We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frigate Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Frigate Bay Resort to your Saves list
Frigate Bay Resort
Frigate Bay P.O. Box 137, Basseterre, St. Kitts   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Basseterre
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Caribbean Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small, intimate, lovely, original hotel in the middle of the Southeast Penninsula on St.Kitts....you can see the Caribbean Sea on one side and the Atlantic Ocean on the other...Stayed 2 weeks here in 2008....Not one of those massive line up AI's here...Wonderful staff and the best GM ever...Guess things have changed since I've been there...not sure when the negative reviews were written?
Favorite island to visit to date!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and outdoor dining are lovely...Avoid mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    15
    13
    5
See reviews for
6
16
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel is in need of an Extreme Makeover. I found it to be outdated, tired, lazy, dark, gloomy and felt unsafe. This is unfortunate because the area is very green, quiet and gorgeous. The staff were friendly in general. The room itself is very basic and tired. Fixtures were falling off, shower rod kept falling down taking the curtain down and the bed was uncomfortable. The AC did not cool the room and the door did not seem to close and lock down well. The room was generally clean although I found a body hair in the shower. I reported it and it was cleaned. The outdated feel and falling fixtures and furniture made it look unclean. I ate at the restaurant once for breakfast and I found the meal overpriced. Internet range was poor and only accessible if you have a room near the pool area. There were many mosquitoes outside and made working outside at night difficult - since my room was way to the back and had no internet. I would suggest finding another hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room near the pool - at least you will have internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

New owners suppose to covert it into dorms for nearby medical school

Dirty, air con didn't work, meals small and overpriced, shoddy....just run

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Was an okay joint; relatively clean, but a bit worn down. Had $120 stolen out of my room- yes, my room mate didn't lock the door- by a staff member, whom I woke up to find hurtling himself over the balcony and disappearing around the corner before I could get a look at him. The office lady shrugged at me and offered to call the police; they seemed patently uninterested to intervene. It's St. Kitts... what're you gonna do? The waitstaff at the restaurant was always friendly, however, and the manager's receptions and rum punch were good. Intermittent contact with the free WiFi unless you were on the pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel approximately 13 years ago and was very pleased with my stay there at that time, so I decided to book a stay with this hotel again. When I arrived at the hotel the first room that I was given was quite horrible (3rd floor hillside facing room). The wooden steps leading to the room were neglected, and falling apart. The actually door to the room was ajar and it looked as if housekeeping was in the middle of sweeping the floor, but just stopped and never picked up the dirt. The air conditioner barely worked, there was no toilet tissue in the room, and the bed linen had multiple stains them. I complained to the manager. He was very accommodating and apologetic. The manager moved me to another room about 30 minutes later that was 100% better (2nd floor poolside facing room). The only issue in that room was the fact that the sink would link every now and then. But I did not complain about this issue because other than that, I liked the room. There was a better air conditioner and refrigerator located in this room.

Housekeeping for the hotel only works until 3pm, so it is difficult to get housekeeping needs met after that time. Housekeeping is just mediocre. There was a piece of paper in the corner of the room for days at a time, there was dust on the lamps in the room, there were visible smudges and prints on the glass doors of the terrace for days at a time, and there were times that we did not get the correct number of towels and wash clothes in the room.

There is a nice size pool located on the property, but I preferred to go to the beach which is located close by.

The front desk was very helpful in terms of calling taxis and providing info about prices of the taxis.

Jasmine's Restaurant which is located on the property is very over priced, the food that I had was not that great, and the wait time to get the food is quite long. There are cats that will come around while you are dining that wait for you to give them food- if you like cats, it's great, if you don't, it's quite annoying.

On a positive note, the hotel is very conveniently located, steps away from the beach, steps away from "the strip," steps away from great restaurants and places to eat, 10-15 minutes from the airport and 10-15 minutes from town.

There is complimentary internet service as long as you have a laptop, but the service disconnects frequently while you are online.

In closing, this property has such great potential, but it is in need of some major renovations. I would think twice about booking at this hotel until the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I am here for a week of business meetings and my team and I were disappointed to find out that there are no desks in the rooms. It's definitely not set up for business travelers. As others have mentioned, this hotel has seen better days and seems to have bit hit pretty hard by the current economic situation worldwide. We have seen very few other guests. The rooms are very mediocre and most of the hotel needs to be updated. Slat/louvered windows don't shut so mosquitoes come in. The bed in my room is actually a pull-out couch rather than a proper bed. The walk to the beach is closer to 10 minutes, not 3 as advertised, and there are some good dining spots down there. The manager seems very nice and aims to please, but it's clear there aren't sufficient funds to do much updating of the rooms and grounds, so the overall feeling is one of slight neglect. The food as Jasmine restaurant has been very disappointing. Breakfasts are only offered in set menus (all very overpriced), lunches (primarily sandwiches) are not very tasty, and meal service is extremely slow. On the plus side, it is a fairly affordable location, reasonable distance to Frigate Bay beach, and while the kitchens in some rooms are spartan, they would at least be functional and good to have for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This place needs to be closed. Upon arrival with a pre paid week through Skyauction, the front desk person was surprised that we had a kitchen room. She called an elderly gentleman(manager?) and when he was told that we had a pre paid kitchen room he looked like a deer caught in headlights. He brought us to a room where the window would not close and the handles fell on the floor with holes in the cement where it they should be, no water in the toilet, the dirt was "crusted" on the counter, the windows filthy, the pots and pans were rusted or black or dented, and HE just said there must be something better. Getting to this room was an adventure. The door 's bottom was rotten so bad that there was at least a two inch space !!!!The wooden hand railings were rotted out in places, the cement/stone stairs were missing chunks, the "sidewalks" were broken pieces of cement..the pool was being filled using a 1/2 hose since the week before, due to heavy rains, the pool was filled with mud from a mud slde!. The pool furniutre was a pile of broken items. The pool liner had a black to grey ring around the edge. We excused ourselves to go to the nearby supermarket to buy some food, but in reality went to the nearby beautiful Marriot and paid dearly for an excellent room. Frigate Bay Resort according to their add is a short three mnute walk to the beach.. THE BEACH IS OVER A MILE AWAY!!!!!!!! I cannot and do not believe what other people could written anything good about this hell hole! STAY AWAY!!!! The place was quiet since while looking aroun we saw ONE car andonly ONE person!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frigate Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frigate Bay Resort

Address: Frigate Bay P.O. Box 137, Basseterre, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Basseterre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Basseterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Frigate Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frigate Bay Hotel Basseterre
Frigate Bay Basseterre
Frigate Bay St Kitts
Frigate Bay Resort St. Kitts/Basseterre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frigate Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.