We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill

Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill
Cockleshell Beach, Basseterre, St. Kitts
+1 869-663-8711
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 23 restaurants in Basseterre
Cuisines: Caribbean
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Hudson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our second visit to St Kitts and our second visit to see Angela and Lion! Great atmosphere and great punch! Hopefully our paths will cross again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    14
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Punch in the Carib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just Love going to Lion"s for a drink. The beach is calm, the view fantastic and the punch with ground nutmeg ... Well have someone else drive afterwards!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A visit to St Kitts wouldn't be complete without a visit to Lion and Angela's bar on Cockleshell Beach. The food is tasty and beautifully presented. The atmosphere is lively but relaxed. Great punch too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We found the Lion Rock Beach Bar when we had a day in St. Kitts. We asked the best taxi driver/tour guide on the island "Neon Deon," to take us somewhere for authentic island food. After a bumpy ride to cockleshell beach we ended up at an unassuming place (really a shack) on the beach. Lion, the proprietor of Lion Rock Beach bar had three things on the menu: Ribs, chicken or fish, and he had a cooler full of ice cold beer. My wife and I ordered the fish and a few ice cold beers. Simply the BEST FOOD and the BEST PEOPLE on our trip to the southern Caribbean. There is nothing more relaxing than enjoying great food, great local company and great music all while sitting on a pristine beach overlooking Nevis and being able to watch your kids play in gin clear water. Truly an exceptional experience. If you visit St. Kitts and skip the Lion rock Beach Bar, you simply have not visited St. Kitts. Go for the day, expect to take your time, meet great people, and enjoy a one of a kind experience. And if you need a ride, ask for "Neon Deon," everyone on the island really does know him, and he gives an amazing Island tour at a price that you can't beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a GREAT place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I went there today and as soon as I got back to my hotel room, I had to write about Lion Rock Beach Bar!

First, July is the slow season in St. Kitts, and the place was very quiet. The beach is gorgeous with an awesome view of Nevis. The water was wonderful, it's just an amazing stretch of beach! Also, we were not bothered by vendors, which was a change.

What is really amazing is the food! I live in the Chicago area, and while we have great restaurants there, this place is amazing compared to many of the restaurants back home. Lion is not only a very nice man, the food and the variety of food you can on one plate is incredible!!! We had different dishes in our party, including King Fish, Ribs ($17 USD) and Chicken ($15 USD). All were wonderful. ALL plates were served with squash, potato, coconut salad (almost like a coconut cole slaw), rice and peas (I hate peas but this was great), carrots, broccoli, corn, grilled plantains and tomato & cucumber.

If you are looking for a beautiful, quiet beach, this is the place to go. If you want an amazing lunch that is extremely affordable, this is the place to go. Lion is such a nice, pleasant man and my family and I had a wonderful day at his place!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Rock Beach Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.