We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local cuisine we had during our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fredo's

El Fredo's
Corner os Sandown & Bay Road, | Newtown, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: phone 869 466 8871 A bit off the beaten path, but only 1/4 miles from the cruise ship port. Fantastic, authentic caribbean food. Very casual, screened-porch setting. This is where the locals dine and it's totally worth checking out. One of the best meals we had in the islands.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best local cuisine we had during our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

El Fredo’s is primarily a lunch place near the port in Basseterre. It is family run joint. The son of the owner was extremely polite and friendly. He was helping out serve during his lunch break from his other job and on his way out came to say goodbye to us and wish us well on our trip. I had the spicy bbq chicken, which they made into a sandwich for me upon my request. It was very spicy and very good. The plate came garnished with lots of French fries, local potato, pumpkin bread (amazing!), and mac n cheese (ehh). I washed it down with a soursap drink (local fruit juice), which was very unique and I recommend trying. The whole meal cost us less then $25USD which included tip, a real bargain. As compared to Cathy’s (the other local cuisine restaurant that we tried), this was cheaper and better. The only downside is this restaurant is in the middle of town with no view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, well worth the short walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We loved the fish roti and sides. The young lady who served us was very helpful and sweet. We walked over from Crystal, which of course has wonderful food, but we were very glad we did - one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Curried Mutton and Beef Roti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went here as a family after visiting the main city section of Basseterre. The restaurant is about a 10 -15 min walk from the circus or clock tower. The food was great. The service was a little slow, but we did have 13 people with us and they got all of our orders correct. I got teh beef roti and it was very good. I tasted my friend's curried mutton and it was great. The curry was a nice red or brownish color. In the US the curry is on the yellowish side.

All seating is open-air with a screen around the seating area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place on the island. Possibly best in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here after walking by several times missing the open times (lunch 11-4, closed Sunday) and reading the precious day's menu chalked on the board outside. Amazing. Owner is cooking in kitchen and is delightful to speak with about the food, which is all prepared daily with local ingredients whenever possible. We'd heard about 'goat water' and thought we should try it 'just because.' It was not what I expected: it was a rich broth with little pieces of roux, delicious, suspending little dumplings, carrots, potatoes, and the most tender lamb chunks ever. Wow. The Mr. ordered the spicy mahi mahi and it was amazing--all the more amazing because he's not a fish person, but I barely got a bite--and I had curry lamb, fabulous. Plates come with an incredible variety of side dishes--we had rice, beans, breadfruit salad, green salad, plantains...all beautifully presented. Your plate is full, but everything is do well balanced that you don't feel like you've just put down a full buffet. Charming service, drinks available, including a good Scotch, and the Resturant is convinient to the town and pleasant to sit in.

If we lived here, this would be our Cheers.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I have been to st kitts several times and this place really is a hidden gem. Authentic, local cuisine, the friendliest service on the island and Jasmines homemade lemonade or ginger beer seals the deal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fredo's also viewed

Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to El Fredo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fredo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.