We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Scenic Railway

St. Kitts Scenic Railway
St. Kitts
1-869-465-7263
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 41 attractions in St. Kitts
Type: Scenic Railroads
Activities: Group tours/train
Attraction Details
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bit of a mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I think some of the "terrible" reviews are a bit harsh but then I didn't fork out 119 dollars per head. It was part of a package. If that cost is accurate you may be better hiring a driver for the day at half the cost for a number of people.

Great views but the commentary is very dull and adds very little. The bus journey second part of the tour was far more interesting and informative although less pleasing on the eye.

The tour is definitely aimed at the cruise ship brigade !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    64
    25
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Murieta, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable scenic tour of St Kitts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The railway tour allowed us to interact with the very proud citizens of St Kitts. The railway cars are double decker. A choir of four serenaded each car during the tour. The rum flowed and we sampled sugar cake. The tour took us to several towns on the island. We were warmly greeted by smiling children and adults. The tour guide that we had from the ship to the train was extremely knowledgeable. The guide on the scenic railway was a bit obnoxious and not very knowledgeable. My favorite part was when he did not narrate, which was very infrequent! A lasting memory for me was seeing all the small towns of St Kitts, seeing where the Atlantic Ocean meets the Caribbean Ocean, and being greeted by the adorable children.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Rail and Sail excursion thru Carnival Cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Carnival excursion rail and sail.... Left port by bus to meet train. Ride was easy and interesting, all the rum pina colada, rum coke, rum you wanted. Train portion was 2 ½ hours long.
Got to be boring after awhile, same thing, old sugar cane fields, but rum kept flowing. Is rest room on lower deck. The train does rock and roll.
Three double decker train cars, bottom level is air condition but hard to see over all the sugar cane fields, top level was much better for photos and seeing country side. 3/4 way around island, you are dropped off and then taken by bus to the catamaran.
That portion is about 45 minutes long and at the end of catamaran portion you are dropped off at the port near your ship. I enjoyed this part of the trip, give you a bagged lunch. And unlimited beer, rum punch etc. sit up front on the net, lot of fun,
Hint.... On the train don’t sit in the first car as fumes from Diesel engine can be strong at times
Daughters did an excursion they found on trip advisor, was $85 and was 7 hours long. They snorkeled, saw many fish, star fish, also climbed rope down to the black rock beach, toured the rain forest, went to many places the tourist don’t get to go to, said was the best tour they have had. After a couple days you can go to the tours website and get photos that the tour guide took during the private excursion.
My islandstours by Javin https://myislandstours.shutterfly.com/

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Relaxing, simple tour of the countryside of St Kitts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for the luxurious Orient Express, you are in the wrong place! This is a converted sugar cane train that runs along the countryside giving you a relaxing view of St Kitts's backcountry. Its nothing fancy, but the staff are friendly, humble, proud of their country and are anxious to share with you the simplicity of what is St. Kitts. Some of the complaints is that you see some of the poorest areas; remember this is a developing country and once you get outside the resorts, you see the real world. While the brochure say you get a view of the fort, it is only from the bottom of the hill - but remember you are taking a train ride, you won't stop and get off anywhere. The tour offers unlimited drinks and simple, humble entertainment by way of some of the staff singing about their country. It's endearing. This is not a polished "Disney" tour, this is a humble ride to see the real world. I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Nb
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good but not awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Guide is excellent, train ride is through limited area and you miss a lot of the real St. Kitts, we noted this since we also had the benefit of a tour by car with a local guide. The sugar cane history and the information on the plantations was very interesting. However, with a lot of vegetation to see and not else, the kids were not really as excited about the adventure as we were. We found the cost of the railway for the family and the experience/memories didn't quite measure up. Perhaps better suited to adults rather than families.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Kitts Scenic Railway also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to St. Kitts Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Scenic Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Kitts Scenic Railway to your Saves list