We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good diving, nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bird Rock Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   South Pelican Drive, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good diving, nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just come back from a one week stay at Bird Rock. This is a fairly basic hotel, it isn't luxury by any means - but then it doesn't set itself out to be a resort type hotel. (if you want that, go to the Marriott at Frigate's Bay) The staff are friendly and helpful. It is, clean, tidy, and comfortable wtih well maintained gardens, and a very good dive outfit on site. The rooms are a bit sad looking - a bit dated - but don't let that put you off - we'd go back.
Our only gripe was that the bed was very squeaky - but staff tried to sort that out for us promptly. They managed to reduce the squeak level, but not illiminate it - in fact we were told that most beds on the island sqeak - wooden beds and the climate apparently.
I prefer this family run type of hotel than a resort style hotel, any day. In fact, you get breakfast here with the owner every day - he's keen to "sell" his island, make recommendations for where to go to eat, attractions to visit etc, and is undertandably proud of his hotel.
It would be an awkward place to stay if you aren't good mobility wise - there are a lot of steps. The pool is clean, but nothing fancy but the swim up bar is not in use. When we stayed it was very quiet - not at full capacity by any means.
A car is also, in my view, essential - the hotel is out on a limb with no supermarkets/ eating places etc. nearby. However, the island is very easy to navigate (they drive on the left) and within 10 minutes easy drive there are a whole host of good places to eat, from fancy cuisine to pretty rustic beach shacks. (nb - check in advance they take credit cards if you want to pay by that method - not all do!). Cars are apparently limited on the island, however, Liz on reception organised us one in advance with a few emailed exchanges. Cars can't be delivered to the hotel, but as the main car hire offices are only about 2 miles away, they will come and collect and return you from the hotel to the offices to get your car.
The food was good at Bird Rock, but a little "samey" - eating out is a preferable option.
Dive St Kitts, which runs from the hotel is fantastic. Captain Crabby (the skipper) runs a tight ship. Their diving kit looked top notch (although we took our own). He's called Crabby - because he is a bit crabby, but I think that he has a reputation to maintain in that regard - he, like the rest of the crew are sound blokes, who are good at what they do.
The beach bar, Rockies, has good food for lunch, and shade as well as sunshine. if you go, read the signs nailed up - a source of endless entertainment!
All told - a good holiday, in a great place, which we would be happy to go back to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
16
34
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at the Bird Rock, & I must say we really enjoyed our time there. The staff were very friendly & helpful & the meals were good.
The location of the hotel gives it one of the best views on the island. Yes the place is not a “Grand Hotel”, some of it's features may be considered quirky by some, but if you want to experience the real West Indies it is ideal. If you do not, go & stay at the Marriott & immerse your self in American/European culture with sun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated, well maintained, and the staff were helpful and friendly. There appeared to be maybe half-a-dozen parties staying there, and with such low volume it's hard to see how they make it. The room was very much spartan and what you would expect for a budget hotel. The pool and restaurant area command a beautiful view of Basseterre and further down the coast of St. Kitts. We only had a one night stay, but it should be considered if you are looking for affordable lodging on an expensive island. Oh, and the breakfast at the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

There are 2 good staff -only 2 - in this hotel and they both work in Reception.Our room which was supposed to have a kitchenette was not even equipped to make a cup of coffee The kitchen equipment was either non-existant or in very bad condition.The restaurant staff were impolite verging on rude and the food was very, very poor quality.The very small beach area is home to thousands of sand flies and while the views from the hotel are good there are empty beer bottles left lying around for at least 3 days and the feeling really is that this is not the cleanest hotel in town.The hotel is not really served by the local buses and is therefore hard to reach without usung taxisHaving spent 4 weeks on Nevis we were very disappointed.Do not use this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPR_SKB, General Manager at Bird Rock Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Disappointed Devon,

We apologize if the hotel was in fact not up to standard and that your experience was not a pleasant one. I do have problem with this review as I live and walk the property every day.

Regarding the coffee maker, if you needed one, all you had to do was ask the receptionist and one would have been provided. All of the kitchenette's are equipped with a stove with oven, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. All kitchenette's including the equipment are in good condition.

The comment about the restaurant staff is hard to believe as well. Without prompting, current and past guests will speak only good of the dining room staff. "The food was poor quality" Well if that were the case, no one would have been eating breakfast this morning, nor would they have been eating dinner last night. Our food is very very good and we get compliments on this all the time.

