We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY casual, but just the right atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill

Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill
South Friars Bay, St. Kitts
869.764.7200
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 83 Restaurants in St. Kitts
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Ottawa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“VERY casual, but just the right atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are looking for a very casual but fun place, it's here. Write your name on the walls, as thousands of others have done. The food service closes down at dusk (we got there too late, so we headed to the bar instead) It is on South Friars Bay, where you can do a bit of snorkling. The beach chairs are for rent, but you can also find a place on the sand. Prices and food were very good, also had vegitarian options. The wild monkeys come by and visit in the late afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    107
    33
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gros Ilet, Gros-Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun beach spot. An easy excursion.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

this was our off day on a cruise and we had nothing booked. We decided we wanted a relaxing, quiet afternoon. Grabbed a cab at port and for $4 per person we got a nice little drive, stopping at some scenic places and then dropping us off at Shipwreck. Taxi driver asked what time we wanted her to return, which was very nice to know we had a ride back. The restaurant bar is fun and friendly with a pretty good menu for a beach restaurant. Fair prices and the food was pretty tasty. The beach has chairs for rent. The black sand is neat. The snorkeling area has a lot of sea urchins but we were warned ahead of time and stayed on the swimming side. there are water things for rent. Snorkels, boogie boards etc. All cheap. Just a very easy afternoon with no worries!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love this place! Toes in the sand, cold beer in my hand, beautiful water, beautiful vista. The monkeys and mongoose visiting for their mid-afternoon snacks added to the day. The food was bountiful and good. It was exactly what I was hoping for in an afternoon of "ahhhhhh."

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fun with monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

nice little place on the beach, fish tacos were great. drinks were good, a couple of loungers on the beach, with little umbrellas made out of palm leaves, nice location, quiet, warm water, friednly little palce , decent snorkeling.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beach bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If there was a St.Kitts Beach Bar magazine, Shipwreck would be on the cover. Grass huts and lounge chairs for rent? Check. Bustling crowded little bar serving up cold beer and tropical drinks? Check. "You'll get it when you get it" service? Check. Monkeys for photo ops? Check.

The food isn't too pricy and it's adequate. We had the fish tacos with beans and rice and they were good. Had the fresh cut fries and enjoyed them as well. If you're looking to sit on your duff all day and have a waitress come by for drink orders at your beach chair this isn't the place for you. But the beach is small enough to keep trips to the bar manageable for snacks, drinks, etc

A grass canopy and 2 chairs rent for $10 for the whole day. It gets pretty full when the cruise ships are in port.

Overall a nice place to snorkel, relax, and enjoy the view of the coastline and the distant Nevis.

Tip: if you are snorkeling, there are sea urchins around and getting into the water on the side they designate for snorkeling (right side of beach) can be a bit rough. Try entering the water on the "swimming" (left) side and work your way back to the right side once you're past the shallow rocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck Beach Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.