We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Lobster

Rock Lobster
Frigate Bay, Basseterre, St. Kitts
869-466-1092
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Basseterre
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Pleasant with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews about Rock Lobster and was excited to go there. The restaurant was peaceful and quiet and the service was quite lovely just as the reviews on trip advisor mentioned.

Had the fish and chips as I'm a Brit and missed the old country. Turned out the owner is British also and was very pleasant to us. The cod was very flaky and was done quite well. It was very salty. Told the owner and she took the fish back and made me another without any question. Which was Fab. However the second order of cod was marginally better. She said it was probably the spices in the batter that made it so salt. And i think she is right. Either way, the owner took my cod off the bill which was really nice of her. I have to say, i would definitely come back but would try another dish.

My sister and i had dessert.. she had the caramelized banana dessert which was OK. The coconut cake with vanilla ice cream was nice and the cake was warm.

All in all a good experience. Great service. I would make this one of your stops if you come to St. Kitts.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    110
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Frozen seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were told by the owner that only one dish was fresh - the rest of the menu is all frozen seafood. That's odd since we could have kicked a soccer ball to the ocean.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Rock Lobster rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a wonderful find! Had a great meal while visiting St. Kitts with friends. The ahi tuna entree was absolutely the most appealing dish! The grilled grouper was wonderful. IF The coconut cake is on the menu, SAVE room for it. It's served warm and has wonderful, powerful coconut flavor! GEEAT service!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wonderful outdoor setting! fantastic service! Walking distance from the marriott. The surf and turf was excellent, and the garlic bread is to die for!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rock Lobster has become one of our "go to" restaurants on the island. We made a resevation and the table was waiting for us when we arrived. I had a party of 8 (6 were firstimers to s kitts) and everyone was very pleased with their orders. It didn't matter if it was the grouper, lobster, salads, ahi tuna... Everyone was very pleased. The service was among the most attentive on the island. The menu ranges from about $10 US on the Tapas menu to market price for lobster which was about $40 US when we were there. We dined on the front patio which is covered and which we found delightful. It's moderately priced and worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Lobster also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to Rock Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.