We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment. Not even close to 5*” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buccament Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buccament Bay Resort to your Saves list
Buccament Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Buccament Bay, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
London, United Kingdom
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A big disappointment. Not even close to 5*”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

For my wife's birthday we stayed 7 nights in a beachfront villa. The view from the plunge pool, especially at sunset, was truly beautiful. I think if you are going to bother staying at this resort then a villa on the beach is the only way to go. Air-conditioning worked well but was really noisy and dripped water on you if you stood under the bedroom mirror. The shower was difficult to adjust to get hot water and was really noisey as if a whale had been trapped in the pipes. Oh and the toilet - don't expect to be able to flush twice within 5mins!
Alternative accomodation is spread over a vast area away from the beach and reminded me of a kind of mosquito-infested butlins resort. The whole place resembled a film-set which looks great from the front but then....
Building work is far from complete and if you are accomodated away from the beach then you may well be disappointed. The football and tennis facilities will surely cause some families disappointment - unfinished and surrounded by ugly construction work. Several restaurants advertised to open in July will 100% not be open. The spa is very close to on-going construction work which meant we couldn't have an outside couples massage but I must say our complimentary treatments were really good - the thai massage was first class.
The resort is full of staff - eveywhere - but it wasn't clear why they were all there. We were even appointed a personal guest assistant ( whatever that means) and he kept suddenly appearing on our decking without notice (at inappropriate moments) or on the beach - it became really annoying and we ended up making detours to avoid him. His job was to help us book our dinner tables or arrange trips - all of which we found quicker and easier to arrange ourselves in reception. The one job he promised to help with was to ensure my wife had a great birthday dinner. We booked our table well in advance and everyone at the resort was well aware of the special evening. We arrived at the restaurant to find our table had been taken so had to wait at the bar to be seated at a very noisy table right next to the bar. No special arrangement had been made and to make matters worse, once seated, we had to wait an additional 45mins for our starters to arrive.
Food was sometimes great and I believe the chefs are really talented but are being let down by the resort management. Certain items on the menu were never available, sometimes popular items would run out, and on one day kitchen facilities weren't even functioning properly. Not what you'd expect from a 5* resort. I think my wife receiving raw chicken on her caesar salad was totally unacceptable and equally unacceptable was the impassive response from the waitress to the matter.
When we stayed at buccament we felt like we were the only paying customers. All the other visitors we spoke to were all investors who had been flown out for free to stay at the resort and we felt like they were being looked after better than us.
This is a resort that looks lovely but hides the true story of a place that currently has "a head and body but no arms and legs".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Buccament Bay Resort is a new establishment and we welcome all suggestions for improvement. We are disappointed that you experienced such a service during your stay for which I present you my apologies.

Issues like AC, shower, toilet, and poor service on your wife’s birthday are certainly unacceptable and we are saddened that they did not allow you to fully enjoy our resort and is certainly not how we treat our guests. We have implemented various improvements throughout the resort following your feedback.

You can rest assured that we will look into our standards of service to ensure that they live up to the experience we promise to our guests.

We are pleased to note that all other aspects of your stay with us have been to your full satisfaction including your Thai massage. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future to fulfill your expectations.


