We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Property with Super Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Terrace Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Post Renovations Sale
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Basseterre
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Property with Super Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are so happy our travel agent booked us in at this wonderful hotel in St Kitts! This was our third stay during our month long island hopping excursion, and OTI did not disappoint. Firstly, our view overlooking the cruise ship pier in Basseterre was a pleasure. The staff were exceptional and a pleasure to talk to on a daily basis.

Where do we begin? When we arrived, we were greeted to a complimentary rum punch by the reception desk, our bags were taken to our room below, and we noticed immediately the impeccable grounds, pools and our room. Griffin was a delight as he showed us to our room. Even though we booked a standard room, we were upgraded to a beautiful room with ocean view. It was spacious, cool with air conditioning and offered free wifi (beautiful to have this service included, thanks).

While on our one week stay, we enjoyed a complimentary continental breakfast each morning (Feel the Warmth promotion- another wonderful and appreciated inclusion). We also dined at both the pool grill, as well as the Waterfalls restaurant on our last evening here, which was impeccable! The food, service and quality were enjoyed thoroughly.

I also wanted to note how wonderful it is to see the community partnership which exists between OTI and a special needs population who came to enjoy the pool use on Thursday mornings as well as train for Special Olympics swimming on Saturday mornings. This is a pleasure to see! I happened to be present poolside when the group arrived, and they were respectful, gentle and enjoying this appreciated opportunity. I am a principal of a school and recognize the importance of community partnerships which give back locally. Thank you!

OTI was close to the capital of St Kitts, allowing us to walk in to town and experience the local cuisine, markets , etc. We had an exceptional stay, and this hotel is to be commended. We would, without hesitation, plan to return once again. Well done- superb staff (Griffin, Ellen, Coby, as well as so many others who are too numerous to mention here).

Keep up the great work, continue to offer free wifi, as well as promotions such as Feel the Warmth breakfasts, beach shuttle and so on- these things do not go unnoticed or unappreciated by your guests. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your Review, it's very much appreciated and helpful. Our hospitality and service is our utmost priority and thank you for taking the time to let us know that the service was appreciated and also how much you valued the free wifi and the 'Feel the Warmth free Continental breakfast.

In particular thank you for mentioning the members of our staff by their names as they truly deserve the recognition for a job well done. As suggested we will keep up the good work and hope you will come back and visit us again sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
50
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I have been to OTI six times in the last ten years. We have loved it every time. Ocean Terrace Inn gives you that old British aura that still lingers on St. Kitts. The amenities were great and so was the food. The staff are always charming and friendly. The location allows us to walk into town for shopping and diverse dining experiences. The views from our room of Basseterre and the Caribbean were spectacular. Can’t wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in #27 which has two balconies and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It is a pleasure to have you return yet again to OTI. Thank you for mentioning our amenities and the good food. We look forward to welcoming you back, when Room 27 will be made available and ready for your seventh return visit.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our first ever visit to St Kitts and the Caribbean was cemented as perfect the minute we arrived at The Ocean Terrace Inn. Friendly and polite staff checked us in with a lovely drink of punch
and showed us to our delightful room, taking our luggage for us. The exciting walk to our room was a sheer joy, along the walkways and steps bordered by beautiful tropical plants and palm trees. Our beautiful corner room, on the third floor had two balconies so we had wonderful views over the harbour and town of Basseterre. We never ceased to be amazed at the gorgeous outlook. We looked down over the terraced gardens and onto two of the three swimming pools; Through lush palm trees and a variety of gorgeous flowering bushes the waterfalls swimming pool could be seen very invitingly twisting through, with sunbeds and tables waiting along side. We enjoyed a delicious choice of breakfasts which filled us for our sojourns of the day. The delightful structure of the hotel has elevated floors on different levels and facing in different directions and all blend in perfectly with the lush vegetation. Every member of staff was really helpful, friendly and attentive and made us feel special. The open restaurant is beautifully situated overlooking the gardens and harbour, and kept comfortable by the breeze. The West Indian Buffet evenings gave us a real flavour of the local cuisine, accompanied by a superb steel-pan band. Just sitting on the balconies was delightful, especially in the evenings when steel-pan music could be heard all around from local people enjoying themselves. We dined quite often at the hotel's Fishermans Wharfe Restaurant, reaching out into the harbour, and enjoyed the food but wished there was more choice of vegetables to the meat and fish. Also very endearing was the musical sounds coming from tiny tree frogs and crickets as soon as dusk fell. We loved St Kitts. It was a lovely stroll from our hotel along the harbour front into town; we enjoyed watching the fishermen, seeing the local people coming and going and the busy circus square. Also enjoyed a trip around the island with lunch at the lovely Ottley's Plantation Hotel; a rainforest trip and a peninsular trip, also a tour around Nevis. But I think most charming of all were the people, both in the hotel and all around the island. We loved the Ocean Terrace Inn with its lovely staff and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The room was lovely with a great view. All of the management and staff were very friendly and helpful. It's only a five-minute walk from the hotel to town. There were good restaurants nearby, including the hotel's Waterfall Restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We vacationed on Nevis, mid-Nov. to Dec. 23, and required an overnight hotel on St. Kitts due to an early morning departure from SKB on Dec. 24. We couldn't have been happier with management of reservation handling, competitive price, facilities and location. In many respects, we should have planned on two nights as there are numerous attractions within walking distance. Our "brunch" in the Waterfalls Restaurant, on-site, was well above average. Our room was spacious and clean. The grounds and pools were very attractive. The only caveate would be that there are many stairs that would challenge anyone with mobility issues. A short taxi ride to the airport at 6 a.m. was not a highlight but handled flawlessly by the the front desk. Cheers. Richard.

