We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shear luxury on St Kitts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottley's Plantation Inn

Save Saved
You added Ottley's Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Ottley's Plantation Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottley's Village, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in St. Kitts
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shear luxury on St Kitts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Not much to add to the other reviews, a really beautiful place with charming staff and owners. The restaurant is not cheap but the service and food are excellent. If you are lucky enough to go, please consider the Pack for a Purpose scheme. It seems very worthwhile and Ottleys are keen to get more guests involved - see the logo on the website.

Room Tip: We had one of the "standard" rooms which we felt was fine - did not feel in need of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    33
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
196
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This has to be the best hotel on St Kitts! The setting is fantastic - the most beautiful plantation. The gardens are so peaceful, the staff are outstanding and the owners can never do enough for you. The food was easily the best we tasted all week and if you want a complete rest in beautiful surroundings this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth, nh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I just had a wonderful week at Ottley's. As many reviewers have said, it is the perfect place to unwind, surrounded by personal attention from a remarkably dedicated staff, and unsurpassed beauty. But there are a few additional things I'd like to mention. First, the fellow guests were well traveled, intelligent, and engaging, which is a plus on vacation, Second, the rainforest walk on the property is a welcome addition, and truly remarkable. Finally, my massage in the spa was truly a "kodak moment." The massage room is in an open-air treehouse, and throughout the massage (which was itself wonderful!), I listened to the lovely tropical birds and heard the monkeys playing outside. Life just doesn't have many moments like that, but that's what makes Ottley's special. It's ability to deliver the extraordinary is worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A unique atmosphere that was so different from anyplace else. The food and service were first class. The owners just lovely and so friendly. I can't imagine staying in
A big resort anymore. The landscaping and rain forest were spectacular. A great place to celebrate a special time. I bet this would beca great choice for a destination wedding.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stunning setting, you reach it up a very steep unassuming road (a track really) wondering where you are going! Fantastic gardens & views. Quite remote and about 20 mins from town centre and life, so if you want to stroll into a local bar or other restaurant this will be a nuisance as there is little within walking distance, but if you want peace & privacy you can't go wrong. Food excellent, staff friendly, service very good. We had a cottage,very nice & clean. From what we have seen I think this is the best hotel on the island.We stayed a week, it was great but I think any longer for me & I would need more happening locally. If I had any negatives it would be the chamber music at breakfast but I am nitpicking. You will love it here if you want total relaxation.Karen Marty & Mary wonderful hosts.

We did the volcano climb with Earl which was hard work and the reviews are accurate about it being fairly strenuous. We are reasonably fit so it wasn't too tough but be prepared.Scary ledge to climb at the very top! Take a trip to Nevis on the Eagle catamaran such an enjoyable day!

Overall we liked St Kitts & Nevis, very green,our first trip but don't think we will be back in a rush, nothing wrong, but better beaches & more life elsewhere in caribean. Just a bit too quiet for us and we got a bit fed up of traipsing up and down the main road to go anywhere.If you want a tranquil place this is it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a wonderful place! I first visited Ottley's 20 years ago and found the grounds breathtakingly beautiful and the food wonderful. Now, 20 years later, not much has changed. The views are breathtaking. (no need for TV although WiFi is available) The staff is very friendly and forthcoming. The owners and inn keeper make you feel like you are part of the family. The rooms are beautiful with daily cleaning and nightly turn down service. The food was scrumptious and varied. Shuttle service to town or the beach was available daily. The taxi drivers were very friendly. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff, the rooms, the grounds, the food and the innkeepers were all fantastic. The staff and innkeepers went well above and beyond typical. They define the word service. And did I mention the food. Scrumptious. Do be warned no TV in room. The rainforest trail was a bonus and saw plenty of wildlife

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ottley's Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottley's Plantation Inn

Also Known As:
Ottley`s Plantation Hotel
Ottley`s Plantation Hotel St. Kitts
Ottley's Plantation Inn St. Kitts, Caribbean
Ottleys Plantation
Address: Ottley's Village, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in St. Kitts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottley's Plantation Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th century sugar plantation, Ottley's Plantation Inn transports guests to a bygone era of gracious living, hospitality and elegance. Situated at the foot of majestic Mt. Liamuiga overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the 35 acre Ottley's Plantation Inn is a magnificent hideaway. Enjoy swimming in the 66' spring feed pool as well as the Mango Orchard Spa Retreat. Ottley's Plantation has been beautifully renovated to preserve its aura of colonial grandeur and graciousness while adding the modern luxuries desired by today's discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ottley's Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottley's Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.