We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Food - Italian style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ciao

ciao
Frigate Bay, Basseterre, St. Kitts
869 466 3735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Basseterre
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of Food - Italian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

my co-workers and I had our christmas dinner at Ciao. The menu gave a wow experience - tasty but not sugary (caribbean flavour) I liked the1/2 lobster termidor but I disliked the lobster avocado salad. The absence of music made the evening a little dull.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    73
    37
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value we went 2x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Food in general is expensive in St. Kitts and Ciao was very reasonable for the price. It is within walking distance to the Marriott which helped in us going 2x for sure.

Overall we had penne pasta, lasagna, 2 different ravioli types (meat, spinach and cheese), chicken parmigiana

They serve it with a starter plate of bruschetta too

If you have kids and the owner is there she will ask your kids to draw a picture of their trip. After that she will laminate it and make a placemat for your child and deliver it to your hotel front desk before you leave, what a nice touch !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelflyOh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We walked to Ciao for dinner twice while staying at the Marriott in early March. We had pasta each time and found it outstanding. The salads were also fresh. Service was not as good as it could have been (asked if they could bring us dessert when we had not received the entrees yet!!), and started stacking all the chairs on the vacant tables when we were still eating another night. Owners aren't too friendly either which may be why the servers aren't too enthusiastic, but if you want good pasta, this is where to visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Worse than Fazzolis”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The worst Italian meal I have ever had. The bruschetta tasted like it came from a can. My pumpkin ravioli were swimming in a watery salty mess. The marinara tasted like they dumped it out of a can, microwaved it and threw it on noodles. The fish was dry and overcooked. Servers were kind and professional. Too bad the cooks are terrible! The atmosphere was marginal. The prices were
High for the quality of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Italian Food for a Change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you need to have your Italian food fix while you are on the island this is the place to go. Pretty good food and near the Marriot. The atmosphere is nothing special but they do have outdoor seating. The food was well presented and true to its Italian heritage.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ciao also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ciao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.