We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Terrace Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Re-Opening Special $159
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Basseterre
1 review
“Beautiful views, great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to several wonderful restaurants. The rooms were clean, the views were perfect. Close to downtown Bassaterre made experiencing the island fun and easy. There is an awesome grill on the pool area that is very reasonably priced.
My only complaint would be the wifi access was shotty for the last half of the visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that the rooms were clean. We especially understand your comment about the spotty wifi the last few days and we wanted to let you know that we are in discussion with the service provider in St Kitts to improve the wi fi access at the hotel. We will continue to provide free wi fi and we are optimistic that improvements in service will shortly be made.

Great to hear that you found our location for experiencing the island, fun and easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
51
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I attended a reception at the hotel and the service was very poor. The choice of drink was red or white wine or punch so I chose the punch. I got a small glass of punch that after one sip it was finished. Asked the server for another glass and she said no you can only have one with attitude,she didn't even said let her find out if another glass can be served. My collegue asked for a glass because she did't have any drink and it took about 45mins for her to get it after we had to ask another server. The food was terrible tasteless and am a caribean person so I know how good food taste and i also work in the restaurant business thats why I knew that the second glass of punch not wine could have been served. Please improve on your customer service and remind your servers that caribean people deserve the same service as tourist because we pay our money as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear kizzy p,
We have read your Review and thank you for the detailed description of the event that took place at our hotel last Friday night.. We were very concerned to learn of the dissatisfaction you expressed and in light of this, we want to let you know that plans are already in hand to upgrade our services at the hotel and the first steps in this direction will become evident in the coming weeks.

We work very closely with all of our event organizers to carefully plan everything within their budgets and to provide the menu and drink selections that they have chosen. It is also our practice to contact every event organizer afterwards for their overall feedback and to ensure that their expectations were met. We did make a follow-up call to the organization who thanked us for our services and who said "what a wonderful time they had and that the food was great and that the service was excellent".

So thank you again for your review as we had considered this to be a successful evening whereas you were most disappointed and we again sincerely apologize for this. Additionally we want to emphasize that plans are already in hand to upgrade our services at the hotel and the first steps in this direction will become evident in the next month or so and we do hope you will be able to re-visit St Kitts, so that you will have an opportunity of sampling for yourself our new and improved level of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Caribbean
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel after the island had lots of rain. While I totally understand mother nature can be very unforgiving, the length of time and the type of issues I encountered during a 2.5 hr check-in process, was just upsetting.
While some staff seemed very helpful and understanding, others gave a different tone.
Two rooms had leaks in the ceiling, one of which was just cleaned (which took over a hour). This I could not understand, how could a room be just cleaned, and a dripping leak (making sound) next to the bed - not be noticed. (Also the first room smelled damp, and water leaked under the patio door into the tiled floor)
While they offered a 3rd room and free dinner. This was too much, and I changed hotels.
Also water pressure to the rooms were a issue, some guests had no running water in their rooms.
Not great timing, for me here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Nadia ST,
Thank you for your Review, it is very much appreciated and very helpful indeed. Improving our service is our utmost priority and we take all the comments very seriously.

On the day of your arrival at our hotel, as you mentioned St Kitts generally was recovering from Tropical Storm Rafael. During TS Rafael over 12 inches of rain had fallen and the hotel was completely full as we had a large group in-house. The hotel suffered some minor water damage and we experienced intermittent power and water supply, but the staff at Ocean Terrace attempted to provide the very best in service with very little resources.

On October 16th, the large group was still at the hotel (being stranded for two days) as their flights had been cancelled and in fact some of the group members were forced to stay an additional night, while others did manage to fly home later that afternoon. To ease their very difficult and stressful situation, we arranged for them to stay in their rooms (late check-out) until their travel arrangements were confirmed one way or the other.

We realize that our guests should not be concerned about such things that don't involve them personally but this particular day presented insurmountable issues that unfortunately effected you and your visit to Ocean Terrace Inn and we sincerely apologize for that.

We do hope there may be an opportunity for us to prove our commitment to you in the near future and we will personally undertake to look after you during your stay and to show that under different circumstances we do offer the best service and hospitality in St Kitts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just wanted to highlight a couple things about OTI in order to help improve their service.

Good:

1. The rooms are very nice and offers a good view of the harbour and city.

2. Lots of pools and water features

3. Multiple restaurant choices and great tasting food.


Bad:

1. Prices are high compared to other locations at Frigette Bay

2. Very few local dishes available on the menu

3. Poor selection of cable channels (about a dozen)

4. Slow internet speed

5. Customer service from some receptionist could improve.

6. I had to pay double for taxi because I asked them to reserve a taxi for me and this wasn't done. So in the morning a taxi had to come from Frigette Bay to take me to the airport.

Hopefully this will help to improve their hotel's ability to make their guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the Specials...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianHarper, Manager at Ocean Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your Review, it's very much appreciated and helpful. Improving our service is our utmost priority and we take your review and comments very seriously.

In particular thank you for mentioning about the local dishes as we do agree that there is much to be done in this area, as with its rich soil, St. Kitts and Nevis produce some of the richest fruits and vegetables in the Caribbean which we will be including on our menus for our guests to enjoy.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again, when you see many improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

From the moment of our arrival, the staff at the Ocean Terrace Inn provided us with some of the most memorable experiences we have enjoyed in the Caribbean. The hotel overlooks Basseterre which is a short walk away along the waterfront. It sits on the hillside with views across the town and down the coastline to the island of Nevis off in the distance.
The 65 bedrooms cascade down the hillside to the ocean and although there is no real beach for sunning, the three beautiful hotel swimming pools easily made up any difference. The setting enjoys a constant breeze across the bay and the proximity to everything on St Kitts was all we might have imagined.
The two restaurants Waterfalls and the Fisherman's Wharf provided us with great occasions during our stay and the staff at each were terrific.
We would highly recommend 'OTI' to anyone planning a trip to St Kitts.

Room Tip: We suggest either the Rockery or Bay View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great view, clean rooms , reasonable price, friendly staff, great pool, and wonderful restaurant next door. Also has a great pool complex including a river connecting the two that is nice.
Bar is right by so easy access here. Burgers are great and cheap!

Room Tip: A little out of the beach area and downtown, but well worth the trip, Called "OTI" on St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are looking for a true island experience the Ocean Terrace Inn is for you. The hotel property is very beautiful and has a calming effect on you. I especially loved the food at the Fisherman's Wharf and they also do room service from this restaurant. The Waterfalls Restaurant also has a pasta tuesdays and fridays for lunch. The seafood pasta is a must. The staff are very kind and friendly and the location is very central. Depending on the view you can see the cruise ships as they come in every day. Truly an experience we should all have when visiting the beautiful island of St Kitts and Nevis.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room or one thats near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Terrace Inn

Address: Wigley Avenue | Fortlands, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, the hotel is now a delightful eclectic 4 star St Kitts boutique oceanfront hotel enjoying breathtaking views of the Caribbean. With 3 swimming pools and 2 unique restaurants the hotel is located in a prime location outside of the capital city of Basseterre. The 50 attractive rooms and suites are cheerfully decorated with a selection of contemporary furniture and bright colors creating a signature style. T The Free Wi-Fi keeps you connected and our staff training program and our new service standards means that nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Terrace Hotel Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Basseterre
Ocean Terrace Inn St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.