Sincerely,

Mark Sawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    127
    35
    16
    21
See reviews for
190
271
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We are totally overwhelmed by the experience we received when we stayed at the totally amazing Buccament Bay in June 2011. We read so many amazing reports previously about this dream of a resort that we decided to get married here - and what an experience!! Certainly an experience we will never ever forget. Buccament bay is without any shadow of a doubt the most idyllic, friendly Caribbean island we have ever ever experienced. Having travelled and stayed in many Caribbean resorts - Buccament Bay is THE place to go for a totally relaxing, chilled out, friendly holiday, which caters for ALL ages.
We (myself, husband and daughter) stayed in a two bedroom villa, and although we didn't have a plunge pool - it really didn't matter as we were literally ten steps away from the beach. Which leads me to say that this has to be the cleanest beach we have ever experienced - and to no doubt as the guys work extremely hard day in day out, raking the sand!! It really is exceptional. The villa we stayed at was superb and kept exceptionally clean daily by the totally fantastic housekeeping girls - who each day were just as happy and friendly!! They also need a medal for the totally fantastic works of art that they produced with the towels - we had swans, love hearts and Rose petals galore!!
We met such an array of totally fantastic people whilst here - but have to mention Gennine the wedding co ordinator who went way above and beyond to ensure our wedding day went without a hitch - I would honestly hand on my heart say that the usual stress that comes with wedding planning went way over my head as she took full responsibility for our special day and boy did she deliver!! That girl is totally awesome and will always have a special place in our hearts. Xx. This brings me onto another person who deserves a mention and that's Steve the head chef - wow wow wow - not only did we thoroughly enjoy his meals each night in the restaurant but he certainly pushed the boat way out for our wedding dinner - it was absolutely glorious and all the guys who work with him are totally fantastic too!!
I am doing my hardest to think of a negative for all you guys who are considering or might even have booked Buccament Bay for your holidays, but honest to god the only negative is that we had to come home!! Every single member of staff gives their absolute all to ensure that their guests have the most truly fabulous memorable holiday possible, and I mean that wholeheartedly!! The reception staff are amazing, and willing and able to deal with any problem at the drop of a hat, our room key decided to not work one evening (must've been the amount of sun it had lol) and within minutes we had several members from reception sorting this small issue - wow - we have never experienced that type of service before!!
To be honest, we could go on all day bragging up the resort, but to be brutally honest, we can honestly say that our experience at Buccament Bay was second to none. So much so that we are planning our next holiday as I write!! There is no where on this planet that can make you feel so special, coupled by the fact that this resort is so honest and friendly with probably a zero crime rate due to the extent of the professional security team that they have stationed within the resort. Buccament Bay is without doubt a truly magical experience for couples, families and singles alike.
Well done Buccament Bay xxxxxx

Room Tip: All viillas are exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Madam,

Congratulations on your wedding. Your wedding at the resort is also memorable for us. We even have the photo of your wedding gazebo on our website! Thank you for your feedback is really appreciated. WE do hope to see you every year at the resort!

Sincerely,

Mark Sawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

if there is one place one this earth that i would say go to , it would be here , the staff were fab , it was my partners 30th birthday when we went , and the staff put balloons and flowers in the villa , it was out of this world , (villa 96 ) so if you decided to go away to a once in a life time hoilday then please go to baccament bay , we went in may 2011 with my 2 year old son ray , and the staff were great , they looked after ray so me and my partner could have 5 mins together , and although our son is stuck to his mum , the staff were great and by the end of our stay he was happy to go and play , something we have found hard to do even with the help of family members !
the owners were there with there famlies and made us feel so welcome !
i wanna go back by august and ask my partner to become my wife there ! as i know its the place to do it and figers cross she will say YES ,

Room Tip: please ask to stay in villa 96
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We will be happy to welcome you anytime you decide to come back. What a best occasion to come and visit us, we will be more than happy in organizing something special when you are going to do the marriage proposal. Please contact me beforehand so that we can make the arrangements.

Sincerely,

Mark Sawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I had to write a review of this resort as I can honestly say I have been to enough 5 star hotels and resorts in my time globally but this has been by far the best I have seen in terms of service and room finish. From the moment we arrived to the day we left everything was exceptional. The staff could not do enough for you...it was so upsetting to have to leave. Everyone there is appointed a lifestyle manager when they arrive and they are you point of contact for the duration of your stay; we saw ours regularly updating us on events and entertainment, sorting bookings and SPA treatments. ours was fantastic, if you get the chance to choose then ask for Francisca.

The beach to the resort was outstanding, the photos I took look like they were digitally mastered but they weren't. The food was incredible as were the infinite amount of cocktails the resort served. Nothing was ever too much trouble. I am also booking to go back next year and I cannot wait to see the other resorts being built by the same company across the Caribbean. If they are like this then I know where I am taking 2 weeks holiday each year. You wont be able to beat them.

The only draw back I can tell you about the resort was the flight from London, slightly too long, however well worth it when we arrived. The free trips the resort put on in the day and evenings were unreal. Normally most places you would have to pay but not here. All complimentary! Try the sunset cruise.

