We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing nothing has never been so delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Plantation Inn

Save Saved
You added The Hermitage Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Plantation Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Doing nothing has never been so delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We arrived in Nevis on the ferry from St. Kitts, and found a taxi to take us to the Hermitage. Three days later, we left, clutching a rum punch, on the top deck of the hotel's own boat, being chauffeured by the owner to our waiting taxi at the tip of St Kitt's.

The Hermitage is a truly family-run Nevis institution, the rooms in restored or replica local chattel houses set in the gardens of the Great House, which just happens to be the oldest wooden building in the Caribbean. Our trip was out of season, with the result that much of Nevis was shut, and most of the time we were the only guests. This mattered not a jot, as (1) we would have been quite happy to go no further than the horses' paddock up the road (we did manage an island tour though!);and (2) with the friendly staff, the welcoming owners, their attentive pet (Harry the beagle) and an assorted selection of their friends and family (of various degrees of eccentricity), there was plenty of company.

The Hermitage is not the place to go if you want air-conditioning, kids' clubs, or the trappings of conventional "luxury" hotels. However a great deal of thought has gone into making guests comfortable. For instance, my husband, generally a sumptuous fork buffet for the local biting insects, was delighted to find our deck at the back of our cottage was mosquito-proofed with netting. The food is excellent, with a lot of ingredients sourced locally (no mean feat on an island the size of Nevis) - you can see some of the herbs and vegetables growing in the garden. Although the property is hardly huge, days passed all too quickly. There is a library, with an eclectic range of books left over the years by guests. I taught myself page one of the Grade 1 piano course, in the 17th century living room (I put the fact that I was unable to get further down to the fact that middle B was broken. Honestly. Let's face it, it was lucky we were the only guests...). We walked up the road and imagined which house we'd buy. After a couple of rum punches, even that felt a bit excessive. We chatted to the lizards, and Harry. And, quite frankly, we didn't feel the need to do much else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We visited Nevis and had the pleasure of staying at The Hermitage Plantation Inn. We stayed in the Blue House which was lovely and steps away from the restaurant. Our House was beautifully outfitted in antique furnishings and artwork. We had heard horror stories about mosquitos on the island but our bed had mosquito netting and we dabbed ourselves in peppermint oil and were not bothered by the wee beasts. Although it was hot, the ceiling fan provided a wonderful breeze and we slept well.
The owner, Richard, was most gracious and the staff were all friendly and helpful. They arranged our travel from St Kitts to the Hermitage because we missed the last ferry, which was a wonderful way to de-stress our trip. The food was wonderful and fresh, and the pig roast is not to be missed. We felt like part of the family during our visit and highly recommend the Hermitage to anyone seeking a quiet retreat. The Hermitage is not on the beach, so we advise renting a car to have a way to get around on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were greeted by the friendly resident dog "Harry" the beagle when we arrived. When we got to our room, we weren't too sure how we felt about it originally. There is no air conditioning, but the breeze is so beautiful, you quickly realized you don't need it. The view from our veranda was so breathtaking. The room is decorated in a colonial setting, along with a roll top desk and four poster bed complete with mosquito net. The Hermitage is set right in a mountain. You see the mist on the peak of Mt. Nevis all the time and it is so close you feel like you can touch it. There are mango trees everywhere and whenever we felt the urge, we would pick one up and eat it. It was amazing! There are beautiful flowers and natural trees growing all around. They are not something that was landscaped in. The landscape is all natural. The owner Rich Lupinacci, is an American originally from Philly, PA. He could not have been any nicer to us. He asked us twice if we would like to go the beach, and set up a time to take us. We got into his Land Rover and took a bumpy ride to the beaches he reccomended for us. We enjoyed them to much. My husband and I chose not to take our children on this trip, (boy 15, girl 12) thinking they would be bored, and I think it was the right decision. It is a very relaxing vacation, more suited for couples. The Hermitage is more like a Bed and Breakfast, than a hotel. After spending 5 days there, we went over to the Marriott on St. Kitts, which is a ferry ride away. We were not prepared for how much we would miss staying at the Hermitage. We had to re-adjust ourselves to the big-business aspect of the Marriott. More hussle, bustle. Although it was a beautiful hotel, it lacked the small intimate qualities that only the Heritage could give you. Let me also mention the delicious coconut french toast. My husband is missing it so much now that we are home! The food at the Hermitage,and all through Nevis is all so fresh. You don't have to worry about the water or getting sick on anything. Everything is locally grown and it taste like it. Just delicious!! If you stay at the Hermitage, you can enjoy the clatter of the Green Vervet Monkey which you see in the morning and around dusk. They swing through the trees and they are fun to watch! They like to eat the mangoes as well, so bring your camera! They have a small pool and it was so peaceful there. I would highly recommend The Hermitage. If you want a quiet ,intimate, relaxing vacation, then this is the place for you. If you want a big fancy hotel with lots of guests and people waiting on you and crummy food, stay at the Marriiott.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Being a very well traveler throughout the Carribean, I booked a trip to Nevis (an island that I had not been to before). This vacation was to celebrate my 1st wedding anniversary. After looking at the website for The Hermitage Plantation Inn, I booked our stay based on the attractive photos. After we arrived, we were shocked to see the accommodations. They were cabin like rooms in very mediocre condition. Sleeping was virtually impossible. The beds had nets to keep out the bugs but they didn't work. Each night my husband would be on mosquito patrol. He would lay in bed with a flash light in hand trying to catch the nagging insects that left welts all over his legs and feet. To make matters worse, there was no airconditioning in the rooms. There was a ceiling fan however, there was absolutely no breeze since you were sleeping under a net. The temperature in the cabin was approximately 85 degrees at night. These bad sleeping conditions took away any chance of romance when back in the room at night. I almost forgot to mention the rooster who would start his cock-a-doodle-doing at about 3 AM each day.

