We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rennovated paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Terrace Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$100 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
The Valley, null, Anguilla
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rennovated paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the past year and half, I have been visiting St. Kitts every few months. The accommodation offerings are not as vast as on its sister island, Nevis. For my most recent trip, I stayed at Ocean Terrace Inn (OTI). I saw the property prior to the start of its renovation project about a year before so I was a bit concerned. Back then, it was run down and not very attractive...definitely not a place I would stay. Nonetheless, I wanted to visit following the renovation. I checked in late the evening and I was pleasantly surprised. It was intimate, beautiful and the views were 2nd to none. I absolutely loved it. From my room, I had the best view of the Harbour Front. However, what made my stay absolutely perfect, was the staff. Leonard was amazing...mature, professional and a great conversationalist. Lester, the bartender became my best friend (don't judge me :). The head waitress, I can't remember her name, was so much fun, even though she never accompanied me on any of my morning workout sessions. It is obvious that some of the staff is new to the industry but they have the winning ingredient...the right attitude. This visit was by far my favorite and I have stayed at some of the larger, "renowned" properties. I love the authentic and personal feel. I will definitely return. One recommendation, I would have complimentary water (1-2 bottles) in the rooms. It is not a huge expense but would definitely add to the arrival process, particularly if persons have had a long journey.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We were encouraged and delighted to read your review. Thank you for taking the time. It was a struggle to get Ocean Terrace Inn re-opened with the rooms ready for occupancy and the right staff members trained and in place. We are proud to have accomplished this and again thank you again for recognizing our achievements so far.

We have passed your comments on to Leonard and the other members of the team and we look forward to your return visit. We are working on the bottles of water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting St Kitts and stayed overnight with friends. Have stayed at OTI several times before and was aware of the renovation plans 2014-15.
Stopped by the hotel to look around and was very pleased with the new look. The hotel says it is in the middle of a 'soft opening' and plans to have a more formal opening in May. I was able to see two of the new suites which are very appealing.
My fiance and I enjoyed lunch in the new Verandah Restaurant with its wrap around balcony overlooking Basseterre. We were enthralled by the pumpkin & beet soup as well as the Kittitian Conch dish, quite outstanding. The kitchen aims to offer an Asian-Carib fusion and they are well on their way to success.
We are back in St Kitts next month in May and intend to make this our home for a few days at that time!

Room Tip: We loved Suite 110 as well as Suite 209. Also check out 105 and 109...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only spent a night here (watching St Kitts play England at the cricket) but had a fantastic stay. From the moment we arrived, the staff at reception were welcoming, the room was new with a breathtaking view over the harbour at Basseterre and the Fisherman's Restaurant (attached to the hotel) served the most delicious food. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Any - you'll have a fantastic time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We were delighted that you were one of our very first guests to stay with us after our extensive renovations. We realize that you only spent a night here but thank you for mentioning how the staff was welcoming and that you enjoyed your 'new' room with the breathtaking view over the Basseterre harbour. We are pleased to hear you found that Fisherman's Wharf served the most delicious food and we do hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Terrace Inn

Address: Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovations were completed in 2015 and the hotel has transformed into a delightful eclectic 4 star St Kitts boutique oceanfront hotel enjoying breathtaking views of the Caribbean. With an amazing swimming pool which meanders around the property and 2 unique restaurants, the hotel is located in a prime location outside of the capital city of Basseterre. The 50 attractive rooms and suites with upgraded amenities are cheerfully decorated with a selection of contemporary furniture and bright colors creating a signature style. The Free Wi-Fi keeps you connected and our staff training program and our new service standards means that at OTI, nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ocean Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Terrace Hotel Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.