We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorful Rainforest environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Young Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Vincent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Young Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Young Island, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Colorful Rainforest environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After seven nights on Palm Island, we arrived at Young Island after a very short 30 minute flight and a 200 yard boat ride. The island is relatively small and an All Inclusive option is available. I would recommend going that route as our experiences on St. Vincent mainland leaves it seriously lacking. It did include all our cocktails, which is always welcome.
We discovered that some of the rooms on the beach and lower flat level have A/C. We chose a hilltop Villa option with it's own plunge pool for it's privacy. We were not disappointed on the privacy front. Villa 30 is the last room and up a fitness inducing 120 handmade steps of varying twists and turns. This room didn't have a/c. I was initially worried about this fact, but it proved to be of no worry. In April the trade winds are very strong and the room has over half floor to ceiling windows. We slept well. A note of serious consideration is the noise form the very close mainland. We were treated throughout the day with various road noises and dogs barking. Not such a concern during daylight hours, but nighttime was another story. There is a nightclub or two on the beach across from the resort that plays music, loud base, preaching sermons on Saturday and Sunday, and generally makes an irritation of itself. I don't know if the closed up a/c villas are better because they are closer but windowed or if we got more up the hill due to location or open windows. I travel with a noise machine and we used it-we needed it. Don't let this deter you from a visit, just be ready. This room, with brick floors, lots of windows and wood rafters, is in some serious need of furniture updating. A minibar would also be nice. They fill your ice bucket early in the day and it melts quickly. If you want more ice, the machine is by the bar. The room is huge and the deck and pool area are great, although with some weird roof lines. The bathroom is big but weird. Lots of step downs that get precarious in the dark. The towels are plush but non absorbent. Since we had our pool, we didn't use the large pool but it looked nice.
The food is so delicious. I think the chef was trying to kill me with the large variety of cream based soups. My husband thought they were attempting death by bread! They make their own and have at least six choices at every meal. The mahi mahi was to die for. Everything was so good. They seem to run the same two lunch menus for three days each with Sunday being a buffet. But dinner always varied. Such great food. Don't visit on a diet.
The resort could be run tighter and the front desk is a hit or miss on information. Be prepared to have to ask again later to get info that makes sense. Example: When we were asking about our departure time/schedule, the first pleasant lady we spoke with told us that we would need to be there two hours before our 6am flight. We were only going to Grenada. Technically international, but still less than a 30 minute flight. There was no way that we were going to such a little airport to fly at 4am. When we questioned this, she asked us when we were thinking of going. When we said 5.15 she said "well, if you're not going to go the requested two hours early you might as well go at 5.45am." We opted to leave the resort at 4.45am. Later that evening the next pleasant lady was in confirmation, and agreed that plan should be fine, although two hours is requested! A stock answer, I'm guessing, but she did take the early time into account. Absolutely unnecessary. We checked in by 5.10 and waited for 50 minutes in an empty unentertaining airport.
The hotel needs to advertise more and better. They seem to be relying heavily on word of mouth and returning middle aged Brits. The bartender runs between the bar and the eating tables, so if you're in the bar you will have to wait sometimes . I laughed one night when his tux shirt was unbuttoned about three buttons and his undershirt was in full view all evening. It is a little stuffy and reserved, but the scenery is well worth the trip.
Lush, green, flowering, and running with all variety of island animals it is just like your own private rainforest. It is beautiful. We got several rain showers, but it kept it pleasant and relaxing.
We took a taxi into Kingstown with the intention of doing some little souvenir shopping and maybe getting some lunch. We used Smokey to shuttle us everywhere. He's great! We left the town in 30 minutes and returned to Young for lunch. Inland St. Vincent has several excursions I'm sure are lovely, but we weren't in the mood to drive a few hours so we were very disappointed by Kingstown. We stayed five nights and really enjoyed it, but are unsure if we will return.

Room Tip: For privacy go for a hilltop villas, but consider the season and the lack of a/c. I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    34
    9
    13
    3
See reviews for
20
71
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingstown, St. Vincent
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Young island is a beautiful resort with cozy cottages and excellent dining. BUT, the ocean water between Young Island and the mainland of St. Vincent has sewage contamination from boats and beach front hotels dumping their septic into that area. Several cases of Giardia, ear infections, and other illnesses have occurred from persons swimming in the water. Since the Governed General of St. Vincent is one of the Young Island owners, maybe he needs to rectify this problem to avoid hurting his business with sick travelers!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great place to really wind down. When you first reach the Island you are greeted by Bianca, the General Manager, and with a fruit punch in hand. It is quiet, beautiful place where you can hear the gentle waves of crystal clear water reaching the shore next to your cabana. The rooms are excellent, the hospitality is fantastic, and all the staff know you by name. On Saturday night, the general manager hosted a cocktail hour which allowed us to meet other people staying at the resort. It was delightful and we made new friends. This is our second time staying at Young Island, and we will do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel for a romantic / beach vacation. Not recommend if staying for business (because of convenience of transportation). Hotel is located in an island about a 5 minute ferry boat drive our of St Vincent (main island). Hotel offers great service and food.

If you want to be isolated, it is great if you want to stay on the beach, relax, read a book, etc.