The beach is raked daily and the hotel grounds are cleaned everyday so finding beer bottles anywhere for 3 days is not possible. We can't control sand flies. There was a lot of rain recently and not only did sand flies come out, so did the regular ones. These were everywhere on the island.

Regarding buses, no hotel in St. Kitts are served by local buses. All are served by taxis. If they were served by local buses, then taxis would make no money.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Recently stayed and dived at Bird Rock Beach Hotel with a friend. It was the best dive vacation we've had in a long time. We read the reviews before coming and really did not know what to expect because of the mixed reviews, some great and some really bad. In the end we decided to take the “plunge” as we are both divers and this is the only hotel on the island with an on-site dive shop. So they were able to customize a package for us that included diving and full breakfast every morning. You have to try the saltfish and johnny cakes for breakfast...delicious! We ate out most nights to see the island and the food at the hotel was just as good. Best of all, we could get up, have breakfast and stroll down to the dive shop which is well run by a fun group of guys.

We stayed in a studio room which was very spacious and comfortable. The best thing of all was the view which as just amazing! Because of another review I did go looking for bugs and found none during my stay in the room. Occasional mosquito now and again but nothing serious.

All I can say is that if you're diver like me and you're looking for your next dive vacation, I highly recommend diving in St. Kitts and staying at Bird Rock Beach Hotel.

PM

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The room was unmade on my arrival, and it took the staff 3 attempts to find me a "clean" room.
When I was left to unpack I found human hair's in the drawers and on the bathroom floor.
I checked out and went to the Marriott.

Room Tip: Try the Marriott!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grich023, General Manager at Bird Rock Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We apologize if the room was in fact not up to standard and that your experience was not a pleasant one. It is a bit concerning that this review was posted almost 1 year after your stay.

It is our policy to check all guest rooms a few hours prior to the check-in time to turn on the A/C unit, do a light freshen up and conduct a final walk through. If we did miss that, it is highly unlikely that we would then fail three more times to secure a clean room.

At Bird Rock Beach Hotel, we are focused on providing good service and a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

A mixed review-the hotel is in a good part of town on the Caribbean side of the island. There are no restaurants nearby. A grocery is about a mile away, but uphill and no sidewalks to use. The hotel property is large and has lots of flights of stairs-especially to the main desk and down to the small beach/bar area. The bar is fine, the beach is about 20-30 feet wide and far from any of the rooms. There is good snorkeling there though. The pool is OK, there is no bar at the pool as advertised-it has been closed for 4 years. We had a room with a kitchen, (you need matches for the stove), it is the tropics, so be meticulous with food or you will have bugs. Air conditioning worked-had a few power failures. Internet only works down in the bar and occasionally by the pool. If you want a hair dryer or iron, you have to give a $25 deposit for each. Breakfast was OK, a little pricey, service is definately island time, Miss Edna is great. The reason we stayed there-there is a scuba service on the hotel property, which was great, especially Alex and Steve!! The hotel is dated, needs updating, rooms were clean. There are several buildings on the property-ask for the 300 or 400 to be near the pool and scuba. If you want a resort-this isn't the place-stay at the Mariott which is closer to bars, restaurants, etc. (Their pizza by the pool at the Mariott is great!!) I f you want to read by the pool and have peace and quiet and have easy access to a scuba company, this works. Everything you do is a taxi ride-$10-$12, otherwise rent a car if you don't mind driving on the left.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Address: South Pelican Drive, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bird Rock Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a secluded cove overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Bird Rock Beach Hotel captivates you with its tranquil setting and its warm hospitality. Guests have access to a wide variety of water based activities including swimming, kayaking, snorkeling and scuba diving. There are three restaurants including Rocky’s Beach Bar & Grill. The hotel’s 46 air-conditioned rooms are tastefully furnished and include a king-size bed or two queen-size beds, full bathrooms, cable TV, and private balconies with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. Kids 11 and under say free when sharing with adults. Dive St Kitts, the island’s premier dive operation, is located at the base of the hotel. The private harbor shelters the 32' twin 200HP monohull and is perfectly located on one of the best, easy access, shore dives on the Caribbean side of St Kitts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Bird Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Beach Resort
Bird Rock Beach Basseterre
Bird Rock Beach Hotel St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Rock Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.