We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Terrace Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
toronto
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week over Easter. Found the hotel adequate and the island disappointing.
The hotel overlooks the harbour and is a short walk into town. Unfortunately the walk is along a beach strewn with garbage with stray dogs roaming around on the one side and dilapidated buildings with the inevitable locals lying on the sidewalk and hanging out in the doorways on the other side. We did not feel comfortable doing the walk at night. As it turned out this was no great loss as the town has very little of interest and everything closes up at 5pm when the cruise ships leave.
Staff were indifferent, the hotel was practically empty when we stayed and it took three tries to get an acceptable room – first two were small, tiny bathroom, poor views; this was a missed opportunity to wow us with a nice room seeing as how all the rooms were available and we had already paid for an upgraded room. Another day 6 local kids overran one of the pools – jumping, diving, soaking everyone at the side of the pool, laughed off request to not splash the guests with the result we moved away, mentioned this to the staff who reluctantly went down and chased them away – again a missed opportunity to anticipate a problem and chase them away before the guests were upset.
Room (third try) was large with a spacious bathroom, fridge, free wifi and a large balcony with a spectacular view of the tropical pool and the harbour, however shoddy workmanship left it with a shabby appearance – door didn't seal properly -could see daylight around it; bathroom grouting smeared over tiles, toilet sealed with a sloppy job of caulking, wood furniture fading to various shades of grey.
Grounds are very nice, three pools including one with waterfalls and tropical gardens; staff kept them meticulously clean.
Free shuttle to the beach worked well, unfortunately the beach (south Frigate Bay) was littered with garbage and debris, dilapidated shacks, disgusting toilets and you pay for rusted out chairs, torn mattresses and broken umbrellas. One trip was quite enough.
The two hotel restaurants and the adjacent Serendipidy restaurant were all excellent, which was fortunate as there was nothing in town and the rest of the island was a $25plus taxi ride away, we ate at each of them twice.
In summary St Kitts is probably a good cruise ship stop but doesn't have enough to warrant a 7 day stay, the Ocean Terrace is an acceptable choice if you must stay on the island but isn't big enough or plush enough to justify spending a weeks vacation there.


.

Room Tip: keep trying if you are not happy with the first room you are given; there seems to be a wide variati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
On behalf of the team at Ocean Terrace Inn we are all very sorry to read your review and to learn that you found St Kitts a disappointment. The walk into town, which I do myself once or twice a week is quite an adventure and I was pleased to see now that the St Kitts Ministry of Works has just added truck loads of sand, (although its black volcanic sand) along the beach which has improved things.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, as we take our service and hospitality standards very seriously and as it happens hospitality training for the hotel staff is already on our agenda. The people of St Kitts are charming and we feel that with the proper training their indifferent attitude can be turned into one of concern and caring for our guests.

Our Management Team is mandated to make significant improvements to the hotel, its rooms and the physical plant and to improve the level of service. Our ongoing maintenance and improvements include a weekly program to overhaul a number of guest rooms in the hotel, as well as walkways and public areas. This upgrade program is being achieved discretely throughout the winter and spring months without compromising on the comfort of our guests. It is our ultimate aim that that our guests can feel that the Ocean Terrace Inn is a perfect choice and is special enough to justify spending a week’s vacation here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
51
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent four nights in a room with a great view but they couldn't get the hot water right. We had to run for over 10 mins. before we got warm water . First night manager came to see what the problem was, but by then the water was ok -we had probably run it for over 10 mins by then. Kept being told maintenance would look at it but on Saturday, the young man on reception told us that was the way of it and to just run the water. makes their water conservation convictions a little lame.

Apart from the cold showers and reception's response it was a lovely place to stay. Lovely staff in restaurants and grounds and rooms.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
On behalf of the team at Ocean Terrace Inn we are all very sorry to read your review about the hot water issues during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please be aware that we discussed this matter at great length at our recent Management Meeting and plans are now in hand to change our hot water system.

