We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate resort, beautiful view and excellent cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Save Saved
You added Montpelier Plantation & Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pond Hill, Montpelier Estates | P. O. Box 474, Charlestown, Nevis   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Charlestown
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Intimate resort, beautiful view and excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Highly recommended. We spent a wonderful week at Montpelier Plantation in January of 2013. Incredible experience and we would go back in a heartbeat. Like almost all the resorts on Nevis this little dose of heaven is a converted sugar plantation with bungalow style rooms located high (690') up the hillside. The southerly views of the foliage and the sea are stunning. The feel is very intimate and serene. The attentive staff, who easily outnumber the rooms, were excellent across the board - friendly, genuine, and very good at their respective jobs.
The bars open when a guest arrives and close when the last one leaves. Each of the three restaurants has a unique feel, and the dining and all of them was excellent. I do not know how they accomplish this with a resort that has fewer than 35 guests at full capacity, but I am grateful for it.
The plantation's beach property is about 10 minutes away by car, and is lovely in its own right. We enjoyed a couple of afternoons there and also enjoyed exploring the other beaches on Nevis, most of which we had to ourselves.
Nevis is a very vertical island, and the foiliage is impressive. We really enjoyed the hike up Saddle Hill, and also took another hike inland into the rain forest that was good for a sweat but limited on scenery. We opted out, but one can hire a guide to hike to the peak of Mt. Nevis, which is a half day adventure at least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    22
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
108
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a beautiful old house elegantly furnished but with a modern pool bar and lunch restaurant called Indigo. It is nice to while away the afternoon with lunch or make the effort and go out in the evening for that special meal on the veranda of the main house. Even better there is an old sugar mill for private dining. Beautiful pool but did not see the hotel rooms but as the hotel is a Relais & Chateau hotel they should be good. There is a fabulous tree right at the entrance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lattingtown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I just returned from this special gem of a travel destination. Will return for sure. Muffin, the owner, along with her family have mastered the art of turning out excellence............. The entire,plentiful staff is amazing. So courteous, and congenial. The food is amazing, the environs gorgeous. I stayed in rm 10 a perfectly private and idyllic setting overlooking a deep valley and the water. A hammock is nearby and should be enjoyed. I just love this hotel and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 10 is so private with an outstanding sweeping view of fauna and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visited the Montpelier Plantation during the first week of July for our belated honeymoon.
I can't even express how much of an amazing time we had while there. Everything was absolutely perfect! The room, the staff, the food!! We have never had quite an experience like this before.

ARRIVAL-
When we arrived we were given a tour of the beautiful grounds and a delicious rum punch. We stayed in the most amazing room (16). There was champagne and exotic flowers and a note from the manager awaiting us when we got to our room which over looked the hillside and fruit trees. Every morning we would wake up to monkey's stealing the mango's off the trees and humming birds drinking the nectar from the flowers in front of our room. It was so peaceful.

ACTIVITIES-
With the help of the staff, we had all of our activities arranged for us. We climbed Nevis Peak, went horseback riding on the beach, rented an ATV and took a gorgeous drive around the island. Also they arranged a taxi so we could venture out for a night on the town at Chevy's and Sunshine’s. We were even told how to hike down to the ruins that you can see off the
back of the property.

BEACH-
The private beach is really nice, Be sure to grab a towel from the pool area before you go. I think the shuttle leaves around 10:30 and comes back around 3 or 4. We happened to be the only couple there and one other guest came with us, so we had this piece of heaven all to ourselves. I highly recommend you have the kitchen pack you a lunch. It was well worth it!! The beach has everything you need, chairs, covered cabanas, a covered bar area, bathrooms and a shower. The bartender was on it and make sure he kept the ice water and rum punches coming.

BREAKFAST-
Every morning we would have breakfast at the plantation. You can order anything you want from the kitchen. There is fresh exotic fruit and an assortment of fresh baked breads (Danishes, croissants, coconut bread) daily (SO GOOD) They have a selection of jellies, honey and lemon curd that they make there at the plantation. I highly recommend you buy a couple of jars to take back with you as gifts. I did, but I ended up keeping the passion fruit jelly for myself. (I have to mention this) The morning that we were leaving, I asked if they had any of the passion fruit jelly for sale. They were out so they made a fresh batch for me before I left. IT WAS STILL HOT!! That is how amazing the staff is here!

DINNER-
The restaurant they have here is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! We had intentions of going
off the plantation for dinner a couple nights. But we had dinner here the first night, and couldn't
wait to see what was on the menu the next nights we were there. Everything we had was so good. You can have the complete menu which I believe was 4 courses or you can pick and choose. One night they had a Sushi buffet. The chef they have has some amazing culinary skills. I don't think we ate one thing we didn't think was delicious the whole time we were there.

