We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rocks

The Rocks
Golden Rock Hotel, Nevis
(869) 469 3346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Nevis
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“five star dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a gorgeous location, set up a very big hill - get a taxi or else you will arrive like us very sweaty!
The views are amazing and surrounded by stunning gardens.
There is a pergola structure surrounded by tranquil fish ponds to look at whilst you dine.
We went twice - lunch - recommend the shrimp and lobster sandwich and then also the evening.
I think this was probably the best meal we ate on the island. Gourmet cooking at its best. We ate the locally caught fish and it did not disapoint. It is a bit pricey but well worth it!
A nice touch was the manager introducing himself during our meal to make sure we were ok.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable dinners of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I cannot imagine a more romantic atmosphere. We ate in the gazebo-like area surrounded by pools of candle filled water, reflecting the starry sky. It was absolutely gorgeous. We were sad that our photographs did not do the venue justice. The food matched the atmosphere and it lived up to any high end restaurant we have experienced in NYC. The manager was friendly and interesting, we enjoyed a tour of the venue and a pre dinner drink. Do not miss this spot!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went for a friend's birthday dinner last night and sat in the gorgeous pavilion. The food, atmosphere and service were all superb. This was our 4th visit this trip, once for excellent lobster sandwiches for lunch, the other times dinner and it has never disappointed. The owners have lavished care, attention and money on the property and it just oozes style. If you want a great place for a celebratory or last night dinner, would highly recommend it and ask for the pavilion as it is very special. The snapper with risotto cake and red pepper sauce is yummy and all the desserts are excellent! Oh and I think the rum punch is the best on island!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Really cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had lunch here a few weeks ago and loved it. The food was great but the setting is what makes this a "don't miss," location. I would imagine it is lovely during the evening, but the gardens and the views are too good to miss by daylight. Lunch was fun and we walked around the property after. My son said, "it's one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen." The plant life is extraordinary and it's worth it to take a much needed stroll after stuffing yourself on the excellent food. The rum punch was yummy too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not good at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we all thoght that the food was very poor and the service was extremly slow and unpersonal.
The gardens are nice but at night you can' t realy see them so I recommend going for lunch if you need to go there.
The ice cream is all home made and that was the best of the meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Charlestown, Nevis
 

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.