Not your typical hotel, you will stay at a villa / bungaloo (which has all the amenities, AC, TV, but limited internet access).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Young Island holds a very special place in our hearts. We've been there twice--once on our honeymoon, and now again, 33 and 1/3 years later. (If you recognize that number as the speed of vinyl, then you'll appreciate how long it's been between visits.) Would we be taking chances with irreplaceable memories by trying to revisit the past? Would we be disappointed in what we found? Memories may have colored our recollection of Young Island in rose-colored hues, but seeing it again instantly reminded us that beauty is eternal.
In 1979, St. Vincent seemed a more mysterious, and dangerous place than today. When we first visited, there'd been a coup on the nearby island of Grenada, the political pot was stirring, and Soufriere had just erupted, blanketing the north of St. Vincent in ash. (not to mention, our landing gear malfunctioned on the descent into Barbados, and we were instructed to brace for a possible crash landing!) When we finally made it to Young Island for the first time, it felt like we'd landed in a place closer to the primal heart of paradise.
Today the garden of Young Island has matured. What was once new, and wild, has acquired a complex patina of youthful flowering growing over an enduring structure. Immaculately swept pathways lead past newly thatched huts. Stone steps ascend through jungle-flowered arbors, rising to a palm glade, where ancient paths skirt a well-manicured tennis court, and then wander out toward windswept sea grapes. It's impossible to tell where the garden ends and nature takes over. We didn't think it would be possible, but Young Island is more beautiful today than ever.
We're sad to see the reef in front of the resort has suffered over the years, but the meticulous gardening, the new cottages, and the enhanced quality of the dining, has more than made up for the loss. The meals, and their setting are magical! A breakfast might consist of mahi-mahi, caught that morning, and served in morning glow alongside the beach. Perhaps lunch is brought to you under sheltering huts, as a warm afternoon rain glistens the profusion of tropical plants surrounding you. Dinner might be intimate tastes, stolen from the imaginative presentations on each other's plates, or a hearty barbecue, enjoyed in the company of other vacationers, as enthralled as we.
Two notable things came to Young Island, between our visits; first were the Yacht crews, who discovered Young Island as an anchoring jewel in the string of island pearls making up the Grenadines, and second were the film crews, arriving for the "Pirates of the Caribbean" movies, and needing a civilized place to stay, while filming in untamed locations. Both crews provide the impetus for wonderful fantasies. You can sign up for a "Sailaway" vacation and spend a few nights onboard a yacht, exploring iridescent lagoons, or you can remain marooned on Young Island, and imagine yourself a "pirate," stranded in the same rooms used by Kiera Knightley or Johnny Depp. (We called our room, with its sweeping sunrise view, and private plunge pool, the "Orlando Bloom" cottage.)
Years ago we were charmed by the warm hospitality of Vidal Browne. Today, Bianca Porter and her staff are every bit as gracious. The staff at Young Island are friendly and accomplished. Show an appreciation for the job they do. They're anxious to show how well they can do it.
We don't know why it took us so long to return; maybe it's all the warnings that you can never go back to what once was, but it's a wonderful thing to see that even if you can't go back, you can grow more in love with the persons and places that have grown alongside you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just as Chrisbaz said, Young Island second time around was even better. We too were on our second visit in 2 years and found Young Island to be everything we remembered and more. Words just cannot express how you feel when you step of that boat onto the jetty and taste your first rum punch in 12 months. Greeted by Bianca and James who remember you so fondly from the year before, cottage number 6 ready and waiting for us once again, it was just like coming home. We found it very hard to tear ourselves away from the seclusion and relaxing that the Island has to offer but our curiousity got the better of us and we headed off for an island tour, taking as sneaky peak into Buccament Bay on our journey with our guide and taxi driver "Smokey". Although we found Buccament Bay impeccably clean and neat it was like a picture post card, no soul, no character and we couldn't wait to get back to the friendly, relaxed atmosphere on Young Island. As I said in last years review Young Island is not flashy and sparkly but it has character and imperfections that make it truly authentic and make it the place we want to return to year on year. We met Chrisbaz in 2012 and kept in touch and have met more guests this year that we now class as friends, it truly is a magical place. The coconut bar was a place to meet new friends and sample Nei's rum cocktail in a coconut, try and swim back to shore after one of those if you can.

The food is amazing, crab backs, lobsters, duck breast, steaks, fish caught fresh from the sea that day and how could we forget the "coconut bread", i now have to find a recipe as my husband is addicted to it.

I won't go on as I can't improve on what we class as perfection. Apart from a few thank you's

Bianca and the office staff, James, Neil, Ivan (at the bar) Samanth and friends at the restaurant who served us the most fantastic food in the most fantastic way. The ferry men, the gardeners and all the housekeeping staff. Thank you for making our holiday THE most relaxing and enjoyable time of our whole year.

P.S. I have only one recommendation - don't change a thing !!!!! We'll be back !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited Young Island for the second time and if anything it was even better.
I wrote an extensive review a year ago on Trip Advisor – and most other reviews give you more detail - so I will just list my main points:

- the food is varied and top quality – outstanding;
- Young Island is ‘mature’ in the best sense, possibly slightly rustic with real charm;
- It is quite different than most other top-of-the-range places – luxury but no unnecessary plush (if you want that go elsewhere);
- Fantastic staff who are genuinely friendly, without obsequiousness – they are not flunkies here.

In other words, something a bit different. It’s called a ‘resort’ – I don’t think that does it justice. Real quality. We will be back.

PS. We have never had a problem with LIAT that others seem to have experienced – in fact they have bent over backwards to help us on two occasions.

PPS. Not sure why Katie had such a quick/rushed meal... we've had both quick and slow meals, at our pace.

PPS When leaving St Vincent, make sure you have the exact money in cash on you for departure tax at the airport otherwise it will cause you hassle. $US 19 per person or $EC 50 per person.

Room Tip: If you have any fitness issues, make sure you get a ground level room - otherwise you may have a man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Young Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Island Resort

Address: Young Island, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Young Island Resort 4*
Also Known As:
Young Island Hotel St. Vincent
Young Island Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Young Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Young Island Resort to your Saves list