We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pinney's Beach | P.O. Box 565, Charlestown, Nevis   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fifth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Breathtaking views.
Gorgeous beach!
Off the charts service!
Wonderful food.
Variety of activities from golf, to hikes, to beach/water sports etc.
Paradise!!!!

Ask for Hillary - a phenomenal taxi driver - to take you on a tour of the island to include lunch up the mountain at Golden Rock. Hillary is great and so are the views and food at Golden Rock!!!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    109
    41
    19
    3
See reviews for
181
345
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Nevis is a quiet, mini version of Hawaii.

The restuarants were all amazing and different. Overall, the resort is not too busy and has great recreational activities available. it is a perfect family destination.

The only mild disappointment was that we found the rooms a little plain, but they were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Upon returning from Nevis this past June, I did not post this review as I thought that although we had a good vacation, some of the shortcomings we experienced may have been the exception and possibly the hotel needed some more time operating after its re-opening to work out some kinks. Upon reading some recent reviews, it seems that service issues remain.

There are many wonderful things about the FS Nevis, and had we not compared this vacation to our experiences at FS in Costa Rica and Hualalai in Kona, this would likely be a different review. The fact that the hotel had been open less than a year since the rebuilding after the hurricane was a positive as far as the physical facility – everything is pristine, but is also likely the reason why we experienced less than flawless service and pampering compared to our previous FS vacations.

It is definitely worth taking the hotel transfer option from the St. Kitts airport to Nevis. The meet and greet, transfer from the airport to the boat, and boat ride to Nevis were a nice way to begin the vacation. The next time you will see your luggage after turning it over to FS at the airport is when it is delivered to your room.

The hotel setting and landscaping are beautiful, and most hotel staff throughout the stay lived up to the FS reputation of friendly, professional service.

There are 4 types of room accommodations – 1st or 2nd floor views on the ocean side or golf course/mountain side of the property. Mountainside and ocean side rooms are ground floor views of the mountain or ocean. Mountain view and ocean view rooms are 2nd floor views of the mountain or ocean. We had reserved a mountain view room (2nd fl.) and hoped for an American Express platinum category upgrade to ocean side (1st fl.), however, it appeared that the ground floor ocean side rooms had very limited views of the ocean (and not as much privacy) and we decided to stick with the beautiful golf course and mountain view we had reserved. If you don’t want to spend the bucks for a 2nd floor ocean view room for unobstructed ocean views, definitely go with the mountainside or mountain view accommodation. The rooms themselves were very nice, decent size, Caribbean decor, but no "wow" factor.

The restaurants were all good – none outstanding, and possibly because of it being off season, you need to carefully plan where you want to eat for dinner as only two of the restaurants are open each night. Coral Grill was the pricier, fine dining option with very good food and professional service. Mangoes was more casual, with a rather limited menu. Cascades is lunch only, and also rather limited. The breakfast buffet at Nevis was good, with the usual stateside selections – some local flavor would have been a nice addition. In general, due to the limited number of open restaurants and some menu limitations, we decided to order room service where the menu was extensive (it included many of the options from the various restaurants) and the room service itself was excellent.

It was all the little service misses that, when compared to our other FS vacations, would place Nevis in the “nice to try once” category. Certainly not on the list of "can't wait to go back".

The often-mentioned pool and beach amenities/service that make a FS vacation so special were almost non-existent. Maybe we had an off week. Ice water was plentiful, and that was about it. During the 5 full days we were there, there was cold towel service two days, macaroons served once, and a sorbet sample provided toward the end of one day. One morning we awoke to find that the coffee had not been replenished for the coffee maker, and another day there was coffee, but no sugar. During evening turndown service, shampoo wasn’t replaced so there was none in the morning. $22 hamburgers and fries were delivered by the cabana attendant who forgot to bring ketchup and twice forgot to deliver requested drinks. Our room was next to a service area and piles of dirty towels/linens would remain in a pile outside the service door throughout the day. Our server at Mangoes one evening was downright surly.

Most staff lived up to FS standards of service, but that's expected at a FS. It's the few that don't measure up that leave a less than perfect impression and that's indicative of management not paying attention to detail and training.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've stayed at other luxury properties in the carribean and came to the four seasons with high expectations based on their reputation. We were not disappointed and found the FS Nevis to be one of our most enjoyable resort experiences anywhere and certainly the best in the Carribean we have experienced.

Highlights:
The staff was incredibly friendly, creating a warmer and more personal experience than many resorts. We were travelling with a small child (<1 year old) and the staff made every effort to make sure we and our baby enjoyed our time at FS Nevis.

The airport transfer on the FS ferry was the smoothest arrival we have experienced anywhere, with basically no stress or hassle from the moment we passed passport control through the moment we were in our room and relaxing.

The quality and variety of the food was excellent. There were many dinner options available and although lunch was more centralized the variety of the menu was great and there was a good daily special each day in addition to the regular menu - we had no problem eating at the resort for our week-long visit and could have happily dined there several more days without feeling repetitious. The quality of ingredients and cooking were superb.

