We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinkies-up Fancy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity

Serendipity
3 Wigley Avenue | Fortslands, Basseterre, St. Kitts
869 465-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 restaurants in Basseterre
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Alpine, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pinkies-up Fancy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I were directed by our concierge at the Marriott to try Serendipity in Basseterre on our last night. It was a terrific and memorable evening watching the cruise liner across the water load and leave while we enjoyed wonderfully well-presented meals. While it was mostly a porch-like arrangement, it was situated for beautiful views and we felt it was upscale enough to drink with your "pinkies up".

I have to put in a plug here for our new friend, Wycliffe McIntosh, proprietor of Mr Mack Taxi Service. It was so nice to have stumbled into his taxi by random chance on our ride to Serendipity from the Marriott. We arranged to have him called for the ride home as well and were able to meet his wife as well. We just hit it off talking about family and kids. We arranged for him to take us to the airport the next day -- which turned into a nice lunch, shopping, and visit to his wife's dress shoppe on the way.

If you are headed to St. Kitts, do what I wish we had done and pre-arrange for Mr Mack to pick you up and call for him for all your tours and transport needed. He makes every ride a tour and a history lesson while making great conversion. Mack -- hope to see you again in St Kitts, maybe next time with the kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    123
    52
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome! A must when visiting St. kitts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic evening at Serendipity. The view, the food and the service were all perfect. Conch chowder is to die for as is the Mahi Mahi. The staff at Serendipity goes out of their way to take care of you. Very romantic setting overlooking the harbor that we highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
1 review
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent Food. A wide variety and well prepared. The service is friendly and quick. This restaurant is a must on every one of my trips to St Kitts. The view of the city is also very pretty and atmospheric.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The menu offered a wide selection of appetizers, soups, salads, and entrees. One would have to have very limited tastes not to find something to enjoy here. Also a very ample selection of beverages, again satisfying a range of tastes.

The food was excellent, from the breads to the desserts! All four of us made different selections and each of us was completely satisfied.

The service was attentive but not intrusive. Te Australian owner took our order and made excellent suggestions, that were not the most expensive items on the menu. The food was served in a timely manner but we were not rushed. What was supposed to be hot was hot; what was expected chilled was chilled.

The restaurant is somewhat small, so it feels crowded when busy. It is understandable because of its location in an old, small city and it did not impair our dinner conversation that mainly focused on how good the food was.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth, nh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Incredible food, with a fabulous view. Fresh ingredients, excellent flavors, and attentive service. Would go again- often!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendipity also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.