SPA-
We had a couple's massage which was very relaxing and the perfect way to help your
sore muscles if you’re brave enough to hike Nevis peak.

I have to say that the staff were very polite and friendly and always were helpful. Jackie at the front desk was so friendly and helpful and made our stay extra special. Every morning we would go to breakfast, and come back to our room afterwards and it was made up and cleaned. Every night we would go to dinner, we would come back to our room turned down. THEY WERE ON IT! OH and be sure to throw the tennis ball for Ziggy the adorable Labrador!!

WE LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hidden gem of a hotel on Nevis for years. The owners and staff are an absolute delight to be around adn the rooms are very nice also. The separate cottage located slightly off the main plantation site is my favourite, being secluded and having a separate living room with full kitchen. You are however unlikely to ever need or want to use the kitchen, since the Montpelier restaurant serves exceptional food - a given for Relais and Chateau endorsed hotels - with a menu that changes daily. The hotel is within walking distance of the Botanical Gardens, and a shuttle service operates to a beach that is exclusively reserved for hotel guests. A great place to totally relax on an island that has not been spolit by giant american hotels and cruiseliners.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for the cottage-.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just stayed here due to the Relaix & Chateau affiliation. There's a lot to like: the breezes are incredible: the grounds are pretty; the great room and old mill dining experience are very beautiful; the pool and private beach are quiet, which is nice if you're looking to get away; also, much of the staff is excellent.
All that said, we left very disappointed. While our room had a nice view of the sea, it was pretty tired. The shutter on a bathroom window was broken, letting the a/c out and lots of bugs in. Even worse, the sink didn't drain. Every time you brushed your teeth or shaved, you had to stick your hand in the backed-up water to jiggle the drain plug. I complained about these issues to the maid and to reception, but nothing got fixed. Beyond that, the hotel was very bad about following up on what was included in our package, specifically the full breakfast and afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Having stayed also at Four Seasons Nevis right before moving on to Montpelier, my wife and I immediately noticed a very different flair when we stepped into this historical plantation estate - rustic and low-key but also more intimate and romantic as oppose to the corporate mainstream luxurious comfort of the Four Seasons.

Instead of welcomed by a uniformed staff lined up on golf carts, we were greeted personally by the overly-enthused family dog of Montpelier (forgot her name). Since we were arriving before regular check-in time and our room was not ready, the manager Valerie quickly showed us to the pool-side lounge for a welcome drink (the famed local Rum Punch of course) and relaxing a little bit. We were the only guests there at the time and it was so peaceful and tranquil that we actually took a nap under the gentle sound of the freeze and the trees. We also ordered a club sandwich for lunch.

We got complimentary upgraded from Premier to Plantation room per our special package. The room was nice with a 4-post bed and a spacious bathroom. It was equipped with a mini-bar, a key operated safe and a very old electric kettle. Nothing luxurious and no TV but that's probably what you would want from a plantation inn.

Our room package included full breakfast, afternoon tea with cakes/scones and dinner (for one guest) daily. Breakfast was served at the terrace next to the old Sugar Mill. We dined al fresco at its restaurant for both nights and the food and service was just great - refined and tasty Caribbean dishes served by very attentive waiters. We also enjoyed the pre-dinner drinks with Nicolas and Muffin (the landlady).

The relais has a very nice swimming pool but it also offers a free round-trip transfer each day to its private beach on the Eastern side of the island. We spent a half-day on the beach just chilling out, reading and swimming - a perfect afternoon. A lady was there serving water and drinks. You could also order picnic lunch box from the hotel kitchen the night before you go.

Montpelier arranged the departure transfer to St Kitts for us. A bit pricey at $62.5+tax per person but the private water taxi ride was a truly wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Look up packages that offer comp upgrade if there is availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montpelier Plantation & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpelier Plantation & Beach

Address: Pond Hill, Montpelier Estates | P. O. Box 474, Charlestown, Nevis
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montpelier Plantation & Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montpelier Plantation & Beach is an elegant hideaway in the heart of the Caribbean. Nevis is an unspoiled island with stunning natural beauty. Only 6 miles from the beach, the hotel is idyllically situated 750 feet above the Caribbean Sea in the foothills of Nevis Peak. Surrounded by 60 acres of lush tropical gardens and built around one of the island’s original 18th century sugar plantations, this charming getaway is delightfully secluded. Carefully designed to let the fresh sea air and tranquility connect you to a simpler way of life. This unique getaway proudly offers Relais & Chateaux hospitality including fine wine and food with wellness that is both active and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Montpelier Plantation & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Hotel Charlestown
Montpelier Plantation And Beach
Montpelier Plantation Hotel
Hotel Montpelier Plantation
Montpelier Plantation & Beach Nevis/Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montpelier Plantation & Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.