We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger on Nevis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Rock Plantation Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Golden Rock Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Golden Rock Plantation Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Golden Rock, Charlestown, Nevis   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Burger on Nevis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you are visiting Nevis I highly recommend eating here. The burgers are very good, especially with goat cheese. I also drank the fruit smoothie and it was amazing (although it could have been cheaper). The atmosphere and view is great while the service is average to below average (slow lifestyle of Nevisians, everything is going to be on island time there).

Room Tip: Get the burger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A truly magnificent setting that has been undergoing renovations in the past few years. The grounds and restaurant area have been the focus though. The rooms haven't been significantly upgraded. They're nice but not high-end luxury like Four Seasons, etc. However, it's such a stunning property and the garden and restaurant area renovations are so magnificent it more than makes up for the casual nature of the accommodations. The innkeeper Peter works his butt off making everyone comfortable and informed. The new owners are pouring lots of love and energy into the place and it has become a major destination for Nevis visitors. The restaurant is superb. We had our honeymoon meal right out in the middle. It was the most romantic and touching thing about our whole holiday. We would return in a heartbeat. Nevis is a relatively untouched island with a charm all it's own. Golden Rock seems to be trying to maintain that. One downside is that there is no air conditioning (at least not in our bungalow). I don't think this is a problem for a lot of people and there are breezes generally. But just an FYI.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms that are higher up may get a better breeze than those down low. The windmill r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This really is a must see venue for lunch or dinner. Outstanding landscaping around the fish pools and truly a unique setting. i imagine it is stunning at night too. Best wahoo fish sandwich on nevis.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Golden Rock is the most beautiful resort I have ever seen. Walking into the outdoor dining area took my breathe away, the details that the owners have out in are second to none.

I hope to get the chance to visit here again, I must stay in Nevis!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had dinner as a group at Golden Rock. Originally it was a sugar plantation and still has the sugar tower which looks like it was transformed into a room for rent. We walked around on the paths at night and could tell that there was more to see in the day so we came back the next day and it was great. The grounds are full of great tropical foliage and well worth the time to walk. Dinner the night before was good and the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Golden Rock is golden...the decor, views, staff at the restaruant where we had lunch..I just wanted to stay forever. Unfortunately all we could do was lunch, but it was heavenly. If I could go back I'd definitely chose the Golden Rock for a few nights.

With a party of six, everyone chose differently; however it was my Tuna Nicoise that was the star..everyone else wanted it. Our waitress was a lovely local woman we so enjoyed talking to, another one was younger and very outgoing and fun. Very welcoming to non-guests.

Such a great spot; they all loved working in the beauty of the restaurant among the gardens, fish ponds, decor...outstanding!

Service and food was top notich. If you have a chance go for the beauty of the mountain side of Nevis. Hopefully it will never change.

Tranquilty with a splash of eccentricity....I sure wish I could have met the owners!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous and amazing!! So quiet and tranquil. A must go to place if you want peace and quiet. And the views are amazing!! Very zen-like and serene. There are so many trails and hidden little gems to discover. Very romantic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Rock Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Plantation Inn

Address: Golden Rock, Charlestown, Nevis
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Rock Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Plantation Inn Nevis/Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Rock Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.