We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tapas Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House

Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House
P.O. Box 78 Boyds | Boyds, St. Kitts
+1 869-465-3021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 72 restaurants in St. Kitts
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Adjacent to the recently restored 300 year old Fairview Great House, Nirvana is an extraordinary place to dine. Indulge your senses with our Creole-fusion style menu. Enjoy lunch with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and our sister island Nevis. On Sunday's we feature a West Indian Buffet. Relax having Afternoon Tea West Indian Style surrounded by the lush Botanical Garden. Nirvana is also home to the "Caribbean Cooks Cooking Class". Whether you are an experienced cook or a lover of tasty cuisine, this presentation will appeal to the "Foodie" in you as you learn to prepare a full Caribbean meal.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

During our visit we stopped at Nirvana for lunch. We weren't sure they were open but we were quickly seated upon entry. I ordered fried fish and jerk chicken along with a mango margarita. All were delicious! Grounds are beautiful and pool was a refreshing surprise for a lunch dip!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting Nirvana. We are so glad you were able enjoy our Tapas. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    30
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting coupled with exception hospitality...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I made the short trip from our internationally known hotel. We were thrilled the restaurant was easy to find.

He had the seafood chowder as a starter while I had the pumpkin soup which our server recommended. Both were excellent!

He has the grouper sandwich served with French fries and slaw. My entree was the jerk chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries and cole slaw. Both the chicken and fish were moist and seasoned perfectly.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beauty and elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What an absolutely beautiful place. We had been emailing back and forth prier to our visit to St.kitts. We were hoping to take a cooking class as well as enjoying dinner there. The weather did not permit us to join a cooking class, but we had a wonderful brunch and the opportunity to meet Chef Janice. Talking with her was so enlightening, she is such a great person.The grounds are just spectacular.We had a great time there. Thank you all .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting us after all the terrible rain TS Rafael brought us. We were so happy you were able to dine with us even tho you missed the Cooking Class. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts and Nevis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Non-existent customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an hour and a quarter to grab lunch before we needed to head to the airport. There were only two other tables of patrons in in the entire restaurant, so we decided it wasn't unreasonable to expect service of soup and sandwiches. 25 minutes after being seated, we inquired about our food and made sure the staff knew we had a plane to catch. 50 minutes after being seated, no entrees, no appetizers and no reasonable explanation. By this point, even if food would have been served, we wouldn't have time to enjoy it. So we decided to pay for our drinks and get out of there. The staff made one last ditch effort to get food on the table, unfortunately, it wasn't our food. My wife ordered a veggie burger and received a beef burger instead. I thought it looked a little too meaty, so being a consummate carnivore, I took a test bite. It's what happened afterwards that dropped this review from a 2 out of 5, to a 1. The server, realizing her mistake, picked up the burger and took it straight to it's intended recipient. In conclusion, if you want a secondhand hamburger at the end of an hour long wait, make a beeline for Nirvana.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review Matthew S. We appreciate all guest feedback.

If we were advised that you were indeed in a rush and needed to be served promptly we certainly would have taken care of your table in a faster manner. We are not a fast food restaurant and unfortunately were not informed until 20 minutes after your order was placed that you had to be at the airport. As you witnessed there were other guests ahead of you that had to be served.

We certainly do not serve second hand food. Nirvana follows strict guidelines and health policies on food handling.
We hope you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for slow season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are staying at the Marriott and as we had a rental car we decided to take advantage and eat further away from the hotel. We had limited choice as many restaurants have closed for the low season (late Aug - October). Our hotel were confused as to whether Nirvana was open or not but finally we got a reservation. We had a really lovely evening. The food was superb, menu choice was a little limited but we enjoyed our 3 courses. The chocolate/banana home made ice cream was delicious, and the feta cheese/melon salad. The setting is utterly beautiful. The chef came out and spoke to us which was very nice. We would definatley go back, and may pop back for lunch before they close for the season next week.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran P, General Manager at Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you Karen for visiting us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your "Nirvana Experience". We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House also viewed

Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
Basseterre, St. Kitts
 

Been to Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana Restaurant at Fairview Great House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.