We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm and romance at Ottley's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottley's Plantation Inn

Save Saved
You added Ottley's Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ottley's Plantation Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottley's Village, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Kitts
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm and romance at Ottley's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our tour guide Elvis suggested we drop in here as part of our tour of the island and we are very glad that he did. The house and the grounds are steeped in history and we made sure to come back for dinner one night.

We returned a bit earlier than the time booked for dinner, so that we could take a stroll down their trail in the rain forest. Dinner was fabulous in their open sided restaurant just behind the walled swimming pool that looked great too. The overall ambience, together with the quality of food made this one of our favorite restaurants on the island

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    33
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
29
200
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We only came here for lunch. It's not on a super populated part of the island and I'm not sure how much there would be to do if you stayed there....besides relax, eat delicious food and swim in their beautiful pool. Cocktails at night by the pool would be really cool too! We ate lunch which was expensive (like all on the island) and soooo good! The owner/manager was also discussing some new dishes at the table behind us and they sounded amazing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited Ottley's first two weeks ago whilst on our vacation to the West Indies. We had heard whilst on St Kitts we should have lunch at the plantation inn and take a walk in the small rain forest there. This is what we did and when we arrived for that first visit were pointed in the direction of the forest walk by the delightful Donna , the Plantation Manager and the charismatic Karen, one of the owners and a member of the family. We loved our walk ...every bit of it and we appreciated the work gone into the creation of this natural area by the charismatic Marty, a man never short of ideas or words. He has taken the raw natural state and helped mould it to illustrate so many natural elements of the ecosystems that thrive in this latitude. Back to Ottley's and to lunch where we admired a vista from the grandly named Royal Palm Court restaurant that was spectacular from the near beauty of the palms in the manicured grounds to the far off sea vista. There are no windows needed as the temperature invites as much air in as possible and we just enjoyed the simple pleasure of drinking in the scene and enjoying a refreshing lime drink and lunch, even our 10 year old. We returned that day to our other base on the island happy to have enjoyed a special experience full of warmth; unhappy to be back in a hotel that left us chilled to the bone ( see another review). So struck were we by the experience, and so unhappy was my husband by our accommodation in which we were staying, that I called Ottley's next day to ask whether they had any accommodation available. Our luck was in. Karen pushed the boat out and so it was that the next day we packed up our bags and drove back to Ottley's where we were moved into a beautiful 300 year old cottage to stay for the next few days. Absolute heaven! We were all enchanted. Our 10 year old had the best view of the sea from his room, and was excited as through his bathroom he had access to a plunge pool. My husband and I had a room with that old colonial feel, impossible to create in newer places. Our view was of the splendid lawns and fabulous Great House. We felt privileged to be in our own little world of peace just relaxing and truly restoring ourselves with peace and tranquility in the midst of a lovely environment. The cottage in which we stayed had enjoyed the late Princess Margaret as a guest and it is not surprising that she would have adored such a place-antique furniture combined with more modern practical wicker- ware, gentle colours and tasteful organisation of the rooms and bathrooms meant that one felt as if you were staying in a much larger place but with that quaint cosy feel of a cottage home. Our son loved disappearing to the part of the grounds where there is a garden dedicated to Karen's late mother. There the yellow-tailed monkeys come out at dusk and frolic . Pests in the Caribbean they may be but to us tourists some of their habits and play activities are reminiscent of our own human behaviour. We took the meal plan and enjoyed breakfast and dinner at Ottley's . Cuisine is fine- not remarkable generally but of a good standard. The meals are punctuated less by the food than by the fact that either a member of the family or the delightful Donna come and talk a little with each guest each evening, engaging you in a conversation to make you feel special. It always does and we were disappointed not to have been able to continue one of our chats with Karen who had started to tell us much about the history and culture of St Kitts.everyone who looked after us there made us feel welcome, fom the retiring Canadian lady who checked us in to the young ladies who served at table or serviced our room. Nothing was too much trouble . Our son was missing his favourite meal of sphagetti . Donna declared that she would see what could be done.Recipe books were consulted and that night our 10 year old enjoyed his favourite repast on St Kitts.Heaven as far as he was concerned.The swimming pool is spectacular and we all had such fun in there whilst being surrounded by delight.
Athough we stayed only for only a few days we felt as if we had stayed for weeks in the nicest possible way. We were rested and our spirits restored from the bustle of life in London when we left.Yet it was difficult to tear ourselves away and we all felt rather like we had been visiting a kindly aunt in the country where you want to spend all summer just getting away from it all, not doing anything in particular, just enjoying the feeling of being and dreaming in this special place.
We would love to return, although we would only ever want to stay in "our" cottage, and by the time we do, we hope that the tennis court will be restored to full working order and there will be a functioning croquet lawn that will compliment afternoon tea which seems like an essential in this environment far from home.thanks to everyone who looked after us so very well at Ottley Plantation. It was the top experience of our entire trip to the Carribean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I were in St.Kitts during the winter and I've meaning to post this review. Finally did.

