star status by PADI); Harlequin Performing Arts Academy; The Spa with Treatments by ESPA; Harlequin Fitness Centre; Little Harlequin Kids Club; and Club 61 for teenagers; not to mention a number of excursions, including the complimentary sunset cruise.Whether you seek relaxation or stimulation, discover Buccament Bay Resort.* In Autumn 2012 the resort was extremely proud to be awarded "Caribbean's Leading New Hotel" and "St Vincent & The Grenadines' Leading Spa Resort" by the Oscars of the travel industry, the World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Buccament Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccament Bay Hotel St. Vincent
Buccament Bay Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccament Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.