We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your business hotel...Great for nature lovers!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Young Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Vincent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Young Island Resort
Save
You added Young Island Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Young Island, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not your business hotel...Great for nature lovers!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel for a romantic / beach vacation. Not recommend if staying for business (because of convenience of transportation). Hotel is located in an island about a 5 minute ferry boat drive our of St Vincent (main island). Hotel offers great service and food.

If you want to be isolated, it is great if you want to stay on the beach, relax, read a book, etc.

Not your typical hotel, you will stay at a villa / bungaloo (which has all the amenities, AC, TV, but limited internet access).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    37
    9
    13
    3
See reviews for
22
76
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Young Island holds a very special place in our hearts. We've been there twice--once on our honeymoon, and now again, 33 and 1/3 years later. (If you recognize that number as the speed of vinyl, then you'll appreciate how long it's been between visits.) Would we be taking chances with irreplaceable memories by trying to revisit the past? Would we be disappointed in what we found? Memories may have colored our recollection of Young Island in rose-colored hues, but seeing it again instantly reminded us that beauty is eternal.
In 1979, St. Vincent seemed a more mysterious, and dangerous place than today. When we first visited, there'd been a coup on the nearby island of Grenada, the political pot was stirring, and Soufriere had just erupted, blanketing the north of St. Vincent in ash. (not to mention, our landing gear malfunctioned on the descent into Barbados, and we were instructed to brace for a possible crash landing!) When we finally made it to Young Island for the first time, it felt like we'd landed in a place closer to the primal heart of paradise.
Today the garden of Young Island has matured. What was once new, and wild, has acquired a complex patina of youthful flowering growing over an enduring structure. Immaculately swept pathways lead past newly thatched huts. Stone steps ascend through jungle-flowered arbors, rising to a palm glade, where ancient paths skirt a well-manicured tennis court, and then wander out toward windswept sea grapes. It's impossible to tell where the garden ends and nature takes over. We didn't think it would be possible, but Young Island is more beautiful today than ever.
We're sad to see the reef in front of the resort has suffered over the years, but the meticulous gardening, the new cottages, and the enhanced quality of the dining, has more than made up for the loss. The meals, and their setting are magical! A breakfast might consist of mahi-mahi, caught that morning, and served in morning glow alongside the beach. Perhaps lunch is brought to you under sheltering huts, as a warm afternoon rain glistens the profusion of tropical plants surrounding you. Dinner might be intimate tastes, stolen from the imaginative presentations on each other's plates, or a hearty barbecue, enjoyed in the company of other vacationers, as enthralled as we.
Two notable things came to Young Island, between our visits; first were the Yacht crews, who discovered Young Island as an anchoring jewel in the string of island pearls making up the Grenadines, and second were the film crews, arriving for the "Pirates of the Caribbean" movies, and needing a civilized place to stay, while filming in untamed locations. Both crews provide the impetus for wonderful fantasies. You can sign up for a "Sailaway" vacation and spend a few nights onboard a yacht, exploring iridescent lagoons, or you can remain marooned on Young Island, and imagine yourself a "pirate," stranded in the same rooms used by Kiera Knightley or Johnny Depp. (We called our room, with its sweeping sunrise view, and private plunge pool, the "Orlando Bloom" cottage.)
Years ago we were charmed by the warm hospitality of Vidal Browne. Today, Bianca Porter and her staff are every bit as gracious. The staff at Young Island are friendly and accomplished. Show an appreciation for the job they do. They're anxious to show how well they can do it.
We don't know why it took us so long to return; maybe it's all the warnings that you can never go back to what once was, but it's a wonderful thing to see that even if you can't go back, you can grow more in love with the persons and places that have grown alongside you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just as Chrisbaz said, Young Island second time around was even better. We too were on our second visit in 2 years and found Young Island to be everything we remembered and more. Words just cannot express how you feel when you step of that boat onto the jetty and taste your first rum punch in 12 months. Greeted by Bianca and James who remember you so fondly from the year before, cottage number 6 ready and waiting for us once again, it was just like coming home. We found it very hard to tear ourselves away from the seclusion and relaxing that the Island has to offer but our curiousity got the better of us and we headed off for an island tour, taking as sneaky peak into Buccament Bay on our journey with our guide and taxi driver "Smokey". Although we found Buccament Bay impeccably clean and neat it was like a picture post card, no soul, no character and we couldn't wait to get back to the friendly, relaxed atmosphere on Young Island. As I said in last years review Young Island is not flashy and sparkly but it has character and imperfections that make it truly authentic and make it the place we want to return to year on year. We met Chrisbaz in 2012 and kept in touch and have met more guests this year that we now class as friends, it truly is a magical place. The coconut bar was a place to meet new friends and sample Nei's rum cocktail in a coconut, try and swim back to shore after one of those if you can.