The food was passable but not memorable. The Inn is quite a distance from any beach so you need to rely on the owners family to shuttle you to and from the beach. They were actually very nice about that.

All in all, the island of Nevis does not have that much to offer. The beaches are just ok and the backdrop is not special. It's an island that takes 2 planes to get to. My feelings are if you are traveling all day to arrive at your final destination, it should be pretty terrific once you are there. Unfortunately, this was not !!!!

Room Tip: Stay at The Four Seasons if your heart is set on Nevis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I've been meaning to write a review for a while. My fiancé and I spent a week at the Hermitage in in the Treetops Up cottage. The greeting we received was warm, friendly and personal-- the owner, Richie, is around to mix you a delicous (and heady) punch or to tell you about the history of the place.

The great house of the Hermitage is worth the trip alone-- it is one of the oldest wooden structures in the Caribbean and is charmingly decorated --- it's featured in several coffee table books about the region.

The food we had there, particularly the weekly pig roast, was delicious and authentic. It's priced in the range of all the restaurants on Nevis (it's a tiny island, so yes it's a bit expensive! Relax, you're on vacation...)

So, the rooms: we were delighted by the huge four-poster bed, the privacy of a stand-alone cottage and the veranda equipped with a hammock for lounging. It is worth noting that for those of you who are a bit fussier, the bathrooms haven't been updated for a few years and the location of the Hermitage right on the edge of the (very beautiful) rainforest is conducive to insects of various kinds making their way in and out of our cottage (there is a mosquito net around the four poster bed, we slept safe and sound) .

Hands down, I would stay at the Hermitage over the Four Seasons or other island properties--- this place has personality. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Arriving at Hermitage Plantation Inn on a Wednesday for dinner is akin to surprising Grandma on Thanksgiving; as long as Grandma was a great cook. Wednesday is indeed Pig Roast night at Hermitage and the spread is the Islands best meal. Served in the great house, the oldest in the Caribbean, a giant home grown suckling pig has been slowly roasting all day awaiting your arrival. The table has several mysterious and local grains as well as pasta and beet & feta salad and fried thingies- Johnny Cakes, Rabbit stew everything!. How did we get here?

The choice of where to go on Nevis is pretty easy if you want the feeling of owning your own house while being able to troupe down the hill to the pool or to the dining area. It's the best of both worlds at Hermitage. The White House (our unit) was removed and above the rest just the way we like it. We had own own porch as most units do and sitting chairs and kitchen area begging to be used with slide open doors... were one to want to cook on vacation this is an amazing unit. Of course we like to eat out every night. Choosing a laid back hotel that has the food side down pat is a big part of the choosing process for us. A hotel that uses their own gardens and raises their own pigs and is decidedly children friendly.... well good luck finding that in the unspoiled Caribbean! We have at Hermitage!

Seven Things No one Will tell You About Nevis.

