We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for the ride!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kitts Scenic Railway

St. Kitts Scenic Railway
St. Kitts
1-869-465-7263
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$145*
and up
St Kitts Scenic Railway Tour
Ranked #14 of 74 things to do in St. Kitts
Activities: Group tours/train
Attraction details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very expensive for the ride!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The train ride did indeed show a lot of the island however it all looked the same. Homes, trees and valleys.... The train announcer was really funny and did keep us entertained during the ride. There were also free drinks given throughout the ride. Nice history lesson but not worth the money!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    104
    45
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Thought this would be a good way to quickly see most of the island since we were just here for the day on a cruise port stop. Found this attraction very disappointing.

Train moved at the pace of a snail making the ride much longer than necessary to see what turned out to be very little. As the train chugs along, you are treated to only the backs of shack like houses and abandoned cars. Occasionally some of the locals wave to you from their houses. Not much in the way of scenery and I can attest to having seen actually nothing of St. Kitts on this train ride since I did return a few months later and really saw what a wonderful island this truly is and all it has to offer!

The cost was expensive if you consider what you actually did and saw on this attraction. We sat on the upper deck of the train which I highly recommend. This way you can enjoy the nice breeze while sipping your rum punch with unobstructed views. Each train car is equipped with a speaker system which makes it easier to hear the guide. However, this speaker system is deactivated when the choir is singing in your car. The tour goes on however so you have no idea what the guide is saying. The singing was enjoyable but I did feel that it might have been nice to know what the tour guide was pointing out to the rest of the train members at this time.

Probably just an okay attraction if you can't get around easily but I feel hiring a local taxi driver to take a half day tour of the island would have been a more worthwhile way to spend both your time and money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A nice history lesson and some cool scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A nice trip to see a portion of the island and tour the old sugar plantations. The history was interesting and the people were quite wonderful!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great trip around the island and even better free rum punch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having been to St Kitts in 2012, we wanted something different to do on this visit and since we were sailing on Celebrity Equinox, we thought we would book this trip through the cruise line. It was a beautiful sunny morning when we arrived and sat up top with the open sides so that we could see the scenery as we went past. There were 5 cars on the train and each car had a hostess serving drinks including rum punch! It was a bit early for me at 8.30 am in the morning but those that did partake seemed to enjoy it. There was also a guide on the train linked to each coach via a speaker system so that he could advise us on the history of the island and also there was a travelling choir of 3! Something rather different and they went from car to car on the train singing away to everyone.
The bus trip back to the cruise terminal was by mini bus/van since the railway which was originally used to transport the sugar cane only goes half way around the island. The narrator in the bus was great and took around 45 minutes to get back to the port.
We had a great few hours out and would recommend if you haven't been to St Kitts to think about this excursion as a different way to see the island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Choo Choo!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I went on the St. Kitts Railway as part of a cruise excursion. Overall, the ride was enjoyable and informative, plus free rum-punch. The location was pretty and the tour guide was knowledgeable and gave a good background of the history of the island. Our train also had a group of local singers to provide some entertainment. Overall, not too bad if you're looking for a relaxing day, just make sure to bring the sunblock.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Kitts Scenic Railway also viewed

 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to St. Kitts Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kitts Scenic Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.