We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plants a little tired but it has a wide selection of interesting plants and trees.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Gardens of Nevis

Botanical Gardens of Nevis
Montpelier Estate, Nevis
869-469-3509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Attractions in Nevis
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Holds a wide variety of tropical plants.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Plants a little tired but it has a wide selection of interesting plants and trees.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The restaurant upstairs is good. A nice place to take a break; it has a good view and gentle breeze that I would welcome after wondering the gardens.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    35
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mango
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having read some of the reviews of the Botanical Gardens we thought we would pay it a visit whilst on Nevis.

It was rather disappointing to say the least and overpriced for what we saw, but as I have mentioned in other reviews of Nevis It is a very expensive Island.

Maybe there are better times to visit when many more flowers are in bloom .....it would look more colurful and spectactualr then.

They have a thai restaurant open on certain evenings which had a good menu at a reasonable price, dont know if you get reduced/ free entry if you have a reservation but worth enquriring.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take your time to enjoy this gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

These gardens are absolutely beautiful. Stroll around, find a place to sit and meditate. Explore every corner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Don't bother a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited these gardens in November and were dreadfully disappointed. There appeared to be very few native plants and a lot of budda statutes which seemed totally out of place in the Caribbean. We have been to botanical gardens on other caribbean islands where we have spent the entire day wandering around. With these we were in and out in just over an hour.
The cost to go in is also a total rip off at EC35 per person. Whilst we didn't eat in the restaurant we can't comment on that but we did look around the shop which was grossly expensive and sold very little of a local nature.
Would I go back - most definately not. Would I recommend it? no there are other parts of Nevis which are worth a visit before you waste the price of a taxi fare coming here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Botanical Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was impressed with the unique Thai sculpture placed at appropriate intervals throughout the gardens. When I asked a groundskeeper if the fountains were not working he motioned to me to wait a bit and a minute later he turned them on. I also enjoyed having a conversation with three separate grounds people about their honeybees and the names of the flowers the bees were visiting on the day we were there.

This is an impressive place to visit. Beautiful and well organized.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens of Nevis also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Botanical Gardens of Nevis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanical Gardens of Nevis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.