Overall the total experience was "Outstanding" and I would highly recommend anyone to go if you are looking for great surroundings, a place to relax and unwind and enjoy the best food the area has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Cabanas with the Private Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Sir,

We are pleased that you had such a nice time at the resort. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write about your experience and for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you back again for your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Mark Sawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wide and I recently had a week at the Buccament Bay resort, (retunring June 14th).
The location was stunning - beautiful beach area surrounded by fantastic tropical forest and mountains. The hotel collected us from St Vincent airport and took us by boat around the coast to the resort. From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptionally well by the all the staff.
Clearly this is a new resort, but the pool areas adjacent to the beach are all open and immaculate. The main bar restaurant area adjacent to the pools is also now fully open and we were delighted with the menu and quality of the food available here. A small boutique shopping area, coffee bar, ice cream and smoothy bar are all also fully open and again are of a top quality standard. We understand that in the last week a sushi/ noodle bar/ diner has also opened.
The entertainment was of a very high quality and quite varied - including local bands, touring bands, guest DJ's etc.
Snorkelling and kayaking was fabulous and all complimentary.
We did a couple of trips which were lovely and well organised by the hotel, but to be honest we could happily spend a couple of weeks without leaving the resort - it was fabulous.
The villa we were allocated was beautifully decorated, with huge bathroom and shower areas, large tv and Ipod facilities, great coffee and a private plunge pool - it all felt very luxurious.
More than anything though, the memory I take back from Bucc Bay is the excellent service and friendly and helpful staff. It looks like this resort is already making very popular, but as more facilities and villas are opened I think this really will be an exceptional holiday location.
We are definately going to return next year

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us and the nice picture of the pool. We are glad that you spent such a nice time with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the resort

With best regards,

Mark Sawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This paradise in the beautiful island of St Vincent was made altogether even more memorable by the service and care of every one of the staff at this resort. From the resort manager to the bar and domestic staff, every one of them made our stay an absolute pleasure with their smiles and desire to see to our every need.

All-inclusive takes on a new meaning in Buccament Bay. Everything you would ever need to make your holiday the most memorable of your life is provided for you. All drinks, meals, snacks, ice creams etc are provided throughout every day- even the fridges in your villas are topped up every day with bottled water, beers and soft drinks.

There is even a fantastic catamaran laid on free every evening to transport guests out of the bay to capture the most of the sunset, even spotting dolphins and a whale! This complimentary service is also provided on a day excursion to the film set of Pirates of the Caribbean followed by a trip to a 100 ft waterfall in the foothills of the island's volcano.

There are a range of excursions available at extra cost and diversify from climbing to the lip of the volcano to swimming with turtles. We would also recommend asking reception to hire a local taxi driver. We paid a very reasonable sum to be guided and escorted around the island's capital for 4 hours.

Accommodation is out of this world. Expect to be treated as a king. A large flat screen TV in each bedroom and one in the lounge, ipod docking stations in each bedroom, luxury ensuite with each room, beds turned down and treats left on the bed every evening.....the list of delights could be endless.

If I could sum up our experience of Buccament Bay in just a few words they would be "Go there-you have to be there to believe it and it will stay with you forever".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Sir,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much during your vacation with us. We do hope that you will come back for your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Mark Sawkins
General Manager – Buccament Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent 11 days at Buccament Bay end of May. Although we had a lovely time, I must point out that the 5 star rating is not quite being delivered at the moment.

Reviewers have mentioned a lot the positives so I won’t expend too much. The lovely staff, the well appointed rooms and amazing choice of drinks and food. We particularly loved the complimentary sunset cruises, which were a great way to finish the day and meet new people.

But there were few problems, which need to be mentioned, although they really haven’t tempered that much our holidays.

First is the evident lack of staff training, be it at the management level or daily face-to-face staff. We had problems with the hot water in our villa, and it took 4 days for someone (in this case Maxwell, thanks to him) to finally take our complaints further and deal with it quickly. The hot water worked for 4 days and then the problems started again. We were 4 in our villas, but only 2 were able to enjoy a hot shower per day! So we had to take turns….

