We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical , wonderful oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Rock Inn to your Saves list
Golden Rock Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Magical , wonderful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We are here for our honeymoon and it is more than lovely,! our cottage is surrounded by lush vegetation , it is airy and private , the service is wonderful , room spotless , peter the manger has been so hospitable and helpful about all information on the island , it feels like an oasis away from the world .The resturant for breakfast and dinner has been superb, and the grounds and fish ponds and gardens are so unusual And magical ! We have driven to see many of the other plantations for lunch and golden rock is the most unusual and special !! Delighted !!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you are visiting Nevis I highly recommend eating here. The burgers are very good, especially with goat cheese. I also drank the fruit smoothie and it was amazing (although it could have been cheaper). The atmosphere and view is great while the service is average to below average (slow lifestyle of Nevisians, everything is going to be on island time there).

Room Tip: Get the burger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A truly magnificent setting that has been undergoing renovations in the past few years. The grounds and restaurant area have been the focus though. The rooms haven't been significantly upgraded. They're nice but not high-end luxury like Four Seasons, etc. However, it's such a stunning property and the garden and restaurant area renovations are so magnificent it more than makes up for the casual nature of the accommodations. The innkeeper Peter works his butt off making everyone comfortable and informed. The new owners are pouring lots of love and energy into the place and it has become a major destination for Nevis visitors. The restaurant is superb. We had our honeymoon meal right out in the middle. It was the most romantic and touching thing about our whole holiday. We would return in a heartbeat. Nevis is a relatively untouched island with a charm all it's own. Golden Rock seems to be trying to maintain that. One downside is that there is no air conditioning (at least not in our bungalow). I don't think this is a problem for a lot of people and there are breezes generally. But just an FYI.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms that are higher up may get a better breeze than those down low. The windmill r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This really is a must see venue for lunch or dinner. Outstanding landscaping around the fish pools and truly a unique setting. i imagine it is stunning at night too. Best wahoo fish sandwich on nevis.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Golden Rock is the most beautiful resort I have ever seen. Walking into the outdoor dining area took my breathe away, the details that the owners have out in are second to none.

I hope to get the chance to visit here again, I must stay in Nevis!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had dinner as a group at Golden Rock. Originally it was a sugar plantation and still has the sugar tower which looks like it was transformed into a room for rent. We walked around on the paths at night and could tell that there was more to see in the day so we came back the next day and it was great. The grounds are full of great tropical foliage and well worth the time to walk. Dinner the night before was good and the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Golden Rock is golden...the decor, views, staff at the restaruant where we had lunch..I just wanted to stay forever. Unfortunately all we could do was lunch, but it was heavenly. If I could go back I'd definitely chose the Golden Rock for a few nights.

With a party of six, everyone chose differently; however it was my Tuna Nicoise that was the star..everyone else wanted it. Our waitress was a lovely local woman we so enjoyed talking to, another one was younger and very outgoing and fun. Very welcoming to non-guests.

Such a great spot; they all loved working in the beauty of the restaurant among the gardens, fish ponds, decor...outstanding!

Service and food was top notich. If you have a chance go for the beauty of the mountain side of Nevis. Hopefully it will never change.

Tranquilty with a splash of eccentricity....I sure wish I could have met the owners!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.