1- The Island is hurting. 4 Seasons was closed for two years after being flooded by a minor hurricane way out at sea. They were told by the Gov not to build where they did (7 feet under the sea table) but they went ahead anyway. The closure has hurt the beach bars and the rest of the tourist trade. Things are slowly grinding back up on Nevis but questions remain.
2- During this lull in economic activity now would be a good time to buy property on Nevis, the hot rumor on island is that the Giant luxury chain Aman Resorts has been in discussions and indeed agreed in principle to develop Race Track Beach, alas, my favorite. This beach also called Windward has some nice waves!!! But the hotel will damn them up out to sea... 200 palm trees have been ordered-- so it's happening. Mixed feelings here as the thrill of driving down the long road to racetrack past the old churches and into the real world of Nevis past the stables and thrust out onto a perfect beach, where if you're so inclined you just keep driving your vehicle right on it... (I chicken out.) Here at Race Track the water is so pure, kicked up by the Atlantic- that no garbage litters the shore despite the fact that the beach is not looked after in any way... this is truly insiders Nevis. However a powerful Resort with a history of being Eco friendly is just what Nevis needs to balance the 4 seasons and employ more islanders. It must be done.
3-All beaches are free on Nevis but the 4 seasons won't let you use their chairs. Fair enough I guess, it's a lot more fun at Sunshines just down the beach where the drinks are all reasonable and in EC and Smokie will take care of you real nice as you lay about in your own chair and umbrella.
4- You'll notice a lot of palm trees sadly lopped off at the top in a clean cut. They'll spin you a tail of Hugo or something but the truth is the 4 seasons imported some palms with a disease. It's unfortunate, these are such important trees, especially at the great new Restaurant Coconut Palm! Ah, here the Rum punch is oh so strong. Strongest for sure on the island if the owner makes it. The food is strong too, kicked into high culinary gear by a great chef from some cooking school.. the setting is sublime right on the water. The wine list intense and the best on the island.
5- The best food on the beach is at LYMES. Tucked in behind Chevy's and near Sunshines. Here you get a cool peppermint towel to start and some salted chips to replenish and some really good grub. Skip the burger and go Lobster wrap or Ribbs which are Great! The owner is the long time head seater at Nisbet and a gracious host.
6- Oualie beach is the great kids beach on Nevis, it's shallows stretch out for ages but you burn there bad, it's the hottest beach as the wind never reaches around the corner to hit you... Down on Pinney's the breeze is always great... but you still burn.
6- April on Nevis oddly enough is hotter than mid summer! The directness of the sun's overhead placement as it marches North will really fry you even on a cloudy day.
7- Coca Cola on Nevis is bottled in St Kits I assume with rain water and is sweetened with blessed sugar... I'll never understand why Coke insists on Corn Syrup for us Americans it tastes sooooo much better this way and of course nothing beats a cold Coke down in The Caribbean.

- Make sure you hit Golden Rock for dinner! That's a trip. Great food.
- It is not unusual to drink 2 or three rum punches in a day on Nevis. The one's at Hermitage are filthy good; With local spice thrown in, they have an intoxicating richness. Gallipot for lunch puts a nice red juice fruit twist to the whole Rum Punch affair. Gallipot is located near Oualie and has the islands freshest fish. A must go.

Now having completed my third trip to Nevis, two much earlier in life, I'm glad to be able to say NOTHING HAS CHANGED ON NEVIS... it's still a postcard paradise of olden times and every time for me the feeling on island is of wanting to stay there more, of wanting to actually somehow live there...With a kid just starting the school system in NY I know that won't happen and it pains the soul... life is very sweet and slow on Nevis.

The wild monkeys of Nevis descend the hills of Mt Nevis and into Hermitage Estate in the late afternoon. First the scout scampers along and rears up on his hind legs. Then the all clear is given and the big male lopes across the lawn, to return shortly with something he's stolen from the food area. Looks like a mango. Sitting on the deck of our little house in Nevis, plopped up on the hill watching all of this unfold well onto our second fabulous rum punch, it was hard to believe we also have a life staring at buildings in new York City.

The direct flight into St Kitts from JFK has most likely made Nevis my go to Island from here on out. - B.A. Hinds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

So, we went to Nevis for the day. Stopped by the tourist office. One of the stops recommended was this Inn. We decided to go for lunch. We were given a tour and sat with the owner and chatted. Met other guests (sadly missed one of my rock heroes WHO happened to be staying, but I'm sure he did not want to be bothered, though I won't be fooled again). Lunch was excellent and good value. The property was excellent. Nice small pool, monkey stealing tomatoes from the garden was the children's highlight. We will be back. Rooms were apartments scattered around the properties garden giving great privacy and a feeling of relaxation. Humming birds and other wildlife all around. Great!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hermitage Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Plantation Inn

Address: Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hermitage Plantation Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage is a small plantation inn with an excellent reputation for its charm and warm, West Indian hospitality. The guest rooms are like gingerbread cottages and are styled after the old Planter’s house with a tradition of elegant West Indian style, antiques, mahogany four poster canopy beds, and private verandahs, with swaying hammocks, in an orchard like setting of mango trees and tropical plants. The Hermitage offers tranquility and serenity in its peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Hermitage Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Plantation Hotel Nevis
The Hermitage Plantation Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.