We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Terrace Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Post Renovations Sale
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Basseterre
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The room was lovely with a great view. All of the management and staff were very friendly and helpful. It's only a five-minute walk from the hotel to town. There were good restaurants nearby, including the hotel's Waterfall Restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
50
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We vacationed on Nevis, mid-Nov. to Dec. 23, and required an overnight hotel on St. Kitts due to an early morning departure from SKB on Dec. 24. We couldn't have been happier with management of reservation handling, competitive price, facilities and location. In many respects, we should have planned on two nights as there are numerous attractions within walking distance. Our "brunch" in the Waterfalls Restaurant, on-site, was well above average. Our room was spacious and clean. The grounds and pools were very attractive. The only caveate would be that there are many stairs that would challenge anyone with mobility issues. A short taxi ride to the airport at 6 a.m. was not a highlight but handled flawlessly by the the front desk. Cheers. Richard.

Room Tip: If you have mobiltiy issues, tell OTI when you make reservations...they may have rooms that are easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I travel a lot and experience many different hotels. So I try to be fair and objective when referring or criticizing hotels.

Business required, yep, required a trip to St Kitt's. It's a tough job, but someone's got to do it. Since my plans were last minute, the only decent place to stay was OTI. So I was concerned reading some of the commentary on Tripadvisor. First recommendation, measure negative remarks about any hotel by how picky the reviewer is. YOU know what I mean. If we're talking about dirt in the corner of a room, the reviewer has too much time on their hands and not really looking at the big picture.

I would recommend OTI without hesitation but with some qualifications. First, their service is great. In the last year, new management has been focusing heavily on providing a great experience for the guest. Every staff member greeted me with a genuine smile and showed sincere interest. I will overlook other weaknesses if I am getting exceptional service. Is the property older and needing some updates? Yes. Is the price of the stay a good value? Absolutely! Since OTI is not in the heart of the more frequented touristy areas, they seem to bend over backward to accommodate guest interests.

While the property and management are committed to making updates, OTI is a charming setting and is a great alternate to the big, predicable hotel resorts. It's certainly a better reflection of St Kitt's history and culture, but that's what this traveler prefers. I would steer you to OTI or Ottley's before the Marriott, if I may be so forward.

Watch for Ocean Terrace Inn to be an emerging treasure in a developing St Kitt's tourist market.

Room Tip: Call OTI for room options, some are better than others. They will work with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to several wonderful restaurants. The rooms were clean, the views were perfect. Close to downtown Bassaterre made experiencing the island fun and easy. There is an awesome grill on the pool area that is very reasonably priced.
My only complaint would be the wifi access was shotty for the last half of the visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that the rooms were clean. We especially understand your comment about the spotty wifi the last few days and we wanted to let you know that we are in discussion with the service provider in St Kitts to improve the wi fi access at the hotel. We will continue to provide free wi fi and we are optimistic that improvements in service will shortly be made.

Great to hear that you found our location for experiencing the island, fun and easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I attended a reception at the hotel and the service was very poor. The choice of drink was red or white wine or punch so I chose the punch. I got a small glass of punch that after one sip it was finished. Asked the server for another glass and she said no you can only have one with attitude,she didn't even said let her find out if another glass can be served. My collegue asked for a glass because she did't have any drink and it took about 45mins for her to get it after we had to ask another server. The food was terrible tasteless and am a caribean person so I know how good food taste and i also work in the restaurant business thats why I knew that the second glass of punch not wine could have been served. Please improve on your customer service and remind your servers that caribean people deserve the same service as tourist because we pay our money as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear kizzy p,
We have read your Review and thank you for the detailed description of the event that took place at our hotel last Friday night.. We were very concerned to learn of the dissatisfaction you expressed and in light of this, we want to let you know that plans are already in hand to upgrade our services at the hotel and the first steps in this direction will become evident in the coming weeks.

