We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carambola Beach Club

Carambola Beach Club
South Friar's Bay, Basseterre, St. Kitts
+1869-465-9090
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 restaurants in Basseterre
Price range: $5 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Lunch or dinner in our beautiful restaurant or on the beach. Have a relaxing drink at one of our bars. Enjoy the life!!!
Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were looking for a more fine dining restaurant on the island..and found it! We fell in love with the staff..very accomodating and attentive. The ambience of the restaurant is beautiful..I just wish we would have gone during the day..to be outside..The food was great...but they ran out of snapper...so I ordered the salmon which was wonderful! I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    159
    52
    15
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great choice for our birthday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a Marriott concierge. It was a bit further (taxi fare~$12) than we wished - but took his word that we would love it for our birthday celebration. We were SO surprised that it was new and more elegant than other choices we had made earlier in the week. We had a curry chicken dish and sushi rolls – both were delightful & nicely presented. Our table was decorated with birthday confetti – a special touch! They sang and presented a decorated ‘happy birthday’ plate with a slice of cake. The staff, wine selection, music, atmosphere, and location along the Atlantic was gorgeous! My only regret is that we did not go early to toast the sunset and extend our stay ....just a bit longer!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful Setting with Great Food to Match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Don't go to this place during the day when the cruise ships drop their hoards off on this strip of beach bars. We do recommend that you make a reservation and arrive 10-15 minutes before sunset. We have a lovely bottle of Champagne while we sat in a huge swivel wicker chair built for two and watched the sunset over this magnifcently landscaped restaurant. Once the sun sets, and the backlit lights illuminate the little harbor, the evening breeze with the nicely lit palm trees and this gloriously beautiful open restaurant, you will feel you are in heaven. Our meal matched the decor and setting. We started with a chef's offering of a seafood stock which was light and delicous with 1-2 chunks of fishmeat in it. My wife had a spicy tuna roll which she thought was a large serving and also one of the best sushi rolls she has ever tasted. The soy that accompanied her meal was particularly good. I had a fresh green salad which was also a nice serving and lightly-dressed with a vinaigrette and accompanied with walnuts and vegetables. My wife had a very nicely prepared grilled grouper that was paired with one of the largest servings of mixed vegetables that we had on the island. I had the rack of lamb which was 3 nice plump ribs, one of them a little over medium rare, but the others cooked to perfection. The lamb was a little tougher than what we are used to in the States and had a deeper game taste which lead me to believe it was grazed and not farm raised. The restaurant has a nice wine list, again with a good array of varieties and price points. We enjoyed a nice white Cote du Rhone at $40.

This is definitely a restaurant that we would visit again and we rate it slightly higher than Marshalls, for both the food and definitely the view and auora.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and wonderful location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just came back from St Kitts (2/5/13) and went to Carambola's - we loved the food, staff was very friendly, and the view is to die for! Plus you can use the beach - they rent umbrellas

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely beach club! I wish we would have made it there in time to enjoy the sunset out on the deck, but we waited very late in the day for dinner reservations and got in a bit too late. The staff was very nice, but a little slower than some of the other restaurants we visited; they were busy at the time with some large groups to take care of as well. My husband and I both ordered sushi that we really enjoyed and the rest of the menu and dishes we saw brought out looked fantastic!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Beach Club also viewed

Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Carambola Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carambola Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.