We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but service...not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Double Deuce

Double Deuce
Pinney's Beach | Near two other beach bar/restaurants: "Lime" and "Sunshine's", Charlestown, Nevis
(869) 469-2222‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Charlestown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, but service...not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Whenever I come to Nevis, everyone says that I have to try Double Deuces for their hamburgers. I finally went on this trip, and they were great as anticipated. BUT, out of my 6 friends who wanted burgers, I was the only one that got one because they didn't have any more left! My friends say that's pretty standard. Also, when we went to pay, water was the same price as carbonated drinks! Thought that was kind of odd. The chef was amazing in his personality and in cooking. The waitress was very....interesting. Never EVER ask her if you can do take out!! Other than that, the food and the experience was great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Indiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food and island experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed on Nevis for a week and ate at Double Deuce once. We tried the shrimp and the catch of the day (Grouper) and were pleased with our meals. You usually get island rice and salad/cole slaw with your meals. Their rum punch (a stinger?) was average and the prices were on the high average side for the island. Although our experience was pleasant, I did not consider it a highlight of our trip. Service was friendly.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Double Deuce hidden away from the road so unless you've heard about it you wouldn't know. You walk over an unstable wooden bridge to get to the restaurant. The restaurant itself has a relaxed atmosphere and a simple setting. The food is good and comes in generous portions. The service is slow much like every other restaurant on the island and when the kitchen gets backed up they stop taking orders till they catch up so the wait is sometimes long. Beware that they do run of out of menu items about 1 1/2 hrs into the dinner service so it's best to go earlier rather than later. The prices are average for the island. They only accept cash. Thursday nights are karaoke so it's their busiest night. If you're looking for a quiet dinner avoid it on Thursday nights.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Child sleeping in bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The ribs are good and it is a fun bar but a small child (owners grandchild?) sleeps in the bar area and he is a nuisance and it is just wrong!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

By far, our favorite place to go. Setting is perfect, the folks are friendly and welcoming. Remembered us after our last visit in '08!
Love to chat with everyone there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Deuce also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Double Deuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Deuce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.