We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wallilabou

Wallilabou
St. Vincent
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 38 Attractions in St. Vincent
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Picnicking, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small village sits next to a gorgeous bay.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our experience was sadly similar to many previous reviewers. At the end of a great week's sailing in a flotilla around the Leeward Islands we decided to spend our last night in Wallilabou Bay. A big mistake. We locked all our hatches when we went ashore for an evening meal. On our return we found the locking mechanism had been forced and our boat had been raided. The money put aside for a tip to our helpful flotilla leaders was stolen, together with most of our electrical goods, including navigational aids.
A pretty enough place but not safe.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    9
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

To be honest this was a bit of a disappointment. Aside from a few random relics and shooting schedules it looked very much like a run down resort and was rammed full of tourists. The photos make it look better than it was!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Interesting but looking a bit tired!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We travelled by the hotel taxi from Buccament Bay on our way to Dark View Falls. It was fun seeing where the Pirates of the Caribbean had been filmed and seeing the props. I checked one of the coffins for size! There was a place there for refreshments but we didn't stop for any as we had our own refreshments in the car. It was a very pretty location and you could take some lovely photos there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pirates of The Caribbean inspires...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This park is located on the leeward (west) coast of St. Vincent, near Wallilabou Bay and the site of the Film Pirates of the Caribbean. It is also close to the centre of Barrouallie, a fishing village known for its harvesting of Black Fish, and Cumberland Bay, one of the best known anchorages on the island.
Facilities here included parking, gazebo, benches, visitor centre, restaurant, bar, and pedestrian bridge.

The restaurant offers delicious local dishes, iced cold beers and marvellous view on the bay.

Do not expect anything grandiose like Hollywood, more like a simplistic nice anchorage area that has taken the opportunity of this newly acquired attention brought to the area due to the famous Captain Jack Sparrow (played by Johnny Depp) from the Pirates of The Caribbean.
The local distillery was also inspired to bring a new dark rum named after Sparrow that is more refined and flavourful than the very strong clear Sunset version.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I liked that I was somewhere Johnny Depp was. I disliked that I did not get to stay long.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallilabou also viewed

St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Wallilabou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallilabou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.