We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sprat Net

Sprat Net
Main Road, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 restaurants in Basseterre
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Sprat net is wonderful restaurant located approximately 20 minutes north of Basseterre in Old Road Village. It is right on the water and is open for dinner. The owners are fishermen who go out in the morning and then serve their daily catch in the evening. They serve bbq lobster, ribs, chicken, steamed catch of the day fish, and wonderful pizzas. It is casual with ample seating and a beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea. Prices range from $10US to $30US for dinner. They also have a full bar.
Suffern, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been here before but it was even better this time. Succulent lobster, delicious swordfish, chicken and ribs. Not the healthiest of food options, and a very very rustic atmosphere. Picnic table seating. But get your hands messy and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    66
    28
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bit of a trip but worth it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice setting with good food. Chicken, fish, ribs & lobster done over an open grill. Been several times and always pleased. Can be very busy, so go early evening @ 5:30-6p

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigate Bay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Simple menu...and every item is a can't miss! It's a drive from the Frigate Bay area, but well worth the 20 minutes. Lobster is great, atmosphere is great, and the drinks are plentiful. If you are looking for a wonderful local experience, Sprat Net is the place to go, especially on Wednesdays for live music.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not for Everyone, but def for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We made the drive to Sprat Net on a Wed Night for a local band and I'm glad we did! We ordered, ribs, shrimp and fish (the whole fish). It was all delicious! Price can't be beat either, $20 dinners, $2 beers! Music was excellent and entertaining as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from Frigate Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went here having not bothered to make the 20 minute trip from our base on previous visits to St Kitts. Well worth it and we'll go again. Good atmosphere, locals, vet students and tourists. Live band. Big portions, well cooked. Fab lobster! Next time we'll go at sunset because the views must be great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprat Net also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts

Been to Sprat Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprat Net, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.