We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for souvenirs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribelle Batik

Caribelle Batik
Romney Manor, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for souvenirs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The tropical gardens surrounding the area are great and there is a 400 year old tree that's worth a closer look. Inside the Batik, you get to see a demonstration of the process. After that, we bought all of our souvenirs here, including Christmas presents for friends and family. The clothing tends to be priced higher, but everything else isn't. The products are unique to the island and worth the price. We ended up here twice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Batik studio in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This studio is situated within the grounds of Romney Manor. The studio itself demonstrates how the craft is created and has some excellent examples for sale in the shop. The grounds of Romney Manor are extremely well presented and with the lush tropical plants indiginous to the Caribbean makes for a relaxing and tranquil place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“lovely batik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I came to St kitts with my family and it was great. The Caribelle batik was one of the best parts of the holiday. It's so beutifal with some great batik didn't stop to buy any even though it was amazing. It was fantastic watching people actualy make the batik by hand.

Great place, I'd recomend it to all

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tour stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful work at reasonable prices. We love buying souveniers that are actually made on the islands we visit and their work fit the bill. We picked up a beautiful wrap, although we will use it for a furniture throw and a pillow...both for less than $50.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is located on the beautiful grounds of Romney Manor. It was amazing to see and watch how these incredible fabric prints are created by hand. This is predominately a store to purchase their wares, but it is still worth a visit (more than likely, you will end up buying something!!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribelle Batik also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 

Been to Caribelle Batik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribelle Batik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.