Room Tip: If you have mobiltiy issues, tell OTI when you make reservations...they may have rooms that are easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I travel a lot and experience many different hotels. So I try to be fair and objective when referring or criticizing hotels.

Business required, yep, required a trip to St Kitt's. It's a tough job, but someone's got to do it. Since my plans were last minute, the only decent place to stay was OTI. So I was concerned reading some of the commentary on Tripadvisor. First recommendation, measure negative remarks about any hotel by how picky the reviewer is. YOU know what I mean. If we're talking about dirt in the corner of a room, the reviewer has too much time on their hands and not really looking at the big picture.

I would recommend OTI without hesitation but with some qualifications. First, their service is great. In the last year, new management has been focusing heavily on providing a great experience for the guest. Every staff member greeted me with a genuine smile and showed sincere interest. I will overlook other weaknesses if I am getting exceptional service. Is the property older and needing some updates? Yes. Is the price of the stay a good value? Absolutely! Since OTI is not in the heart of the more frequented touristy areas, they seem to bend over backward to accommodate guest interests.

While the property and management are committed to making updates, OTI is a charming setting and is a great alternate to the big, predicable hotel resorts. It's certainly a better reflection of St Kitt's history and culture, but that's what this traveler prefers. I would steer you to OTI or Ottley's before the Marriott, if I may be so forward.

Watch for Ocean Terrace Inn to be an emerging treasure in a developing St Kitt's tourist market.

Room Tip: Call OTI for room options, some are better than others. They will work with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to several wonderful restaurants. The rooms were clean, the views were perfect. Close to downtown Bassaterre made experiencing the island fun and easy. There is an awesome grill on the pool area that is very reasonably priced.
My only complaint would be the wifi access was shotty for the last half of the visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that the rooms were clean. We especially understand your comment about the spotty wifi the last few days and we wanted to let you know that we are in discussion with the service provider in St Kitts to improve the wi fi access at the hotel. We will continue to provide free wi fi and we are optimistic that improvements in service will shortly be made.

Great to hear that you found our location for experiencing the island, fun and easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Terrace Inn

Address: Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Terrace Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, the hotel is now a delightful eclectic 4 star St Kitts boutique oceanfront hotel enjoying breathtaking views of the Caribbean. With 3 swimming pools and 2 unique restaurants the hotel is located in a prime location outside of the capital city of Basseterre. The 50 attractive rooms and suites are cheerfully decorated with a selection of contemporary furniture and bright colors creating a signature style. T The Free Wi-Fi keeps you connected and our staff training program and our new service standards means that nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Terrace Hotel Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.