We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful gardens and lovely host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens

Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens
P.O Box 1062, Basseterre P.O Box 1062, St. Kitts
869-465-2353
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens like an insider
Top Rated
$34*
and up
St Kitts Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Basseterre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Attractions includes a Plantation Home, Natural Gardens, Museum, Gift Shop, Cellar Pub and Wildlife. Activities includes Family Tours, Groups and no age limit.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens and lovely host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Phillip was a wonderful, informative host. He made us feel very welcomed. The grounds are beautiful, very colorful flowers and saw different types of plants that we never seen before. The plantation was maintained exceptionally well. The family has alot of pride in their home. After the tour, we were served a cool refreshing drink.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    29
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking villa and wonderful host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Phillip was a wonderful host, explaining the history of the plantation with humor and passion. A must see when in St-Kitts! We went to this villa as part of a plantation/beach tour through Royal Caribbean Cruises. The beach at Frigate Bay was disappointing but the tour of Clay Villa more than made up for it.

I went with my in-laws and my 2-year old. Cannot bring a carriage around so be prepared to walk a lot with young children. The many birds and other animals in the gardens were great attractions for my little girl!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Tour at Clay Villa and an AMAZING Day on St Kitts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was by far the most enjoyable Villas I have ever toured in the Caribbean. I was overwhelmed by all the amazing plants and flowers, the hummingbirds that visited the flowers, all the artifacts in the house and the rescued birds, monkeys, turtles and fish. It is such an amazing place and we had a great time.

Phillip was such an amazing guide, he knew EVERYTHING. And by everything I really mean it. He knew all about the island, the villa, etc. He had a great sense of humor.

BEST OF ALL: Some of your entrance fees goes to helping orphaned animals. As an animal lover I was so thankful someone on the island helps these poor monkeys, birds etc. You can see they are well taken care of in his house.

I highly recommend this attraction!!! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My friends and I booked an excursion that included a tour of the Clay Villa Plantation House. Philip led us on a tour of this plantation house which can be found amidst lush tropical foliage and gorgeous flowers. He was witty, engaging and informative as well as a gracious host. There were a staggering number of collections in the home as well as an intriguing assortment of animals. This was definitely one of the more memorable aspects of our Caribbean vacation.

Deborah F.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I went on a tour with my Aunt from a cruise and this was one of our stops. It was just us and another couple at this stop and it was intriguing and pretty. We had Philip who led the tour and he was witty and humorous, while being friendly and helpful as much as possible. In my opinion there isn't a lot of interesting tours or touristy things to do in St.Kitts but this is an exception. I recommend anyone and everyone to come check Clay Villa out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Villa Plantation House & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.