The food is amazing, crab backs, lobsters, duck breast, steaks, fish caught fresh from the sea that day and how could we forget the "coconut bread", i now have to find a recipe as my husband is addicted to it.

I won't go on as I can't improve on what we class as perfection. Apart from a few thank you's

Bianca and the office staff, James, Neil, Ivan (at the bar) Samanth and friends at the restaurant who served us the most fantastic food in the most fantastic way. The ferry men, the gardeners and all the housekeeping staff. Thank you for making our holiday THE most relaxing and enjoyable time of our whole year.

P.S. I have only one recommendation - don't change a thing !!!!! We'll be back !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited Young Island for the second time and if anything it was even better.
I wrote an extensive review a year ago on Trip Advisor – and most other reviews give you more detail - so I will just list my main points:

- the food is varied and top quality – outstanding;
- Young Island is ‘mature’ in the best sense, possibly slightly rustic with real charm;
- It is quite different than most other top-of-the-range places – luxury but no unnecessary plush (if you want that go elsewhere);
- Fantastic staff who are genuinely friendly, without obsequiousness – they are not flunkies here.

In other words, something a bit different. It’s called a ‘resort’ – I don’t think that does it justice. Real quality. We will be back.

PS. We have never had a problem with LIAT that others seem to have experienced – in fact they have bent over backwards to help us on two occasions.

PPS. Not sure why Katie had such a quick/rushed meal... we've had both quick and slow meals, at our pace.

PPS When leaving St Vincent, make sure you have the exact money in cash on you for departure tax at the airport otherwise it will cause you hassle. $US 19 per person or $EC 50 per person.

Room Tip: If you have any fitness issues, make sure you get a ground level room - otherwise you may have a man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Why stop in crowded Barbados when with a bit more effort and a couple of hours hassle with LIAT you could be here. Relax and chill out. Thanks to Bianca and all the team for a super stay.

Room Tip: try to get a cottage on the beach. i think #6 is the posh one which would do very well for a romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Gosh you wouldn't think you could get through a five course meal in a little over an hour! I have never had such a quick meal. It was almost as if the choices were ready on plates in the kitchen, already to be whipped out speedily to waiting diners.

The five course menu has two choices for each course. All the food - except the strange and boney 'codling' - was fine. But this is a fabulous romantic location with views over the bay and we wanted to savour the occasion and take time over things. But no...

We were not offered a drink until AFTER our first course had arrived. We were planning wine to go with our food, but this didn't happen.

The setting is lovely. Individual tables under cabanas just back from the beach. The view of St Vincent is great. The boat trip across to the island was magical.

BUT What is the rush? If I wanted fast food, I'd have gone to KFC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently visited for 5 days on a business trip. This continues to be a great resort. Staff were even more attentive, internet now available for most of the cottages, music from across the water nonexistent, food continues to be excellent. Overall no complaints, would highly recommend the meal plan. Breakfast and dinner are great.
Remember if you would like to venture out. The ferry to Bequia leaves 5-6 times a day, costs ~5 dollars,fun 45 min trip and Bequia is definitely worth visiting. For fitness the 120 steps to the top and then down the small road to the bottom is a great loop, and after 8-10 loops a fun work out.

Room Tip: Room 2 good location, a.c. available if necessary, helpful if any outside noise, higher units quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Young Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Island Resort

Address: Young Island, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Young Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Young Island Hotel St. Vincent
Young Island Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Young Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.