We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Young Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Young Island Resort to your Saves list
Young Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Young Island, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited Young Island for the second time and if anything it was even better.
I wrote an extensive review a year ago on Trip Advisor – and most other reviews give you more detail - so I will just list my main points:

- the food is varied and top quality – outstanding;
- Young Island is ‘mature’ in the best sense, possibly slightly rustic with real charm;
- It is quite different than most other top-of-the-range places – luxury but no unnecessary plush (if you want that go elsewhere);
- Fantastic staff who are genuinely friendly, without obsequiousness – they are not flunkies here.

In other words, something a bit different. It’s called a ‘resort’ – I don’t think that does it justice. Real quality. We will be back.

PS. We have never had a problem with LIAT that others seem to have experienced – in fact they have bent over backwards to help us on two occasions.

PPS. Not sure why Katie had such a quick/rushed meal... we've had both quick and slow meals, at our pace.

PPS When leaving St Vincent, make sure you have the exact money in cash on you for departure tax at the airport otherwise it will cause you hassle. $US 19 per person or $EC 50 per person.

Room Tip: If you have any fitness issues, make sure you get a ground level room - otherwise you may have a man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    39
    9
    14
    3
See reviews for
25
81
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Why stop in crowded Barbados when with a bit more effort and a couple of hours hassle with LIAT you could be here. Relax and chill out. Thanks to Bianca and all the team for a super stay.

Room Tip: try to get a cottage on the beach. i think #6 is the posh one which would do very well for a romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Gosh you wouldn't think you could get through a five course meal in a little over an hour! I have never had such a quick meal. It was almost as if the choices were ready on plates in the kitchen, already to be whipped out speedily to waiting diners.

The five course menu has two choices for each course. All the food - except the strange and boney 'codling' - was fine. But this is a fabulous romantic location with views over the bay and we wanted to savour the occasion and take time over things. But no...

We were not offered a drink until AFTER our first course had arrived. We were planning wine to go with our food, but this didn't happen.

The setting is lovely. Individual tables under cabanas just back from the beach. The view of St Vincent is great. The boat trip across to the island was magical.

BUT What is the rush? If I wanted fast food, I'd have gone to KFC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently visited for 5 days on a business trip. This continues to be a great resort. Staff were even more attentive, internet now available for most of the cottages, music from across the water nonexistent, food continues to be excellent. Overall no complaints, would highly recommend the meal plan. Breakfast and dinner are great.
Remember if you would like to venture out. The ferry to Bequia leaves 5-6 times a day, costs ~5 dollars,fun 45 min trip and Bequia is definitely worth visiting. For fitness the 120 steps to the top and then down the small road to the bottom is a great loop, and after 8-10 loops a fun work out.

Room Tip: Room 2 good location, a.c. available if necessary, helpful if any outside noise, higher units quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We got married on the beach of Young Island this year and spent a week in one of the waterside cottages. The whole experience exceeded all our expectations. The warm welcome we received from Bianca and all the staff made us feel relaxed and special, nothing was too much trouble. The Food was amazing with a different menu every day. The surroundings were tropical, lush and green and we felt like we were in the middle of a beautiful, tropical desert island. This was a truly relaxing and peaceful holiday and all we did was relax, read, eat, drink and soak up the amazing surroundings. There are no TV's or radio's which I thought would initially be a problem but we didn't miss these at all. I can get enough of those at home! Highly reccommend Young Island and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the waterside cottages you get the carribbean sea lapping up against your gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Moment one arrives, met with friendliness and a good welcome. Cottages surrounded by wonderful tropical vegetation with every plant having colourful flowers. The pool is similarly surrounded by flowering plants. Very good food and plenty of it and several nights with entertainment. Fantastic holiday, will return again.

Room Tip: Depends if you want to be on the beach or on the hillside, we prefer to be near the water, but frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wargrave
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A friend recommend this hotel with a warning. No TV, no Radio, very little evening entertainment, and what a joy it turn out to be. A wonderful setting, wonderful staff (Bianca the hotel manager was amazing), resturant first class set in a truely superb setting. We did the sail away package which was great fun, the first holiday on which we both really relaxed. We can't wait to go back

Room Tip: We had room 36 well worth the climb as the views from the deck were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Young Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Island Resort

Address: Young Island, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Young Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Young Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young Island Hotel St. Vincent
Young Island Resort St. Vincent, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Young Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.