We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and memorable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bird Rock Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   South Pelican Drive, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Basseterre
Buffalo, Ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant and memorable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Bird Rock 1/13/12-1/23/12 on our annual "small hotel/dive gettaway on an island in January" trip. The Bird Rock met all of our expectations.
We avoid the big hotels and busy night life whenever we can so finding the Bird Rock was a great pleasure. The hotel warned us that is was out of the way in case we were looking for something else. I thought that was a nice touch-trying in insure that we knew what we were getting.
In contrast to many St. Kitts hotels, the Bird Rock's rooms face the water. Most have a porch which is perfect for morning coffee and evening sunsets, which we used every day to enjoy both the sun and the free drink which came with our day of diving. This is a very nice setting.
The staff and management were the best we have experienced in our 20 year of this kind of island travel. Friendly. Helpful. No sign of distraction from their jobs ever. Management helped to arrange a scooter rental for a bit less than average priciing.
The hotel is not new, but it is servicable. There is pealing paint and broken fixtures in places, but everything works. Our room was quite large and the furniture was not new, but the bed was comfortable and that was about all we used the room for. We had a problem with our shower which was fixed within an hour.
We used the swimming pool every day. It was clean and inviting always.
We bought the breakfast package and found a full and diverse menu of well prepared food which was severed by staff who learned who you were and by the third day knwo what you wanted and prepared for our arrival. We had only one dinner at the hotel chosing rather to use our scooter to explore the island and its restaurants. Good burger from the beach bar. AND the beer is cold!!
If you are looking for lux and spiffy go elsewhere. if you want to be welcomed and served by folks who are glad you are there, give Greg and his staff a try.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    19
    12
    18
See reviews for
14
32
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel from February 29 to March 6 2012. We wanted a beach (and we got a small one), a diving shop, a kitchenette in our room and a clean place to stay: we got it all. The place was very quiet and exactly what we hoped for. The staff was courteous and friendly. If you need something, just ask, they'll do their best to help.
The pool, the rooms, lawns and beach are clean. Don't expect the beauty and luxury of a 5 star hotel, but a rustique style you will find across the island.
We rented a car for a few days and drove around the island - 3 days was more then enough to go ALL around the island and laze around other beaches.
I would NOT recommend the Golden Lemon - it is far from the airport and the surroundings look broken down.
Do stop for a coffee at the Rawlins Plantation Inn - it was a wonderful surprise to be served a spicy cake with our coffe in a podom. If you can afford it, it's a beautiful place to stay surrounded by luxious tropical vegetation. It's at least a 45 minute drive from the airport and a car is needed to go to the beach.
If you want a long chair and umbrella at the Carambola, you have to pay! Finally, it was a great deal! 10$ US for a long chair and 10$ US for an umbrella. You could get served on the beach and the staff was not bothersome. We'd go back there anytime, it was worth it. My only problem was the bathroom lady...did she want a tip? She seemed skepticle to let me use a bathroom one day? Hmm.
Finally, Bird Rock Beach Hotel was a great choice for our budget and we would go back with the kids next time too.

Room Tip: Take a room with a kitchenette and save on restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My Brother and I spent a week at the Bird Rock Beach in March.
It's off the beaten track, but close enough to walk to the local super markets (15 mins) and Basseterre (30 mins). A taxi from the aiport cost $14USD and takes about 10 mins.
The room was large with a balcony overlooking the sea + the island of Nevis. This is a place to come to if you want to seriously chill out. Dive, snorkel and shoot the breeze. If you're after bustling night-life, well I guess Basseterre is only 10 mins ($10USD) by taxi.
The staff are really friendly. We we here for a diving break (Dive St.Kitts are awesome) and on a B&B basis. This was great.
For lunch, head down to Rockies for beers and food in the sun. All very chilled out.
The snorkelling off the beach here is not to be missed. Every time I was out I was bumping into Hawksbill turtles and just loads of marine life.
I would definitely come back.
If you want fast paced holidays and loads of things to do (post 9pm) then go some place else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

