We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Palm Restaurant at Ottley's Plantation Inn

The Royal Palm Restaurant at Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Village, St. Kitts
869-465-7234
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 restaurants in St. Kitts
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Suffern, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

6 of us went to Ottleys and it was truly a special place. We went befor dark and had some time to walk around the grounds and enjoy the gorgeous landscaping, buildings and views. We had cocktails on the veranda followed by a spectacular dinner and wonderful service. Then, dessert back on the veranda. Dinner was a bit pricey at $200 per couple (including cocktails and wines), but if you have one special night to go out while visiting St Kitts, don't miss this spot. We will absolutely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    87
    23
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Yesterday was one of the highlights of our visit to St. Kitts. We carved time out of our schedule for a trip to the Ottley Plantation for a Rainforest hike and truly outstanding lunch in their beautiful open air dining room overlooking the Caribbean. During our hike, we encountered a family of monkeys in the tree tops. We then enjoyed a wonderful lunch complete with fresh bread, homemade soup, salads and sandwiches. We finished the visit with a walk through the beautiful plantation grounds where we met the friendly GroundsKeeper and gracious PropertyOwner. We will definitely return.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time! Very romantic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I circled the island and stopped at Ottley's for lunch. The fish & chip's and chicken salad were awesome, the atmosphere was perfect as well as the service! We would definately recommend a trip out to Ottley's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If ambiance was edible....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Sadly, it is not. Last night, 18 friends made the journey up to Ottley's from the Marriott. The grounds and restaurant environment are truly spectacular. The wait staff were pleasant and efficient but that's where the positives end. Not one in our group enjoyed their meal. My steak was luke-warm and stringy, also noted by several others. The lobsters were overcooked though flavorful, while the lasagna was simply unremarkable. With a price tag of roughly $100 per person, it will be a long time before we return. I am truly saddened that this was our big night out for the week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WORST 60th B DAY for my husband! 12/26/12”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hostess/waitress was the meanest person I have ever experienced in my life any where!!!!!! I made my reservation for my husbands 60th B-Day and totally regretted my decision!!! Do not go here for dinner! She ruined the entire experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Palm Restaurant at Ottley's Plantation Inn also viewed

Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to The Royal Palm Restaurant at Ottley's Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Palm Restaurant at Ottley's Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.