We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fredo's

El Fredo's
Corner os Sandown & Bay Road, | Newtown, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Basseterre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: phone 869 466 8871 A bit off the beaten path, but only 1/4 miles from the cruise ship port. Fantastic, authentic caribbean food. Very casual, screened-porch setting. This is where the locals dine and it's totally worth checking out. One of the best meals we had in the islands.
Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We finally found an affordable restaurant in St. Kitts on our last day thanks to tripadvisor. I had the snapper and all I can say is WOW! It was caught that morning and it tasted like it. The sauce and spices they added made this the most delicious fish dish I've ever eated in my life. The service was great (we were the only ones there):)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    31
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We eat there several times every time we're in St. Kitts. Very nice people

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Local Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you're not game to try the road-side BBQs, this place has local food in the comfort of a restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was exotic and tasty! Certainly recommended. I had the creole whole Snapper with provisions, I had never tasted anything like it, what a treat! The atmosphere has room for improvement, but at least the fly screens help to stop from dining with the bugs!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Local cuisine that titillates your taste buds"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Elfred's is a local restaurant located on the Bay Road in Basseterre that serves excellent local food. Jasmin, one of the owners, was like a breath of fresh air...her knowledge of the local dishes was second to none and the service was extermely good and personable. I loved the fish dishes...other family mambers enjoyed goat water, cookup, conches and other superbly prepared dishes...Elfredo's also attracted passing cruise passengers seeking a quality local restaurant. Yummie, Yummie!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Consistently marvelous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Tasty food, best prices and the loveliest service. Love Jasmine and Ken, always a pleasant meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fredo's also viewed

Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to El Fredo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fredo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.