We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy location, disappointing rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Inn

Save Saved
You added Seaview Inn to your Saves list
Seaview Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Inn
Bay Road, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Basseterre B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“handy location, disappointing rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is good if you want to stay in town.
The rooms are basic; mine didn't have any windows, but they are fairly clean.
The price was fairly high considering all this, and the fact that breakfast was not included.
Overall, a reasonable choice for the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There are some places (in Africa) where I'd be happy to find a hotel like this. And, considering this is the only lodging option walking distance to the ferry terminal in this town, I was glad to find the Seaview. Nothing else about the experience was good -- except getting out early the next morning. Located near dirty food markets, and next to a KFC restaurant (safest nearby dining option), behind a security door opening onto a stairwell at the top of which you are buzzed in -- to a restaurant. The sixteen or so rooms of the Seaview are down a side corridor where out the window are views of alleys and backs of buildings. Totally seedy set-up. Small room, cheaply furnished and kind of battered. TV barely usable, internet too slow to stream, AC was strong and drafted right over the bed. This is a one-night transit stop. For 75 usd and all the hallway shouting, screaming, slamming and banging included free. Management was timely and efficient in responding to reservation requests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is good value for money, and well-located in Basseterre (very near ferry port). Javier, who handled my booking, was super friendly and helpful. He even gave me a lift to a local restaurant when the one at the hotel was shut (it was a Sunday night). I also ate in the Seaview and the food was nice too. The rooms are a bit dark, but the A/C was cold, and it was clean and quiet. It was a good place to be based for exploring Basseterre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked this place based on the reviews I read! Great value i comparison to the cost. Well, yes the rooms are dark and maybe not a place where you'd plan you honeymoon vacation, but the A/C and TV-set worked fine. Very helpful staff, good central location near groceries shops and the bus station. Enjoy the activities down below from the lovely balcony with a cold beer and a zoom lens camera.

I'd certainly come back again and stay if it was for a couple of days only.

Room Tip: Good value for money and great location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night after reading the reviews on trip advisor. On making the booking, Alex who handled the booking was very helpful. I explained I wouldn't be arriving until late, 10 or 11pm. On the night, Alex arranged a taxi to pick me up from where I had been attending a function. I duly arrived at about 11-30pm. Alex was there to greet me, and show me to my room. The room was basic and clean, with tv and a/c, and a shower room. I left at 6-45am, so am unable to comment on any other areas of the hotel.
If you are looking for a clean, cheapish hotel, for a couple of nights in the middle of downtown Baseterre, then I suggest this one

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Casual hotel near harbour, great for ferries to Nevis. A/c was poor in sparse room. Not a hotel to base your holiday from more like back packing. Despite this the manager (Rafael?) was incredibly friendly and helpful as were all other staff. Great verandah for watching life go past near the bustling harbour and central for all the main sights in Basseterre

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidingö
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My sister and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It was perfect for walks in town and close to the bus station where buses in the form of taxis took us to Brimstone. We also made tours. We had very good breakfasts which Alex the manager made. On the Sunday of our stay we suddenly asked if he could give us dinner and that was no problem. He also helped us when we had problems with Greg tours. Our room had no noise except once from another guest.Ragnhild from Sweden

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Inn

Address: Bay Road, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.