We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pinney's Beach | P.O. Box 565, Charlestown, Nevis   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
knoxville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ultimate -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Ultimate in every area-
Service- they go above & beyond in accommodating your needs. I had a favorite drink that they did not have the ingredients for. ( vanilla vodka) so Tomas ( food/bev mngr - now at four seasons philadelphia ) specially infused "Malaysian" vanilla sticks into vodka & made my drink the featured drink on the property for a day. He then went as far as to add it to their drink menu using my name as part of the drink title... Wow! Request him if ever at the 4 seasons in Philly!
Room - 611 was wonderful! Not the best view of the water but was more spacious than the other rooms. Felt like I had my own luxury apartment. Housekeeping kept it unbelievably clean. They mopped the travertine daily.
Food- delish!! But Lime down the beach is a must. It is truly a shack but we were told the best food on the isle & it is the truth! Best lobster ever!
Must stop in Sunshines for the famous Killer Bee drink but only have 1! It is truly carribean moonshine.
Spa- all of us agreed, best massages ever!!!
Gym- very good
Fishing- this is not the isle for fishing due to currents. If you choose to go, work out a deal with your captain that you want to keep your fish. They typically keep the fish & sell them so yo have to make this clear up front. Lane the sous chef at 4 seasons said they will prepare your fish for you for a $25 plate fee. 4 seasons is not affiliated with the fishing.
Love 4 seasons!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    105
    39
    19
    3
See reviews for
171
313
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is such a wonderful place and the only drawback is the time it takes to get there from Boston-but once there so well worth it.To arrive directly into the resort by boat and taken right to your room is such a luxury.We had a beautiful ocean front room, played a round of golf, used the fitness facilities daily, had some incredible meals, and the walking trails (go for the challenge) are great and provided unbelievable views.The beach was so peaceful and relaxing and the service there was impeccable. There was really no need to leave the resort except if you wanted to see the island.Make sure you do walk over to Sunshine's-part of the Nevis experience.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms so you can walk right onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent a week at the Four Seasons last week and everything was amazing. The service and every single employee went above and beyond. After landing in St. Kitts, staff from the Four Seasons meets you, takes your luggage and puts you in van to the ferry over to Nevis. It took a while to leave on the ferry because we were waiting for a family, but after that, it was an enjoyalbe 30 minute ride with rum punch! Once arriving at Nevis another staff member takes you to your room and shows you around. We had an ocean view first floor room which was very nice. Not a long walk to the beach or the Great House and gym. The only bad thing I will say about the rooms is that there is zero sound proofing--you will hear everything being said in the next room and hear all the walking above you.
There are 3 pools which all looked beautiful, but we went to the beach everyday--it's the carribbean!!--you can swim in a pool at home! You can snorkel right there with tons of shells to collect.
All of the restaurants are amazing!!! We ate at Mango's twice, Coral Grill, The Library Bar, and the Cabana Bar. All of the food and service was great and I didn't feel the wait times were that long at all. By far the best thing was the amazing breakfast buffet!!! There is no need to look elsewhere for breakfast---the buffet has a hundred fabulous items everyday. You could eat there everyday for a week and have something different each day.
We went to the library bar before dinner every night and had drinks, they also bring you chips and spiced nuts with your drinks.
The concierge will literally help you with anything (Leon and Melissa were excellent). This is the fifth island we have been to, and I must say that Nevisians are the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the great house so you don't have to walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed at the Four Season and everything was as expected perfect. If you are looking for paradise and a restful quiet vacation - you have found your place. We had no mishaps at the airport, literally walked right through with our group of 8. From the time we stepped off the boat onto the FS property everything was great. the staff at FS was beyond polite and tended to our every wish. The food was good, and service wonderful. Roxanne at the pools kept us happy and smiling the entire time. Nothing moves quickly as far as food service - its not a fast food restaurant. We didn't mind the wait as we had no whining kids. We visited Montpeliers for a great dinner off site more than worth the drive to get there.. If your looking for the best taxi driver someone who can show you the island ask at the FS for Hilary - she is hands down the best. She can tell you where to go what to see and exactly where to eat.
The food and drink are pricey - your on an island at the FS, Costa Rica was exactly the same price point. I think its expected. come prepared and no surprises. Would love to mention the housekeeping staff - everything was done quietly perfectly we rarely saw them - they appeared and disappeared while we were out. Our room was spotless. We stayed on the second floor building 6 and loved our views. we sat on the porch and it was perfect. Not much of a night life.. this is not party central but the Killer Bees (a drink) at SUnshine just a short walk past the adult pool is worth a visit. DOn't forget to pack sunscreen - you will need it - very powerful sun and its pricey in the gift shop. The locals are kind polite and helpful. We took a walk one day in the search of moneys and many people stopped to see if we needed help. We hired a boat to go snorkeling. Lennox was the CAPTAIN, ask at the desk for him) he runs a great ship saw tons of fish while snorkling really a 3 hour tour is all you need. We took the medium boat for 14 of us. (remember hats and sunsscreen) Visit Mango's food is great! Try the ribs and the Chocolate Mousse for dessert.
We can't wait to go back - we were well rested happy and thrilled to discover this little island and another FS resort.