Some staffs at the HQ haven’t been trained properly to do the drinks and the final output greatly depended on who made it! We even had our daughter coming back one day with a smoothy, which was an orange juice with floating shavings of coconuts and kiwi pieces. The person forgot to put it in the blender! It didn’t really bother us because we didn’t “pay” for it but the end results should be consistent for a 5 stars quality, not just smiles and willingness. Also, many times, part of our orders didn’t materialised at the Bay View restaurant.

Second is the “over promising” statement on the marketing material. Few examples: we were told that we will have tennis 1 to1 and group coaching (which I was looking forward to) but there was no coach on site during our entire stay. We didn’t have wireless in our villa, nor a plunge pool. No DVD players were available. The “daily” fitness activities only took place once during our stay. There is a great Kids Club but no Teenagers Club as mentioned. Only two choices of restaurants even though we received a letter prior to our departure stating that a Sushi bar, Italian and Indian restaurants were now opened!

Finally, the building work, although properly screened off, is still quite intrusive, especially by the pool. The work around our villa was also very obvious and we couldn’t stay at all on our private deck because of the builders, dust and all associated noise.

Because we benefited from a very good “soft launch” rate through our airline staff deal, this holiday was great value for money and we coped well with our “little misfortunes” but some improvements are necessary to justify a 5 stars rating and the retail prices advertised. My other concern is that the beach area and some facilities will be too small when all the villas and hotels are completed, so I’m not confident the resort will greatly improved or be able to cope with more guests when finished.

A final say and on a positive note, a big thank you to some of the wonderful member of staff we met there. A big thanks to Murphy (the dancing chef), Marvin (on the catamaran cruises), King (at the bar), David (buggy driver) and everyone at the kids club who made our daughter’s stay very special indeed…, she had lots of tears leaving.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABBJJKK, General Manager at Buccament Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you once again for taking the time to share with us your observations concerning Buccament Bay Resort. Your comments give us valuable feedback and will help us immensely to improve our service delivery. We sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectation. We are continuously working towards improving all aspects of the resort - from reviewing the water heating system to training staff to meet our guest expectations. The construction by the villa and the Bay Beach Club by the pool have been completed. The Bay Beach Club is now open for lunch and dinner. Our landscaping team has worked in changing the look of the exterior of the villa in which you stayed. We are also placing solar water heating system in all the villas to address the hot water issue. We will also have a lounge soon where our guests will be able to use for indoor activities.

You can rest assured that we will look into our standards of service to ensure that they live up to the experience we promise to our guests. We are pleased that all other aspects of your stay with us have been to your full satisfaction. Your complimentary comments about our friendly staff in general, and about Murphy, Marvin King, Maxwell and David in particular, will be passed on.

It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to Buccament Bay Resort.

With best regards,

Mark Sawkins – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccament Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccament Bay Resort

Address: Buccament Bay, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buccament Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning* Buccament Bay Resort is a luxury, all-inclusive hotel on the beautiful island of St Vincent: the pearl crowning 32 islands and cays called the “Jewels of the Caribbean".Cradled by lush mountains and vibrant rainforest - an inviting sample of the many riches on offer from this unspoilt treasure - the resort boasts stunning features, like a white sandy beach meeting the clear, warm turquoise sea, and stylish accommodations that typify the Harlequin Hotels & Resorts standards.Perfect for families, couples, singles or dream weddings and honeymoons, it boasts a unique range of top class activities and facilities - many associated with famous brands - that leave guests spoilt for choice, whilst warm, considerate staff deliver a truly Caribbean 5 star experience in a charming, village-style setting.There are several restaurants and bars offering a range of dining options, whilst the unique variety of top class activities cater for all the family. These include: Liverpool FC Academy Soccer School; Pat Cash Tennis Club; Indigo Dive & Watersports (awarded 5 star status by PADI); Harlequin Performing Arts Academy; The Spa with Treatments by ESPA; Harlequin Fitness Centre; Little Harlequin Kids Club; and Club 61 for teenagers; not to mention a number of excursions, including the complimentary sunset cruise.Whether you seek relaxation or stimulation, discover Buccament Bay Resort.* In Autumn 2012 the resort was extremely proud to be awarded "Caribbean's Leading New Hotel" and "St Vincent & The Grenadines' Leading Spa Resort" by the Oscars of the travel industry, the World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Buccament Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccament Bay Hotel St. Vincent
Buccament Bay Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccament Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.