We work very closely with all of our event organizers to carefully plan everything within their budgets and to provide the menu and drink selections that they have chosen. It is also our practice to contact every event organizer afterwards for their overall feedback and to ensure that their expectations were met. We did make a follow-up call to the organization who thanked us for our services and who said "what a wonderful time they had and that the food was great and that the service was excellent".

So thank you again for your review as we had considered this to be a successful evening whereas you were most disappointed and we again sincerely apologize for this. Additionally we want to emphasize that plans are already in hand to upgrade our services at the hotel and the first steps in this direction will become evident in the next month or so and we do hope you will be able to re-visit St Kitts, so that you will have an opportunity of sampling for yourself our new and improved level of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Caribbean
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel after the island had lots of rain. While I totally understand mother nature can be very unforgiving, the length of time and the type of issues I encountered during a 2.5 hr check-in process, was just upsetting.
While some staff seemed very helpful and understanding, others gave a different tone.
Two rooms had leaks in the ceiling, one of which was just cleaned (which took over a hour). This I could not understand, how could a room be just cleaned, and a dripping leak (making sound) next to the bed - not be noticed. (Also the first room smelled damp, and water leaked under the patio door into the tiled floor)
While they offered a 3rd room and free dinner. This was too much, and I changed hotels.
Also water pressure to the rooms were a issue, some guests had no running water in their rooms.
Not great timing, for me here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Nadia ST,
Thank you for your Review, it is very much appreciated and very helpful indeed. Improving our service is our utmost priority and we take all the comments very seriously.

On the day of your arrival at our hotel, as you mentioned St Kitts generally was recovering from Tropical Storm Rafael. During TS Rafael over 12 inches of rain had fallen and the hotel was completely full as we had a large group in-house. The hotel suffered some minor water damage and we experienced intermittent power and water supply, but the staff at Ocean Terrace attempted to provide the very best in service with very little resources.

On October 16th, the large group was still at the hotel (being stranded for two days) as their flights had been cancelled and in fact some of the group members were forced to stay an additional night, while others did manage to fly home later that afternoon. To ease their very difficult and stressful situation, we arranged for them to stay in their rooms (late check-out) until their travel arrangements were confirmed one way or the other.

We realize that our guests should not be concerned about such things that don't involve them personally but this particular day presented insurmountable issues that unfortunately effected you and your visit to Ocean Terrace Inn and we sincerely apologize for that.

We do hope there may be an opportunity for us to prove our commitment to you in the near future and we will personally undertake to look after you during your stay and to show that under different circumstances we do offer the best service and hospitality in St Kitts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just wanted to highlight a couple things about OTI in order to help improve their service.

Good:

1. The rooms are very nice and offers a good view of the harbour and city.

2. Lots of pools and water features

3. Multiple restaurant choices and great tasting food.


Bad:

1. Prices are high compared to other locations at Frigette Bay

2. Very few local dishes available on the menu

3. Poor selection of cable channels (about a dozen)

4. Slow internet speed

5. Customer service from some receptionist could improve.

6. I had to pay double for taxi because I asked them to reserve a taxi for me and this wasn't done. So in the morning a taxi had to come from Frigette Bay to take me to the airport.

Hopefully this will help to improve their hotel's ability to make their guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the Specials...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your Review, it's very much appreciated and helpful. Improving our service is our utmost priority and we take your review and comments very seriously.

In particular thank you for mentioning about the local dishes as we do agree that there is much to be done in this area, as with its rich soil, St. Kitts and Nevis produce some of the richest fruits and vegetables in the Caribbean which we will be including on our menus for our guests to enjoy.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again, when you see many improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Terrace Inn

Address: Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Terrace Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, the hotel is now a delightful eclectic 4 star St Kitts boutique oceanfront hotel enjoying breathtaking views of the Caribbean. With 3 swimming pools and 2 unique restaurants the hotel is located in a prime location outside of the capital city of Basseterre. The 50 attractive rooms and suites are cheerfully decorated with a selection of contemporary furniture and bright colors creating a signature style. T The Free Wi-Fi keeps you connected and our staff training program and our new service standards means that nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Terrace Hotel Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.