We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bird Rock Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   South Pelican Drive, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Basseterre
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Bird Rock hotel in January 2013, not the best on the island but you get what you pay for. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and AC worked. Pictures on their website are not total true to life. Food was ok but portions are very small. If you can eat some where else. Walls are very thin, could hear the TV on in the next room all night long, could hear their phone calls too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    17
    12
    17
See reviews for
14
32
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bird Rock our first night in St. Kitts before staying at the Marriott. It was a decent stay; the accommodations aren't the best but, then again, you are not paying for the best. :)
What you will get is a friendly staff and the best cup of coffee you'll ever have in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Bird Rock has a full service dive center on the property with and dive boat. It was great to walk from my room right to the boat in the morning. Having traveled the caribbean I would rate Bird Rock as a good local hotel. If you want the crowds, american type amenities $$$ stay at the Marriott. Bird Rock is an good value, with a friendly staff, clean rooms, and good food on property. We stayed 7 nights here on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

When you see the pictures of the place, it looks wonderful. Its NOT its run down, small,A/c barely works, furnishing are wore out, and over priced. $19.95 a nite hotel in the US. Its was all BAD!!! Door to the balcony was off the tracks water tap leaked all night. many empty beer bottles were laying around on the grounds. Any place on the Island is better than this!!!

Room Tip: Stay Away, just vist it to see what might have been.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very practical accommodations with a great view of the ocean and Basseterre. If you are looking for high-end luxurious accommodations with all of the amenities, this is not the spot. But if you want a basic room with convenient kitchenette in your room at an affordable price with very courteous staff, this fits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly. However, having to go to the office to get things out or put things in the safety deposit box was very inconvenient. They are small -- I-pad won't fit. One night I went to the office to get items out of our safety deposit box & the office was dark & locked up. It was 8:10 & there was a sign posted on the door that said they were open until 9:00.
Our first night there we had been flying most of the day & were famished. When we went to the restaurant to eat, a gentleman said we would have to go to the beach bar, even though the book in the room said they were open until 9:00. When we got to the beach bar, no one was interested in taking our order. We finally got served (only from the appetizers menu) but it took a very long time & we felt we were imposing.
When we arrived the next morning for breakfast at 10:50, the waitress made a rude comment about breakfast ending at 11.00. Our last night, we again went to the restaurant & were immediately sent to Diana's which should be open until 9:30. We arrived at 8:30 & were told all we could order were hamburgers. Unbelieveable! We stayed at Bird Rock for a week & never saw the complete menu. They just weren't interested in selling food.
Our first morning we were woken by the maid pounding on the door. She would not quit until we opened the door. We had no sleep the previous night preparing to fly. I guess they have never heard of do not disturb.
Our room didn't have a water view because of trees outside our window. Our stay was disappointing. I know it is off season, but if you don't have it, don't advertise it.

Room Tip: If you want a low priced room, this might be the place for you, but don't expect a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from an eleven day trip to St Kitts, I stayed in the Bird Rock Beach hotel and the place was great. The rooms are basic but comfortable, the floors are tile and walls bright my room had a comfortable king size bed and the balcony gave a good sea view. The food was part of the package and was good, the local dishes in particular are worth trying although even the dishes you think you recognize are not quite what you would expect. The staff were friendly and sociable and made the stay very enjoyable, the hotel is in a quieter area (they told me this before I booked) so if you are after night life it may not be your first choice. The beach area is small but there is always room on the beach and the inlet has some of the best snorkeling with a range of marine life including an octopus. All in all a great choice and very enjoyable stay.
As a Diver the highlight for me was the presence of the dive shop on site, the staff were first rate, Tony, Alec, Cpt Crabby and Tucker made the trip for me, the dive sites were first rate and if you go you have to dive the River Taw, a superb wreck site. Good visibility and marine life, we saw turtles, barracuda and some big rays in addition to the tropical fish life. The reefs are pretty remarkable and the staff know them very well, all in all an excellent team and I recommend them (they even arranged an island tour for me, the guide was great and his local knowledge of the islands and their history was remarkable, ask nicely and I am sure they will do the same for you).
Both the Hotel and Dive St Kitts are highly recommended.
If anyone has any specific questions feel free to ask.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw seemed to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basseterre
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#1 of 3 in Basseterre
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 9 in St. Kitts
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#1 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Address: South Pelican Drive, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bird Rock Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded cove overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Bird Rock Beach Hotel captivates you with its tranquil setting and its warm hospitality. Guests have access to a wide variety of water based activities including swimming, kayaking, snorkeling and scuba diving. There are three restaurants including Rocky’s Beach Bar & Grill. The hotel’s 46 air-conditioned rooms are tastefully furnished and include a king-size bed or two queen-size beds, full bathrooms, cable TV, and private balconies with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Kids 11 and under say free when sharing with adults. Dive St Kitts, the island’s premier dive operation, is located at the base of the hotel. The private harbor shelters the 32' twin 200HP monohull and is perfectly located on one of the best, easy access, shore dives on the Caribbean side of St Kitts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bird Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Beach Resort
Bird Rock Beach Basseterre
Bird Rock Beach Hotel St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Rock Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.