The property itself is gorgeous and the on-site watersports activities are great fun and the watersports staff is great. The spa and sporting facilities were also very good.

Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. Maybe not as nice as a 5 star room in a major city but very nice for the carribean.

(Slight) issues:

Although the restaurants were excellent they were also somewhat hard to book - we were able to get a table every night but not always at our preferred time. Booking in advance of your visit may be advised if you want to lock in preferred dining times each night.

The staff as a general rule were wonderful, but there were some hiccups. The main area with a gap in service is the beach, where we found it hard to get the attention of the beach attendant (who was often missing). The beachside service was not great (hard to get beverages/food, beach area not always cleaned up from lunch service). It seemed better to arrive at the beach early before most others if you wanted attentive service and set-up.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good with kids but you need a 2nd floor room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

First of all, I would like to say that my family and I are regular Four Seasons clients, as we have stayed at over a dozen of their hotels world wide (absolutely not bragging; but making a point so you may appreciate my critique). We make a point of seeking FS properties whenever possible as we are very loyal customers due to the great, repeated experiences we've had everywhere.

The Nevis FS is gorgeous! The people/staff are very friendly, always warm and smiling and ultra helpful. The facilities are fantastic (pools, golf course, gym, spa, tennis courts, grounds, beach, etc.).

The service however is not up the usual FS level, I'm sorry but it simply is not. Let me explain. The vast majority of staff are directly from Nevis, for which FS is to be complimented/praised. However, their level of training/delivery is no where near the usual FS experience. I can say this with all confidence and without prejudice, having stayed at many other FS properties.

My biggest issue however, is one of food choice availability. There are four beautiful restaurants on the property - but they are never opened all at once. Dinner is a lesser issue as you have at least two and usually three choices to choose from not counting room service.

Lunch choices are however completely unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber and price point. My family and I were at this resort for eight days and had to eat at the same restaurant all week, unless we chose to hire a cab or car to and fro, to some other very scarce hotel/restaurant. The lunch menu never changed - with the exception of a salad buffet one day (which we were never told of by our server and only noticed after we had ordered). There were also to other days when a daily special was offered for example "paella". After more than three or four days, the lunch menu gets to be very repetitive and lets face it mundane/old.

The hotel was at 60% capacity (optimistic % in my opinion) as were told repeatedly by staff and thus, I believe/know the hotel was cutting back on staff to upset the lower revenues coming in. This was practically confirmed when one of our fine "turn down" staff, out right asked us to ask for her by name for the next night's turn down so that she would be called in to work.......... absolute truth!!!

If Four Seasons wants to charge their usual high prices, then they MUST provide the same level of service world wide. When paying $1500 a night for a room/suite, I do not care if it is in Nevis, London, Los Angeles or NYC, it should assure you of a certain "level" of service, experience and choices. I have personally stayed at these named destinations and received the usual FS level of service.

I really do not want to discourage anyone from going to Nevis. The FS property is again gorgeous, but I want others to know that what I had read in previous reviews is the truth.

As beautiful as this property is - it is NOT yet at the usual FS level, and if this is going to be the case then I respectfully suggest the hotel rates reflect this "different" level of service and options...... For example the FS in Vancouver was very cheap a few years ago due to the age of its building, same in Toronto - service was FS but the accommodations were "dated' and prices reflected such.

Loved the island and its people and we will likely be back but with "re-adjusted' expectations...... Submitted in total honesty for your info.

Room Tip: Second floor for ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Nothing but praise for this gorgeous, relaxing, romantic but kid friendly piece of paradise. I think one would have to be a bit precious to find fault. Rooms were spotless, meals were delicious and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Weather was perfect too!! Can't say enough great things. Worth every hard earned cent.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We traveled to the Four Seasons in late February for a 4-night babymoon / anniversary trip. The entire stay was very enjoyable in all respects. I received a lot of assistance in planning a memorable trip from the local Guest Services Manager, Mr. Fabian Lim. I recommend contacting Fabian ahead of your trip and let him know what you are looking for as he will take care of all the arrangements. We found the room, pools, spa, beach and food quality to all be superb and on par with what you would expect from a Four Seasons resort. The pricing is also what you would expect from a FS resort. We rented a beach bungalow for the last full day we were on the island and I would highly recommend this as it provides you with a beach front retreat and great service all day. The beach sand is very soft and the water is warm so we spent more time in the water than usual. Overall, I highly recommend this resort if you are visiting St. Kitts and Nevis or any other island in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Since you will be spending most your day by the beach or pool, I recommend the hillside view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies

Address: Pinney's Beach | P.O. Box 565, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover a little-known wonder in the Caribbean: Nevis, sister island to St. Kitts in the tradewind-kissed Leeward Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Hotel Charlestown
Four Seasons Hotel Charlestown
Four Seasons Charlestown
Four Season Nevis
Charlestown Four Seasons
4 Seasons Nevis
Four Season Hotel Nevis
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.