We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Italian food in St. Kitts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ciao

ciao
Frigate Bay, Basseterre, St. Kitts
869 466 3735
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 restaurants in Basseterre
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent Italian food in St. Kitts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance from the Marriott is something that caught me by surprise....pretty good Italian food. I had homemade lobster ravioli in a saffron sauce, which was very yummy. My wife had a filet with Gorgonzola sauce, which she thoroughly enjoyed. The staff was very sweet and attentive. Give it a try and you may also be pleasantly surprised

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    108
    61
    32
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did not a have reservations but were seated in a few minutes. A large party was arriving and the hostess made sure we got our order in quickly so we were not delayed for a long time. Would recommend the spaghetti Bolognese... the best I ever had! It was a delightful magical meal and time spent at Caio! Go there!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts and Nevis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible dining experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I begrudgingly returned to Ciao after previously being unimpressed with the quality of the food. Not only did we all find the food underwhelming but the service was horrendous. We had to wait about an hour for our soup to arrive and then another half an hour for the entrees. A 2 hour dining experience with overpriced, bland food and little atmosphere. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant to anyone. So many better options on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sweet staff,”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

volume pasta with heavy cream sauce on all our entrees even the tomato based orders
if you really want to get toxic on carbs go for it
my side of fresh steamed veggies came under heavy camo (white sauce)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty but mediocre atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very tasty food, polite servers, but mediocre atmosphere. Convenient location near the Marriott but we preferred Bombay Blues with better prices, food, and atmosphere--if you like Indian food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ciao also viewed

Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
 

Been to ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ciao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.