We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best excursion destination if you are crusing into St. Kitts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House

Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House
P.O. Box 78 Boyds | Boyds, St. Kitts
+1 869-465-3021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 73 Restaurants in St. Kitts
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Adjacent to the recently restored 300 year old Fairview Great House, Nirvana is an extraordinary place to dine. Indulge your senses with our Creole-fusion style menu. Enjoy lunch with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and our sister island Nevis. On Sunday's we feature a West Indian Buffet. Relax having Afternoon Tea West Indian Style surrounded by the lush Botanical Garden. Nirvana is also home to the "Caribbean Cooks Cooking Class". Whether you are an experienced cook or a lover of tasty cuisine, this presentation will appeal to the "Foodie" in you as you learn to prepare a full Caribbean meal.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Best excursion destination if you are crusing into St. Kitts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and daughter were fortunate to stumble on to the Caribbean Cooking excursion from our cruise with Royal Caribbean when stopped at St. Kitts. We selected it because we had done enough of the beach thing and wanted something a little different. It was wonderful! Essentially you are prepared a full lunch and given some ideas for incorporating Caribbean meals once you get back home. Our chef, Janice, was once highlighted on Discovery Channel and she was an amazing cook. The setting is wonderful and is a reconstructed original plantation house. Everything has been restored quite recently. In addition to your lunch, you get a tour of the house and the surrounding property. I would strongly recommend dropping into this restaurant if you are on the island. If you are on a cruise, book this excursion -- you won't regret it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with another couple and we all were delighted with the setting, food and service. Went for more local fare off the menu. We shared our orders of seafood chowder and chicken roti. Have to recommend both dishes and we all agreed that the seafood chowder was some of the best we have ever had! Plus the prices were reasonable..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Place before Flying Home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We didn't find the food at lunch to be particularly exciting, but this restaurant is situated on lovely grounds with a great view of the Carribean and south toward Nevis, so it was a relaxing and enjoyable place to dine. I had two starters, the conch fritters which had both a much deeper seafood flavor and chunkier pieces of conch than ones I tried at a different restaurant. I liked these better, although they lacked being served with a flavorable sauce. I also had a variety plate of Carribean sausages which I don't even remember. One guest had the grouper entree which was a very nice serving size of well-prepared grilled grouper accompanied by a nice salad. Another guest had the roti which she said she liked but was spicy for her. Her spicey and my spicy are two different worlds, I didn't find it spicy at all. I had a Carib (local beer) and the others ice tea. One had a chocolate cake for dessert which was said to be tasty and good. The service here was a little more "island time" and, again, more noticeable during dessert and paying the bill than during the meal. The menu prices were in Carribean dollars, not US. The cost for the three of us was about $65 with tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wrong turn revealed a true gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were quite late in arriving and even though lunch service technically had ended they graciously seated us and were treated to amazing food with views to match. We then realised there was more than meets the eye and found a beautifully restored plantation house with wonderful grounds. We spent the better part of two hours looking around and had we known we would have packed our bathing costumes and had a swim. This was all down to a wrong turn. Highly recommend for lunch and museum quality restored plantation house. The service could not be faulted!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

During our visit we stopped at Nirvana for lunch. We weren't sure they were open but we were quickly seated upon entry. I ordered fried fish and jerk chicken along with a mango margarita. All were delicious! Grounds are beautiful and pool was a refreshing surprise for a lunch dip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting Nirvana. We are so glad you were able enjoy our Tapas. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House also viewed

Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.