We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bananas

Bananas
Upper Hamilton Estate, Nevis
869/469-1891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 restaurants in Nevis
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the edge of the Rainforest Bananas is casual fun dining in a magical setting. We take our food very seriously but it is good home cooking prepared by hard working local ladies, not fancy or Gourmet.. However our menu is very creative and we use only fresh ingredients and where possible free range organic produce and meats. We have Magnificent Sunset views from our Firefly lounge and a superb selection of cocktails and old rums and a small selection of cuban Cigars.
Charlestown, Nevis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

When you come to Bananas you meet a dozen of great smiles. The owner is a trip, the staff are so welcoming, the atmosphere is great, the food is good, the drinks are perfect & the service is very good. Must go!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    112
    28
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Food and Quaint Atmosphere in the Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived via taxi and were met at the entrance to the path leading up to the restaurant by someone with a flashlight. Along the path were lights, lanterns and sculptures. Upon arrival after a very short walk, we found a wooden, open-air structure that was one of the most interesting restaurant spaces we've ever visited. The food is incredible. We started with the local mix of appetizers. The for entrees, our children had the spiny lobster, my husband the pork and I had the lamb shank. It was all extremely delicious, and a MUST visit while in Nevis!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gstringgourmet, Owner at Bananas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
All of these positive reviews, whilst I am away travelling for the summer, are very very encouraging.
I am really grateful to everyone who has taken the time to write

My staff are my extended family, and although we have our issues from time to time, they treat Bananas as if it were their own. And I believe that service and personality in a restaurant are key.

Thank you again, we are getting ready now for a new season, new menu items, new procedures to implement in an effort to make Bananas as good as it can be, and we are looking forward to the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Delicious lamb Shank, wonderful short ribs! The very friendly staff were extremely helpful in directing our dinner choices.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

It's off the beaten track but well worth the effort. The surroundings are stunning and the food is to die for. There is a lot of variety on the menu and the food is well presented and well cooked. Most starters are under US$10 and mains $25-30, which I think is very reasonable for the quality. If you have room, have a dessert. I had a banana brûlée, also delicious.

I took a taxi but I understand the Four Seasons runs a mini bus for its guests. Just don't miss the opportunity to eat at Bananas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fabulous setting and ambiance. Entrance way to restaurant and gardens with cool lighting and metal art... truly magical. Bar, bartender and rum punch-awesome. Moroccan lamb shank with mashies and full rack of ribs were over the top delicious. Service was superb.

This restaurant is not to be missed whilst on the island.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bananas also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Charlestown, Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.