Thank you for mentioning that you found the Ocean Terrace Inn to be a lovely place to stay and telling us about our lovely staff in the restaurants and grounds and rooms as your reviews are appreciated and that we will share your comments with them. We do hope you will return to the Ocean Terrace Inn one day, when you will find the physical plant of the hotel much improved while offering the very best in island hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent five days in Ocean Terrace Inn in March 2013. Wonderful experience. Friendly and helpful staff. I had a nice and large room with own balcony with a view to the bay. Room was clean and well maintained by the housekeeping. Free wifi works fine. The pool areas are really nice and peaceful. The breakfast is quite basic, I would have hoped more variety.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great setting tumbling down a hillside overlooking Basseterre Harbour/Bay with diving pelicans to entertain you as you relax on your balcony. Staff are welcoming and friendly and management keen to learn what you think and how the hotel could be improved. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite so we had our own lounge/ diner and kitchenette, though we only used that to make drinks and keep the cold drinks cold. It could have done with some modernisation, but was clean and comfortable. I know there are plans to continue with the upgrading of rooms, some of which already have been done and will have quieter air con.
No charge for wifi throughout the hotel (worked really well for out iPad) or for the room safe. Excellent value. Two restaurants to choose from,, Waterfalls at the top of the hill and Fisherman' Wharf at the bottom right beside the ocean. Food was good in both though Waterfalls could do with more variety if you we're going to eat in every night.
Three pools and lovely gardens all well tended. Just need to know that it might not be the place for you if you don't like lots of steps, otherwise if you want tone in town rather than beachside, it's the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned last week from our wonderful experience in St Kitts at the Ocean Terrace Inn. Apart from the lovely weather and the tranquil environs we were most impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and management of the resort. We spent a day over in Nevis and the overall relaxation of the evening and our meal at the Waterfalls restaurant in the hotel very pleasant. We loved the rustic charm of the Fisherman's Wharf and found it had great food as well. We would recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing and stress free vacation and we are looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
The treat was all ours, having such very nice people visit us at the Ocean Terrace Inn. Thank you for mentioning about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We look forward to your return visit one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Tyne and Wear
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at the Ocean Terrace Inn, we were welcomed by Floyd who knew exactly who we were before we even spoke! As it was my partner's birthday I had arranged for a bottle of wine to be placed in the room. Floyd also upgraded us to a superior room with a fantastic ocean view and not one but two balconies. The bottle of fizz was waiting for us as planned along with a birthday card. All were very nice touches.

We were given complimentary drinks vouchers and 10% discount vouchers for the restaurants when we checked in. We ate at both restaurants - Fisherman's Wharf and Waterfalls - and the food was delicious. We will write separate reviews for those.

The hotel has three swimming pools, including the Fantasy pool with a swim-up bar. We tried all three out during our stay - the fantasy pool was our favourite.

Our rate included full breakfast, which was more than sufficient to set us up for the day. Hot food was cooked to order and was yummy!

You can walk from the hotel to the centre of Basseterre along the sea front. This makes for a very pleasurable walk. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to South Frigate Bay beach.

If we ever visit St. Kitts again we would definitely stay at this hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are so happy our travel agent booked us in at this wonderful hotel in St Kitts! This was our third stay during our month long island hopping excursion, and OTI did not disappoint. Firstly, our view overlooking the cruise ship pier in Basseterre was a pleasure. The staff were exceptional and a pleasure to talk to on a daily basis.

Where do we begin? When we arrived, we were greeted to a complimentary rum punch by the reception desk, our bags were taken to our room below, and we noticed immediately the impeccable grounds, pools and our room. Griffin was a delight as he showed us to our room. Even though we booked a standard room, we were upgraded to a beautiful room with ocean view. It was spacious, cool with air conditioning and offered free wifi (beautiful to have this service included, thanks).

While on our one week stay, we enjoyed a complimentary continental breakfast each morning (Feel the Warmth promotion- another wonderful and appreciated inclusion). We also dined at both the pool grill, as well as the Waterfalls restaurant on our last evening here, which was impeccable! The food, service and quality were enjoyed thoroughly.

I also wanted to note how wonderful it is to see the community partnership which exists between OTI and a special needs population who came to enjoy the pool use on Thursday mornings as well as train for Special Olympics swimming on Saturday mornings. This is a pleasure to see! I happened to be present poolside when the group arrived, and they were respectful, gentle and enjoying this appreciated opportunity. I am a principal of a school and recognize the importance of community partnerships which give back locally. Thank you!

OTI was close to the capital of St Kitts, allowing us to walk in to town and experience the local cuisine, markets , etc. We had an exceptional stay, and this hotel is to be commended. We would, without hesitation, plan to return once again. Well done- superb staff (Griffin, Ellen, Coby, as well as so many others who are too numerous to mention here).

Keep up the great work, continue to offer free wifi, as well as promotions such as Feel the Warmth breakfasts, beach shuttle and so on- these things do not go unnoticed or unappreciated by your guests. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your Review, it's very much appreciated and helpful. Our hospitality and service is our utmost priority and thank you for taking the time to let us know that the service was appreciated and also how much you valued the free wifi and the 'Feel the Warmth free Continental breakfast.

In particular thank you for mentioning the members of our staff by their names as they truly deserve the recognition for a job well done. As suggested we will keep up the good work and hope you will come back and visit us again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Terrace Inn

Address: Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, the hotel is now a delightful eclectic 4 star St Kitts boutique oceanfront hotel enjoying breathtaking views of the Caribbean. With 3 swimming pools and 2 unique restaurants the hotel is located in a prime location outside of the capital city of Basseterre. The 50 attractive rooms and suites are cheerfully decorated with a selection of contemporary furniture and bright colors creating a signature style. T The Free Wi-Fi keeps you connected and our staff training program and our new service standards means that nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Terrace Hotel Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.