Room Tip: we loved the second floor ocean front. Building 6 Indian Castle --Worth the $$ for the views and dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Granted, it was a bit tough getting through immigration at St Kitts, and we didn't like having to wait in a van, and again on the boat until all passengers arrived ($195 each way for family of 3). But once we arrived at the resort, we were greeted and advised that our room was upgraded to Ocean Front. Nice Touch. We thought the facilities were very nice, the staff could not have been nicer to us (we tip well FYI) - and when one mistake was made, a manager made it right, immediately - who could ask for more. We ate at Mangos the first night, and the off properly for the other nights. Drinks and Food served to us at the beach, although expensive, were well prepared. I must say, we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We visited the Four Seasons property on Nevis last week and were relieved when our plane left the island. We had been to this hotel twice in the past and enjoyed ourselves very much, however, this time we encountered a different experience.
Upon landing in St Kitts, we were harassesed along with our fellow travelers for over an hour by over zealous and hostile immigration personnel. Everyone was complaining and we had never experienced anything like this in the islands. It was enough to begin to dread leaving which we did. We later learned that people who are frequent travelers to Nevis try to bypass St Kitts and land on Nevis so as to avoid the unpleasant and lengthy procedure.
Once we were through customs we were told some fellow guests did not have their luggage and we had to wait. At this point we had been transported to the boat which would take us to the hotel. We waited on the boat for one hour with no attempt made to apologize or explain. As it turned out, the couples golf clubs were missing. A good manager would have made the executive decision to take the guests to the hotel after their long journey and recover the golf clubs later.
This was the theme of our trip: lack of clear management.
Positive points of resort:
Lovely villa
Very professional manicurist in spa
Beautiful sunsets
Great golf course

Negative points:

Hugely expensive
Many errors made by staff in advance provisioning
Quite a few staff were uncaring and hostile
Grounds of hotel have really gone downhill
The beach was black sand and the water was a dark grayish
Beach attendant was hostile until tipped
The service charge and tax added to your bill will increase it by one third !Be prepared.
We never had a completely delicious meal in any restaurant. The fish was fresh and only average as it was very heavily sauced.sometimes the wait staff were lovely to us, and at other times it was difficult to find them.
When we checked out and found the original boat trip from St Kitts on our bill, my friend complained, and the manager removed it but it wasn't enough to change our impression of a resort whose time was over.
We went through the same, slighly frightening and lengthy procedure at customs on St Kitts making us vow never to return to this island.

Room Tip: The villas are the best bet if you are willing to pay for them the hotel rooms are not as nice as pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful spring break in Nevis! This property would compare with the Four Seasons Costa Rica and Hualalai for a great family based vacation. Rooms here are a bit simplier without the outdoor shower options (remember this resort was built 20 years ago but has just come off an extensive upgrade of all rooms and facilities)

Flight options into St Kitts will force you to take transfer to ferry that drops you off at resort’s private dock that can add up to 2 hrs to your arrival vs. if you fly via San Juan into Nevis, it’s a short taxi ride to resort.

Once there, you forget all the hassles of getting there! The rooms are all recently updated and comfortably sized. We had room 422 located on 2nd floor with a wonderful large balcony. All the one bedroom rooms are the same- the only difference is the location throughout the resort. I cannot see any main reason for paying a high premium for oceanfront vs view as all the rooms are the same. Complimentary Wifi around resort is sufficient for emails, general web surfing. Each cluster of rooms has it’s own complimentary laundrywasher/dryer which is great for those travelling with kids.

The choice of 3 pools was great with one reserved for adults only. Dining options were surprisingly good. I usually expect “island good” when travelling to the Carribbean- these restaurants were quite good. Neve’s breakfast ala carte and buffet were exceptional and their Italian dinner menu was quite good. One of the best tagliatelle bolognese I’ve had in DC or NYC and their pizzas are wonderful.

The Coral Grill was elegant yet relaxed with an emphasis on steakhouse fare and Mango’s was their modern relaxed island menu option. All three have excellent service and good selections that we were not bored over our 8 nights in choosing what to eat!

The front desk and concierge staff are attentive and respond quickly to any inquiry.

They had a variety of daily activities for kids and kids menus were well done.

Those who frequent to similar resort properties will feel quite comfortable here as it is comparable to other FS resorts in pricing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies

Address: Pinney's Beach | P.O. Box 565, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little-known wonder in the Caribbean: Nevis, sister island to St. Kitts in the tradewind-kissed Leeward Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Hotel Charlestown
Four Seasons Hotel Charlestown
Four Seasons Charlestown
Four Season Nevis
Charlestown Four Seasons
4 Seasons Nevis
Four Season Hotel Nevis
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.