had a great vacation with Birdrock as our 'homebase'. We WALKED to town, WALKED over the hill to Frigate Bay (did take a taxi back after a meal & a few rum punches). Walked to the bakery down the road, enjoyed the patios & pool overlooking the ocean. It didn't break the bank, and all that was necessary we found at Birdrock. Someone wanting to be waited on hand & foot needed to PAY for that kind of service elsewhere.
Food was great, staff were all cordial, and helpful. Room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Went for a dive trip. The resort's location perfect. Environment absolutely beautiful. Perfect for relaxation. Reef very healthy. Lotsa small & midsize fish. Night diving the Taw incredible. Food was excellent. What made this place was the people. We fell in love with everyone. There is this really sweet cheerful boat captain...I think named Captn Happy, a talkative wedding ring finder (always with the red back pack), Ice diver, Tony the stress free and excellent dive master, Alex the voice of reason , Devon the comedian, Dean the singing sensation, sweet Latoya, dependable Edna, Rockledge owner extrordinaire....the housekeepers and grounds keepers were awesome. There is one Jamaican man who gets mad at big trees. Even the local cats are friendly. Its hard to leave such cool people...but as Tony says...think of us as new friends for life

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just come back from a one week stay at Bird Rock. This is a fairly basic hotel, it isn't luxury by any means - but then it doesn't set itself out to be a resort type hotel. (if you want that, go to the Marriott at Frigate's Bay) The staff are friendly and helpful. It is, clean, tidy, and comfortable wtih well maintained gardens, and a very good dive outfit on site. The rooms are a bit sad looking - a bit dated - but don't let that put you off - we'd go back.
Our only gripe was that the bed was very squeaky - but staff tried to sort that out for us promptly. They managed to reduce the squeak level, but not illiminate it - in fact we were told that most beds on the island sqeak - wooden beds and the climate apparently.
I prefer this family run type of hotel than a resort style hotel, any day. In fact, you get breakfast here with the owner every day - he's keen to "sell" his island, make recommendations for where to go to eat, attractions to visit etc, and is undertandably proud of his hotel.
It would be an awkward place to stay if you aren't good mobility wise - there are a lot of steps. The pool is clean, but nothing fancy but the swim up bar is not in use. When we stayed it was very quiet - not at full capacity by any means.
A car is also, in my view, essential - the hotel is out on a limb with no supermarkets/ eating places etc. nearby. However, the island is very easy to navigate (they drive on the left) and within 10 minutes easy drive there are a whole host of good places to eat, from fancy cuisine to pretty rustic beach shacks. (nb - check in advance they take credit cards if you want to pay by that method - not all do!). Cars are apparently limited on the island, however, Liz on reception organised us one in advance with a few emailed exchanges. Cars can't be delivered to the hotel, but as the main car hire offices are only about 2 miles away, they will come and collect and return you from the hotel to the offices to get your car.
The food was good at Bird Rock, but a little "samey" - eating out is a preferable option.
Dive St Kitts, which runs from the hotel is fantastic. Captain Crabby (the skipper) runs a tight ship. Their diving kit looked top notch (although we took our own). He's called Crabby - because he is a bit crabby, but I think that he has a reputation to maintain in that regard - he, like the rest of the crew are sound blokes, who are good at what they do.
The beach bar, Rockies, has good food for lunch, and shade as well as sunshine. if you go, read the signs nailed up - a source of endless entertainment!
All told - a good holiday, in a great place, which we would be happy to go back to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at the Bird Rock, & I must say we really enjoyed our time there. The staff were very friendly & helpful & the meals were good.
The location of the hotel gives it one of the best views on the island. Yes the place is not a “Grand Hotel”, some of it's features may be considered quirky by some, but if you want to experience the real West Indies it is ideal. If you do not, go & stay at the Marriott & immerse your self in American/European culture with sun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Address: South Pelican Drive, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bird Rock Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded cove overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Bird Rock Beach Hotel captivates you with its tranquil setting and its warm hospitality. Guests have access to a wide variety of water based activities including swimming, kayaking, snorkeling and scuba diving. There are three restaurants including Rocky’s Beach Bar & Grill. The hotel’s 46 air-conditioned rooms are tastefully furnished and include a king-size bed or two queen-size beds, full bathrooms, cable TV, and private balconies with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Kids 11 and under say free when sharing with adults. Dive St Kitts, the island’s premier dive operation, is located at the base of the hotel. The private harbor shelters the 32' twin 200HP monohull and is perfectly located on one of the best, easy access, shore dives on the Caribbean side of St Kitts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Bird Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Beach Resort
Bird Rock Beach Basseterre
Bird Rock Beach Hotel St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Rock Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.