The following is a letter I sent to the Inn after we stopped for breakfast one morning. We had a car rented and were touring the island for the day. Ottley's was an unintended part of our exploration. We were very impressed with the attention to detail that was obvious at every turn and the hospitality shown to us by the staff and owner.

"My wife and I visited your beautiful property last week while touring the island. We stopped for breakfast but decided to spend the morning wandering around the grounds. Simply amazing.
I wanted to thank Karen who took time out of her busy day to tell us about the history of the plantation including her mother's vision for the property. We wanted to say how much we were impressed by her hospitality.
The next time we return we would like to spend a couple of nights as guests. Thanks again."

A representative of the Inn took the time to reply to us. Always a good sign.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Fiancé and I had a wonderful time at Ottley's. We spent the week in a supreme cabin and felt like we were in our own world. We were met by a welcome drink and shown to our room by a very friendly staff. View from our room was SPECTACULAR we could see the whole side of the island. We had breakfast at the restaurant and very much enjoyed the guava jam offered. The dinners were amazing, caribbean flavors mixed with delicious standards. We had a couples massage set up for our stay and the masseuses were knowledgable. The owners were accommodating and hospitable, it gave our stay a homey feeling. can't say enough good things about Ottleys...we'll be back!

Room Tip: go for a supreme room, they have the best views, try the piña colada
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had a fantastic cheeseburger in paradise. Original Rum Punch best ever. Service is first class. Location not exactly close to anything but definitely worth the drive. Cottages look very nice with private plunge pools. Grounds are worth walking around to take photos.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Ma.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been eating at Ottley's Plantation Inn and hiking their trails enjoying the view for over fifteen years. Whether leading a group of fifteen students and faculty on one of my Caribbean Culture Seminars or dining with my family or taking my mother Millie Hetzel to a special dinner near the end of her life or doing the same with John Delvaille and Nan Wiegersma of Fitchburg State or Julie Swan of the Bahai Center in Basseterre and Peterborough , N.H and or dining with Kittitians Calypso Reggie and Lyndon "Shumaker" Johnson and Lewis Bennett of of Sandy Point, my experiences have always been outstanding ones. Everyone is made to feel welcome at St. Kitts most upscale of all places.

Ottley's is worth the drive and I always go for Lunch because , given the quality of food, you just can't do any better. Don't forget to go on the free guided private Rain Forest Walk and I have never been asked to leave one of the hammock style lawn chairs if arrive early for coffee in the late morning or linger on well after my delicious dessert.

This is also the most romantic fine dining place in all of the Caribbean that I have visited. You will love the drive out. If you leave from the Conaree near the airport you can reach it on the island road in less than thirty minutes....the drive is spectacular (stay left) and then just keep going on around and visit all the sites on the way back to Basseterre or on your way to a Frigate Bay hotel.

I have never taken a trip to St. Kitts and Nevis without including at least two stops for lunch or dinner or the spectacular Sunday brunch with local folk music played by the wonderful Kittitian musicians who are keeping the old culture alive and blending it with the new.

Hats off to Ottley's. There is always a warm Caribbean Welcome and most of the staff are local citizens of one of the finest Democracies in the Caribbean

Respectfully submitted by

Charles W. Hetzel, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus Fitchburg State College
Caribbean Culture Seminar.

In retirement in Hyannis, Ma. USA

The ambiance, the food and the folks who run Ottley's make it a special event

Room Tip: Obviously every single accommodation has its virtues. You are in paradise here. Consider securing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottley's Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottley's Plantation Inn

Address: Ottley's Village, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Kitts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottley's Plantation Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th century sugar plantation, Ottley's Plantation Inn transports guests to a bygone era of gracious living, hospitality and elegance. Situated at the foot of majestic Mt. Liamuiga overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the 35 acre Ottley's Plantation Inn is a magnificent hideaway. Enjoy swimming in the 66' spring feed pool as well as the Mango Orchard Spa Retreat. Ottley's Plantation has been beautifully renovated to preserve its aura of colonial grandeur and graciousness while adding the modern luxuries desired by today's discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Ottley's Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottley`s Plantation Hotel St. Kitts
Ottleys Plantation
Ottley's Plantation Inn St. Kitts, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottley's Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.