We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Serenity and a True "Kodak Moment!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottley's Plantation Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ottley's Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Ottley's Plantation Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottley's Village, St. Kitts   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Kitts
portsmouth, nh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pure Serenity and a True "Kodak Moment!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I just had a wonderful week at Ottley's. As many reviewers have said, it is the perfect place to unwind, surrounded by personal attention from a remarkably dedicated staff, and unsurpassed beauty. But there are a few additional things I'd like to mention. First, the fellow guests were well traveled, intelligent, and engaging, which is a plus on vacation, Second, the rainforest walk on the property is a welcome addition, and truly remarkable. Finally, my massage in the spa was truly a "kodak moment." The massage room is in an open-air treehouse, and throughout the massage (which was itself wonderful!), I listened to the lovely tropical birds and heard the monkeys playing outside. Life just doesn't have many moments like that, but that's what makes Ottley's special. It's ability to deliver the extraordinary is worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    33
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
29
209
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A unique atmosphere that was so different from anyplace else. The food and service were first class. The owners just lovely and so friendly. I can't imagine staying in
A big resort anymore. The landscaping and rain forest were spectacular. A great place to celebrate a special time. I bet this would beca great choice for a destination wedding.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stunning setting, you reach it up a very steep unassuming road (a track really) wondering where you are going! Fantastic gardens & views. Quite remote and about 20 mins from town centre and life, so if you want to stroll into a local bar or other restaurant this will be a nuisance as there is little within walking distance, but if you want peace & privacy you can't go wrong. Food excellent, staff friendly, service very good. We had a cottage,very nice & clean. From what we have seen I think this is the best hotel on the island.We stayed a week, it was great but I think any longer for me & I would need more happening locally. If I had any negatives it would be the chamber music at breakfast but I am nitpicking. You will love it here if you want total relaxation.Karen Marty & Mary wonderful hosts.

We did the volcano climb with Earl which was hard work and the reviews are accurate about it being fairly strenuous. We are reasonably fit so it wasn't too tough but be prepared.Scary ledge to climb at the very top! Take a trip to Nevis on the Eagle catamaran such an enjoyable day!

Overall we liked St Kitts & Nevis, very green,our first trip but don't think we will be back in a rush, nothing wrong, but better beaches & more life elsewhere in caribean. Just a bit too quiet for us and we got a bit fed up of traipsing up and down the main road to go anywhere.If you want a tranquil place this is it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a wonderful place! I first visited Ottley's 20 years ago and found the grounds breathtakingly beautiful and the food wonderful. Now, 20 years later, not much has changed. The views are breathtaking. (no need for TV although WiFi is available) The staff is very friendly and forthcoming. The owners and inn keeper make you feel like you are part of the family. The rooms are beautiful with daily cleaning and nightly turn down service. The food was scrumptious and varied. Shuttle service to town or the beach was available daily. The taxi drivers were very friendly. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff, the rooms, the grounds, the food and the innkeepers were all fantastic. The staff and innkeepers went well above and beyond typical. They define the word service. And did I mention the food. Scrumptious. Do be warned no TV in room. The rainforest trail was a bonus and saw plenty of wildlife

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks in November 2012. The location is stunning, with beautiful sea views, and the Inn and grounds are beautiful in their own right. Rooms are clean, comfortable,well equipped, and maintained and cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast and Dinner were excellent, the dinner menu eclectic, well planned and varied nightly. The staff were friendly,welcoming and efficient, and genuinely appear to enjoy working at Ottleys.
It is obvious from the moment you arrive that this is a family run operation, and not part of a chain. The family members present during our stay (Marty and Karen) were constantly ensuring that everything was running smoothly, and took the time to chat to all their guests at some time during their stay. It is a perfect location to relax and enjoy yourselves. As far as the various meal plans are concerned, I would say that having breakfast (always excellent, and plenty of choice) is a no brainer, sitting overlooking the sea from such a magnificent historic location was a very relaxing start to the day especially as any alternative would have involved a lengthy drive along the poor (I am being polite!) local roads. My only slight criticism is that the dinners were always elaborate and quite rich (and for UK tastes quite salty), and I would have appreciated the occasional 'plain' option, such as grilled fish or steak without sauce, or an omelette. Marty assured that I only had to ask and that is what I could have, but I became tempted at the interesting dishes on offer, so perhaps the criticism should be directed at myself. Wine list is straightforward, with good choices from around the world, and the barman/wine waiter/sommelier (Marcus) knows his stuff. Final words of praise is in respect of the grounds - they are beautifully maintained by an army of staff, and always look immaculate. I hope this review is not considered too lengthy or gushing in its praise, but this is genuinely a magical place (to which I hope to return early in 2013).

Room Tip: Quieter and more privacy in the cottages within the grounds than in the Plantation House
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just returned from a four day stay at Ottley's Plantation Inn. It was nice, but there is definitely room for improvement. Our main complaint would be the value for the price. Breakfast never cost less than $50 USD for the two of us, and everything from coffee to orange juice to a small plate of fruit cost extra. The breakfast meal plan is $26 per person per day, which we found extremely expensive (we chose not to go with any meal plans). The food quality was good, but not worth the prices we paid. Although, we must mention that the bread served with dinner was out of this world; freshly baked, brought to the table hot and a different type every night. Dinners were good, but we both found the food over salted.
In regards to the property, it was perfectly manicured, and the rainforest trail on the property was fantastic. We opted for a cottage with a private plunge pool, and that was well worth it.
Another downside would be the amount of bugs in the room, which was quite unpleasant.
As for service, it was ok, but not spectacular. We had spent 6 nights at the Nisbet in Nevis before heading over to Ottley's and the service there was out of this world. We noticed such a sudden change as soon as we arrived at Ottley's.
All in all, we had nice stay in the beautiful Kittian mountains, but we would have changed a few small aspects if we could have.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ottley's Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottley's Plantation Inn

Address: Ottley's Village, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Kitts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottley's Plantation Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th century sugar plantation, Ottley's Plantation Inn transports guests to a bygone era of gracious living, hospitality and elegance. Situated at the foot of majestic Mt. Liamuiga overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the 35 acre Ottley's Plantation Inn is a magnificent hideaway. Enjoy swimming in the 66' spring feed pool as well as the Mango Orchard Spa Retreat. Ottley's Plantation has been beautifully renovated to preserve its aura of colonial grandeur and graciousness while adding the modern luxuries desired by today's discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ottley's Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottley`s Plantation Hotel St. Kitts
Ottleys Plantation
Ottley's Plantation Inn St. Kitts, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottley's Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.