We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half day outing in St. Kitts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey's Island Excursions

Grey's Island Excursions
PO Box 1956, Basseterre, St. Kitts
251-545-3736
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grey's Island Excursions is owned and operated by Thenford Grey who is one of the premier tour operators on St. Kitts.This award winning company offers tours & excursions that include "The Tour", "Volcano Tour", "Rain forest Tour" and "Capital and Beach Splash".Grey's Island Excursions focuses on offering the highest quality tours at a value price point which is why we have thousands of satisfied customers and positive reviews.Thenford Grey invites you to "Come experience St. Kitts with US!"
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great half day outing in St. Kitts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited St. Kitts for a day on a cruise of the Southern Carribean. The day prior had been spent on a full day tour of St. Lucia and I knew we'd be exhausted. Not wanting to push my luck with a 6 year old in tow... we decided to book the abbreviated half day tour in St. Kitts.

We took the Capital and Beach Splash tour. Henry was our driver and he was simply lovely. He is a native of Nevis and had lots of interesting information to share and clearly loves the island.

We had a narrarated tour of the port and capital and then made a stop at Palm Gardens (gorgeous by the way....) We eventually went to shipwreck beach which was a nice black sand beach with amenities and a small bar. It was not crowded at all and we were not hassled at the beach.

As luck would have it we were the only ones signed up for this tour so we had Henry all to ourselves. As a result he was flexible and accomodating. He even stayed at the beach while we swam and snorkeled.

We weren't sure if we would like St. Kitts when we booked the cruise but we absolutely LOVED it. Such a pretty and uncrowded place. We'd love to return for a longer stay and if we do, we'd definately book with Grey's again.

Many thanks for a great day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    20
    7
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A true highlight of my cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

In July, I had the pleasure of a)taking my first cruise and b) being treated to a first-class tour of St. Kitts by Theron Grey. Mr. Grey's comfortable bus took us all around the island of St. Kitts- to famous places like Romney Manor (an old sugar cane plantation), Brimstone Hill Fortress, and through numerous towns, coastlines, and overlooks all over St. Kitts. His knowledge of the area's history, geography, and culture was stunning- I was riveted from the very beginning. From the history of the fortress(and the humorous aside about the cats living nearby), his knowledge of plants and flowers at Romney Manor, to the influence of the sugar cane industry, he wove a fascinating story of St. Kitts. He was gracious and welcoming, and truly was a wonderful ambassador for this beautiful country- which he obviously cared for very much, and seemed to enjoy sharing with all of us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Thenford knows St. Kitts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was an amazing tour.
First of the bus is great, big windows for excellent photos without needing to get out.
Thenford and his partner Pastor Henry are extremely knowledgeable about the island and it's History,
Thenford did an awesome job explaining the agriculture and the industries in the island. We even got to see a plane that had just been knocked off the runway.

We got to witness Thenford navigate his bus through the tight clearances of the Brimstone Fortress at ease. "Touch your shoulder to the wall, then turn left"

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We believe that one way to be happy is to make others happy; so if you are happy then we are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Tour Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked a Grey’s Tour while in St Kitts. The tour was great for the price. You won’t be able to see as much as the island or have a tour guide for the price. We visited Cockleshell Bay and was shown where the Atlantic and Caribbean Ocean meets, amazing to see the difference between the two sides.
I will have to say though was that St Kitts was my least favorite island. I’m glad we booked this tour to help show the hidden gems of the island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenang06, Manager at Grey's Island Excursions, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. It is good to learn that you enjoyed your excursion with us. We are a bit surprised that St. Kitts is not near the top of the list of your favourite island but we shall try and reveal other gems of the island and hope that we can get to where we wish to be - #1. Kind regards, Thenford Grey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thenford Grey Tours was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were in St. Kitts June of 2013. We decided to venture out of the normal cruise stuff and could not be any happier. Mr. Grey is a very nice and knowledgeable man. He took his time and made the tour fun and interesting. The bus tour was air conditioned, comfortable and very clean. We saw the island forte, beautiful flower park and a beach that had the warmest water I have ever been in. The beach had Shipwreck Restaurant which provided extremely tasty island foods at a very reasonable price. Overall, my family and I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey's Island Excursions also viewed

St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Grey's Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey's Island Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.